We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyed our month in The Charming House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Modern and sun-filled Modern and sun-filled bathroom with towels, toiletries and hairdryer for your
Front facade of the Charming House
Ambient fireplace
Bright and sunny loft-style bedroom with adjacent lounge area (with convertable sofabed)
Front facade - Welcome!
Charming interior.  Welcome to Holland!
Washing Machine and Dryer for your convenience
Newly recarpeted traditional dutch staircase. It's a little steep but we've added lots of handrails!
Located on a walking street in a quiet neighbourhood, close to the city centre
Charming Decor and all your self-catering needs provided for
The charming streets of Haarlem
The Grote Markt of Haarlem
A beautiful historical building near Grote Markt, Haarlem
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haarlem, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jeanne B
Superior, Colorado
1 review
“Enjoyed our month in The Charming House”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent the month at the Charming House in old town Haarlem, a wonderful place to visit and the perfect place to stay. The house is very comfortable and in a great location, can walk to all the sights in town and an easy walk to the tran station. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cozy house great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We enjoyed hosting you too and would love to do so again. Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleflop
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charmed by Charming House.”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Charming house was lovely. Centrally located (though most cabbies have no idea where De Hoosstradt is). Convenient to shopping and museums. Excellent French restaurant right next door, Very comfortable bed and well provisioned kitchen. The washroom is on the 2nd floor. I have no idea how typical the stairs are of these older units, but I found them to be a challenge. They are narrow, more ladder like and with a twist at the top. I would not recommend this location for older persons or individuals with mobility issues. The owners have prepared a guide book that listed the location of and directions to grocery stores, museums down to operating instructions for the dish washer. Very friendly neighbours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden area
Liked least: Oh those stairs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Charming House and Haarlem. Actually the house is situated on "De Haasstraat", but as it is a small pedestrian street, I can understand why taxis may not have heard of it. It should be easily to locate on google maps by just searching for "Charming House Haarlem". Indeed the house is not recommended for those with mobility issues, that is why this is highlighted in the description, most people find the stairs add to the charm and character of the house. We would love to welcome you back again sometime. Happy travels, Rudy and Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Everything we had hoped for and more!”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a fabulous time at the charming house. The place had everything we could possibly need with lots of thoughtful extras such as guide books, recommendations and supplies in the fridge. The house was very clean and cosy. We used both the main bed and the sofa bed upstairs. The sofa bed is a little hard, but I soon got used to it. There is no door adjoining the bedroom and the bathroom, only a curtain, but it didn't bother us too much! We spent time in both Haarlem and Amsterdam. There were some fabulous cafes, bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk from the house. Amsterdam is very easy to reach, we just caught the bus to the train station from just around the corner, and then the train into the centre of Amsterdam. It was very easy and only took about 30 mins in total. We made the trip to Amsterdam on two of our days at the house which we enjoyed, but we both absolutely loved Haarlem. It was so pretty and welcoming. Rudy and Bea were wonderful hosts, although they were unable to meet us, they were in touch frequently to ensure we had everything we needed. It really was a wonderful place to stay. I would love to go back and stay again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Charming House and in Haarlem and are happy that we could help make it so. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Take care and happy travels! Rudy & Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaVern...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint cosy cottage in central location”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The owners (Rudy and Bea) were on holiday in Bali but had left lots of good information about the house and area. The house is small but beautifully decorated and has everything you need. We were only a few minutes walk from shops, bars and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thankyou so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels and welcome back next time , Rudy & Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComptonWi...
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house, great city and v helpful owners”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic time staying at Rudy & Bea's Charming House. Haarlem is a lovely city - much easier to stay in than Amsterdam yet so close (15 mins by train). The house is small but did not feel cramped even with the four of us there and it has absolutely everything you need. Rudy and Bea were so helpful beforehand and during our stay - even though they were many miles away in Asia. We enjoyed visiting windmills and hiring bikes to cycle through the sand dunes to the coast. The house is within easy reach of a supermarket and the city centre but was remarkably quiet at night so the kids slept well!
Thanks Rudy and Bea for a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad we were able to assist you with advice and everything you needed to have such an enjoyable stay in the Netherlands. We would love to have you stay agsin sometime in the future. Take care, Rudy & Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing