We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
61
210
153
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
210
153
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station across the river airport bus small bar secure parking air con coffee and croissant third floor every half hour central location buffet breakfast booked rooms flat screen tv bed was comfortable nice stay morning flight beggars
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

If you are arriving late and have to spend a night in Charleroi then this will do fine. Staff nice on arrival and functional rooms as you would expect from this chain, Local TEC bus from airport takes you to train station for 6 Euro and hotel is a minutes walk across the bridge. Easy to move on throughout Belgium after a decent nights sleep from there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rablitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Rablitos, allow me to thank you for taking the time to send us a positive feedback regarding your stay in Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare hotel, Charleroi.
Our whole team appreciates your kind words, we are very glad that you felt welcomed in our hotel. Thank you for pointing out the easy transport access of the hotel. As you said we are minutes away from the train station, and we also offer shuttle to the airport at the cost of 15€ for 4 persons. Attractions and local shops are also close by. We are glad that you found everything convenient and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back on another occasion. Kind regards,
Hicham Benali, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Few issues at check in as we had booked 8 rooms but the staff sorted and we all had a bed

Secure parking was great.

The local area was very lively and seedy - not the kind of place you would like to walk around alone. ........ unless you wanted company I suppose

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank acesphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting this comment about hotel Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare.
Our building is located in the lively city centre near Charleroi central train station with a bus out servicing Brussels South Airport (15mn). We understand you had this impression but the area is safe actually. We appreciate your nice testimony about our staff. Our whole team is entirely customer oriented. Thanks for mentioning the secure parking.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Hicham Benali, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

If it was the just the hotel and it's staff, it would easily receive an extra point, maybe even two because the price/quality ratio is really good. Here everything is like it should.

Now the bad stuff. The neighbourhood is to be avoided. I was calling my girlfriend on the phone for 10 minutes, on the porch of the hotel and I got interrupted at least 6 times by some beggars and drug addicts for money. There are hookers awaiting clients around the corner. Full of thugs looking for trouble or looking to steal. Don't leave your car on the street parking, do yourself a favour and pay the extra 10 euros to have it behind locked doors on the back parking.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gandulf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Guest, Allow us to thank you for your review regarding your time at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare hotel.
Thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments to the hotel and the service provided.
It is always very rewarding to receive such positive comments.
Regarding the neighbourhood, we really feel sorry it wasn't of your liking. We'd like to share our experience as employees of the hotel and citizens of Charleroi. We can assure that this is not representative of the lively area of the hotel. We're located in the centre of the city, surrounded by shops, tourist sights, museums...
All of the team very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
My very best wishes,
Dimitio Virone, director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We needed a place that was not too far from the airport. We checked in and the front desk clerk was nice. I booked a taxi for 4:30 am with him and all seemed ok.

The double bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, but there was like a 15 cm gap between a bit after we pushed them closer together.

For some reason the room was hot. Not well ventilated. I opened a window, but there was noise coming from below. I eventually called the desk after waking up sweating and short of breath. I tried to turn on ac, but hot air blew out no matter what way we tried. The guy at the desk suggested I open a window.

The taxi that the hotel called came early. Ride from hell. The driver smoked and sped and barely looked at the road while talking to his meth-head looking friend who sat in the passenger seat.

Finally got there and the driver charged 2 euro more than the hotel quoted. And he even short changed me by 1.40 euro after I gave a 20.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank littlebigbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Client, Thanks for sharing your opinion.
It is a shame to read your disappointment about your stay in our hotel. We really apologize for the inconvenience. Regarding the air-conditioning, it will start to operate in-season (May). The fact you related about the bedding is quite odd. Could you send us a private message? We would like to know your room number. I will not fail to brief the taxi service about your statement to find out more about this issue. We are sensitive to our clients' concerns. Your compliment about the porter is appreciated.
Yours sincerely, Dimitrio Virone, director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The hotel is just next to the station, its not too loud, the rooms are not too small and have everything you need. Breakfast is just fine and served very early so you can still grab something to eat before your morning train.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank pawel_c_lont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this nice feedback regarding your experience at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare hotel.
Indeed, we are just off Charleroi Sud train station, a location convenient for morning departures. We are glad your room suited you with the available amenities. It is a pleasure to read that our hot and cold buffet breakfast was at your taste.
We would be thrilled to host you anew in a near future.
Dimitrio Virone, director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews