We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amsterdam at its best”
other travellers have booked this property
View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View
View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
View
View
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
985nickc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amsterdam at its best”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Having decided to visit Amsterdam with my wife and two teenage children, the next challenge was where to stay... And by chance I found Fake's fantastic houseboat.

It's unusual that the place you end up staying in actually becomes part of the adventure of your visit but in this case it really was. Fake's houseboat is the real authentic deal.

Sitting out on the porch in the evening on one of Amsterdam's most photogenic canals with a glass of wine watching the boats go by just metres away from you ... Truly awesome.

Inside, as you can see from the pictures, it just oozes character. Stunning.

We had a fantastic time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to stay in a houseboat in Amsterdam. Fake's a really nice chap too.
Liked least: There nothing at all I can say that I didn't like!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kjacko13
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Gem in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights in this amazing houseboat. The location and access to all the Amsterdam sites are within walking distance and it is surrounded by beautiful friendly bars, cafes and local supermarkets. Fake Hermann, a really friendly & generous owner, kept in email contact with me prior to our arrival and made sure he was available to us if we needed him during our stay. When we we arrived we were greeted with beautiful fresh flowers, fruit and Puccini chocolates! The facilities were first class - bedroom, bathroom,and kitchen were pristine clean and well appointed. We loved the cosy lounge room drenched in sunlight and surrounded with canal views. The fast free wifi and TV added to the feeling of being "at home". We loved sitting out on the back deck sipping wine, eating cheeses and watching the canal cruse boats going by. Thank you Fake for sharing your fabulous home with us and letting us experience a truly Amsterdam lifestyle as a local. We hope to return again to this amazing city and your wonderful houseboat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
43cheryl
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic houseboat in central location”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The service we received the moment we booked the houseboat was excellent. Fake is a great guy and answered all our questions during the course of booking the houseboat and always kept in contact. When we arrived at the houseboat we were not disappointed, fake was there to greet us, the boat was just as the photos show, it really is well kept, clean and cosy and there is everything you need like a home from home. We spent our first day sitting outside on the deck in glorious sunshine with a glass of wine whilst listening to fakes extensive record collection, madness, the specials to name but a few it was fantastic ! The location of the boat is ideal, just a couple of minutes walk away is Anne Franks house, very central location within easy reach of some really nice restaurants and even nicer shops ! We would highly recommend "Gaucho's" restaurant the steak is one of the best we have ever had..Amsterdam is a wonderful city and we will definitely be back, staying in a houseboat makes it extra memorable . Fake kindly took us to the airport on the day of our departure and as we had an evening flight we were able to leave our suitcases with him which was really helpful, you couldn't meet a nicer host . I really could not fault anything about the houseboat it was perfect. What made our trip was meeting such a wonderful friendly funny guy we wont forget our stay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing