We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but staff not helpful”

House of European History
Ranked #23 of 409 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: FREE ENTRY: A place to debate, question and reflect on Europe's history. The House of European History is located in the beautifully renovated Eastman Building in leafy Parc Leopold. Its exhibits are available in all 24 official European Union languages and entrance is free. Tailored resources are be available for schools, families and groups, offering a fascinating experience for all. OPEN IN MAY 2017
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No one told us there was a tablet with headphones to explain the exhibition. Only knew that after asking it to other visitors..and as I was already in the house for 30 min didnt want to go back to the entrance and ask for it.
also didn t feel welcomed since the moment I entered the building.
didn´t like the staff attitude.

Thank FiLeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europarl_visit, EP Visitors Team at House of European History, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear FiLeite,

Thank you very much for your review, we are sorry to hear that your visit to the House of European History did not meet your expectations. We value your comments and take all feedback seriously. We will investigate the problems described in your review to improve the experience for future visitors.

We hope that you will consider visiting the European Parliament again. Keep up to date with the latest news by checking our visitors’ website and following us on social media

Best Regards,
European Parliament visitors team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"temporary exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"eu languages"
in 3 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"modern museum"
in 3 reviews
"world events"
in 2 reviews
"parc leopold"
in 2 reviews
"european union"
in 4 reviews
"fantastic museum"
in 2 reviews
"museum is free"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"tablet"
in 28 reviews
"wars"
in 4 reviews
"multimedia"
in 3 reviews
"perspective"
in 4 reviews
"integration"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Place has new, fresh concept of a museum of all Europe. It depicts our common history from antique times through all the wind of wars and friendships till today. It has really small original objects but huge story behind each explanation till the small fiat 750. Take a lot of time to understand the place with four floors of very interesting facts and optimism. Museum, as all modern institutions has a restaurant, souvenir shop, lockers. A problem is entrance with strict control.

Thank Miha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europarl_visit, EP Visitors Team at House of European History, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Miha,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting the House of European History and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are always looking for new ways to make the visit to the European Parliament more interesting and your feedback will help us to improve.

We hope to see you soon again at the European Parliament. Keep up to date with the latest news by checking our visitors’ website and following us on social media.

Best Regards,
European Parliament visitors team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ambitious and pedagogic, and free of charge. Takes two hours and you are neatly guided by a semi-automatic tablet hanging round your neck. Focus on the post world war era, of course, with lots of (too) short video clips. The technique is still not working to perfection, you will probably have to switch tablets once or twice. However, the staff is most friendly and helpful.

1  Thank Lennart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europarl_visit, EP Visitors Team at House of European History, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lennart,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting the House of European History and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are always looking for new ways to make the visit to the European Parliament more interesting and your feedback will help us to improve.

We hope to see you soon again at the European Parliament. Keep up to date with the latest news by checking our visitors’ website and following us on social media.

Best Regards,
European Parliament visitors team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is an amazing free resource and a fantastic introduction to the last few centuries of European history and the current European Union government.

You will definitely want to pick up a tablet as there is almost no signage for the museum.

You can visit the museum in an hour, though if you want to go in depth it can take 2-3 hours. There are many interactive exhibits.

There is a nice but very limited book shop.

Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europarl_visit, EP Visitors Team at House of European History, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jim,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting the House of European History and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are always looking for new ways to make the visit to the European Parliament more interesting and your feedback will help us to improve.

We hope to see you soon again at the European Parliament. Keep up to date with the latest news by checking our visitors’ website and following us on social media.

Best Regards,
European Parliament visitors team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

On a recent trip to Brussels, my daughters and I tried to visit the House of European History. Both study history and were very excited to see what it had within it. Unfortunately, we were told that, because we didn't have our passports with us (I had left them safely in the apartment) we wouldn't be able to hire a (free) audio guide and there was no point in visiting the museum without this as there was no written information next to the exhibits. I tried offering my credit card as security or to pay a deposit but they would not move so we had to abandon our plan and visit the Parliamentarium instead (which was fortunately excellent).

2  Thank gilly480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of European History also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to House of European History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing