We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just do it!”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room with veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances
The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Upon arrival you will find an extensive Dutch breakfast waiting for you
The fridge contains ham and eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt and orange juice
If you want to do your own cooking, there are some basic ingredients available
Pride of Leyden is located in a quiet residential street
A view from the veranda
A view from the drawbridge near Pride of Leyden
Leiden's Galgewater with historical ships
Morspoort, one of Leiden's two remaining city gates
Bulb fields in the spring
A typical Dutch polder landscape, great for cycling through
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leiden, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
nbpdr
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice stay but just a bit noisy for us”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We did have a nice stay on the Pride of Leyden houseboat and jacqui, the owner, was very helpful and pleasant! We have visited the city a few times before so we knew it was a good walk from the centre of town which was fine with us. The owner was very helpful and provided a cot and highchair for our son which we were very grateful to not have to bring! Breakfast was in the houseboat on our arrival and what a brilliant selection we had. Eggs, cheese, milk, cereal. The downside for us was the street noise. Our son slept through it ok but my husband and i had very little sleep every night because of the cars and motorbikes.The road was very busy and it was right outside the boat. A massive let down for us because we had no sleep litterly the entire week. I dont know how the baby slept. The second let down for us was the cleanliness of the boat overall. Normally as long as its surface clean and has clean bedding etc im happy but travelling with a baby things do need to be that little bit cleaner. The boat definatley needs a good clear out and spring clean if little ones are around. We did have a nice holiday and liked the houseboat vacation we took but perhaps not a good choice for those with young toddlers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldAdve...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just do it!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This idyllic little houseboat is located on a quiet street and canal, not far from a main street - with access to everything. Using the bus, you can be at the train station in 10 minutes, door to door. Or, if you are wise, you'll walk the canal-rich cobblestone streets through Leiden and enjoy the quaint, historic splendor of this beautiful town. The houseboat provides the perfect retreat after a day of exploring. The owner generously stocked the fridge and cupboards with breakfast - and beyond. Having a fully functioning kitchen was not only convenient, it cut down on the costs of eating out (which is not cheap in Holland). There is plenty of room for 3 people (a double bed and a single bed in two different rooms) to stay comfortably. The little porch is ideal and affords you the opportunity to greet the various swimming birds who frequent the canal. I am moving to Leiden for work in the fall, and I will be recommending this beautiful accommodation to my friends who come to visit. Although the houseboat is a little ways outside of the center of town, I would highly recommend it. Its out-of-the-way-ness is one of its selling points, in my opinion!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: being on a canal
Liked least: the owner is a little nervous and high maintenance
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeiLucy
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sweet little hideaway on the canals of Leiden”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Jacqueline was very efficient in correspondence before we arrived and gave excellent directions on her web-site. The house boat is well equipped and warm, with good supplies of simple food-stuffs on arrival. Everything was neat, clean and tidy. She arrived within a couple of minutes of our arrival and got us settled in. Altogether a very agreeable stay in a beautiful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Couldn't figure out how to use the DVD player
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellador
Paris, France
1 review
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent ten days in Leiden on the houseboat, which is perfectly situated not far from the town centre on a quiet canal. Not only is Leiden a magnificent town, full of wonderful surprises on every street corner (poems on the walls, lovely gardens, gorgeous seventeenth century houses) which we loved exploring on rented bikes, but it is also very easy and quick to take the train (the boat is a fifteen minute bike ride to the station) and visit Amsterdam, Delft, Gouda, Rotterdam or The Hague.
Jacqueline's welcome was excellent (the directions to the boat from the bus stop could just have been a little clearer, for those absent-minded enough not to notice the fast food outlet on the other side of the road!), the delicious Dutch "breakfast" actually fed us for days on end and the limitless coffee supply was a valued bonus. All the appliances worked perfecty. Particularly appreciated were the thoughtful stocks of shampoo, conditioner, razors, clothes, lenses product etc.
All in all, we wholeheartedly recommend this rental!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the Dutch breakfast!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaDiGra
Alpine, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to explore from”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We enjoyed our mini vacation on the Pride of Leyden. Leiden is a small city, and like the rest of the Netherlands, open and friendly. We would recommend the houseboat to anyone who is flexible, and can overlook a bit of dust. We unfortunately caught Jacqueline off guard, as she was in the middle of doing her taxes and had forgotten our arrival date, so we can't report as the other reviewers that everything was spotless. Bicyclists and moped drivers use the drawbridge and the street regularly. There was a bit of boat traffic on the weekend, but we think there was a city festival going on. Parking is on the street just around the corner from the boat. The city is within walking distance, but taking the car in and parking was also not difficult. We enjoyed the botanical garden, and the short drive to the North Sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing