We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you are looking for”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
House Facade Real wood fire place in living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Living Room
House Facade
Real wood fire place in living room
Living Room / Dining Area
Living Room
Dining Area / Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area / Door to Garden
Back of House Garden Area
Garden
Stairs leading from groundfloor to 1st floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Rain Shower
Bedroom 3
Ensuite Bathroom -Bedroom 3
Ensuite Bathroom -Bedroom 3
Back of the House
Garden shed in typical local style
Picture taken in our street in 1905, 2 years after completion of the houses.
Zaanse Schand - UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site - 10 minute drive from the house
The area during winter
Volendam Harbour
Beach at Bloemendaal, a 30 minute drive from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Loridig
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This property is well located on a pretty street, within easy walking distance of the station. It has a quiet suburban feel, away from the bustle of central Amsterdam. We were a family group - grown up children and their partners plus one teenaged daughter. The house was able to accommodate us comfortably in terms of space, though there were 7 in our party and only 6 dining chairs and only six beds had been made up before our arrival.The stairs were typical for a Dutch row house, very steep and open sided, and would be a problem for anyone elderly or young or with mobility issues. Not really a problem for us.
Unfortunately though there were one or two glitches which spoiled our stay. Firstly we spent an anxious 15 minutes trying fruitlessly to contact the person with the key to the property on a number that did not work. A helpful cafe owner lent us their phone and wifi to double check my trip advisor account and I discovered that the number had been changed, for the second time, just the day before, after I had left my home to travel to Holland. I was very pleased in the stress of the moment that I was able to remember myTripAdviser password and discover this last minute change. When we arrived we were met by a very pleasant woman who was a little unfamiliar with the house as it was the first time she had had to greet guests on behalf of the owner who apparently lives in France. It was a very wet, cold day in February and we see all soaked from our walk from the station and eager to relax over an evening meal. I had chosen the house because one image of the living room shows logs piled next to the fireplace and was hoping to light a fire to cheer us but sadly there were no logs available that day and the fire could not be lit. The central heating had only just been switched on and the place smelt a little musty and damp. It was beautifully furnished, exactly as the photographs show, but has one or two structural issues that needed attention. This came to light as my children were choosing bedrooms and they discovered that a leak in the ceiling had drenched one of the double beds. A pillow, mattress and corner of the duvet were soaking wet. We stripped the bed and bedding and hung it over the banisters to dry as best we could . When we reported this Pele kindly offered to put us up in a hotel but it was late and we were all tired and it would have been impossible to let the remaining couple in our party, already inflight and due to arrive at 10 that evening, know about the change in plans before catching a train to zaandam from the airport.In the end we turned the bed around so that the wet area was at the foot and pulled it away from the leak. We also avoided using the electric socket that had been affected by water damage which meant that my daughter had to dry her hair etc in the living room as there wa only one power outlet in the bedroom. A maintenance guy arrived the next day. We had to wait in until 10 am or leave the property unlocked. We chose to wait for him but he said that the roof needed major work and was unable to fix it during our stay. Maybe we were just unlucky but. I imagine that this house will be much more comfortable in the summer months and so my recommendation is based on this. Another thing to point out that we had not realised is that the local supermarkets, which are close by, are either closed completely or not open until 10 a.m on Sunday mornings. We did not realise this and had amother delayed start on Sunday while we waited to buy things for our breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you are looking for”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The moment you walk into this place it feels like a home. The house is clean and rooms are comfortable. Beware of the couch, it's super comfortable and you will sink into it unable to move for hours after a long day. It was a nice surprise that the kitchen was well stocked with almost all the cookware and utensils you can think of.

In terms of location its quite fantastic if you want the best of both worlds. Zaandam has a nice quiet town feel to it. Bars, restaurants, cafes, supermarkets and a nice high street are all in walking distance. The neighborhood is also so quiet that you will get some great sleep at night. When you are ready to go into the city, the train station is only about a 10 minute walk away and the train takes around 12 minutes to Amsterdam. The trains run frequently, all day and until late. If you are out really late, an UberPop only charged us about 30 euros to get home from Amsterdam.

Finally, and most importantly, Pelle is a great host and will make sure that you have everything you need.

Highly recommended for friends and family. At least we know we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couch
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for just over a week in late July with my family, including 2 boys aged 10 and 11. The house is spacious, comfortable and homely, and very well located for the type of holiday we wanted. We had a rental car and were able to park it out on the street free of charge (to us). The house is 5 mins walk to Zaandam railway station, and then only a 12 minute train journey to Amsterdam CS.
Some days we drove to the beach, or to see windmills, or other towns; other days we took the train into Amsterdam.
We were impressed with how well the house is kitted out - we had to buy very few sundries (eg, salt, pepper, sugar, oil, some spices etc.) as the kitchen is well stocked. The supermarkets are only a few minutes walk though, and several decent restaurants are less than 10 minutes away in the old town square.
The house is on a traditional street and gives a great feel for what living in Holland is like.
The only point I would mention is that (like most traditional Dutch houses) the stairs are very steep and would not be suitable for people with infirmaties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry w
devizes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would definitely stay here again.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house. Everything you need. Steep stairs for top floor but worth it for space and ensuit. Perfect location for local shops and bars etc. train service fantastic 10 minute walk to station and 15 mins to dam central. Trains every 30 mins. Would recommend and will go back. House and garden so private and peaceful. Real home from home.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonester4...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect get-away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the house for a long weekend in Feb. The house is located 5 min walk from Vaandam train station (which is only 2 stops & 10 mins from Central Amsterdam and direct from the airport). The house is modern with traditional twists and has 3 large double bedrooms, 2 big beautiful bathrooms and an open plan lounge/kitchen/diner over 3 floors (the stairs are quite steep). We were met by Debbie, who very kindly gave us tips on the area and even walked us into town to show us a few places. Vaandam is great for shopping and eating out, and is a great place to stay and make the short trip in and out of Amsterdam. Linen and Towels were provided and the kitchen had all you could need (including coffee maker, ice machine, tea, sugar etc, which we topped up with what we didn't use). We have stayed in hotels in Amsterdam before, but tried this due to wanting a base we could all come and go from but have the space to socialise together and it was perfect for that. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would def recommend. The communication with Pelle (owner) has been prompt and courteous and I received the breakage deposit back quickly. Hotels are great for ease and location in Amsterdam, but this option allows you to have a base away from the "craziness" of the Dam but be within a short distance away. The trains start at 6am and run every 10 mins until 2-3am. Thanks Pelle, look forward to staying at your place again and thanks Debs for the hospitality you showed us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan Ground floor, big bedrooms, comfy beds and very clean!
Liked least: Wifi was a little temperamental
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
The station is called Zaandam and not Vaandam. Just in case you can't find it on the map.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;