We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,808)
Filter reviews
3,808 results
Traveller rating
1,534
1,520
487
165
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,534
1,520
487
165
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge central station great location guest services concierge desk within walking distance dam square minute walk river cruise red light district anne frank house early check quiet street mini bar breakfast was included van gogh museum navigator
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 3,808 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We used our award points for a 5 night stay at this property. We have stayed at many Renaissance hotels in the US and in Europe. This one has a fantastic location, near Central Station and walking distance to almost everything,
It needs better management oversight. The front desk / guest services button on the phone is not picked up (causing us to drag our luggage to the lobby or miss our airport taxi...so annoying! To get slippers and robes took two phone calls! The room was small (average for European hotels) which might have made cleaning difficult for the staff...the room was clean on top, but not in the corners, tops of mirrors , etc.
The lounge was lovely and the food served was more than adequate....just a little more attention needed to make life easier for the traveler.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna S, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear VEGO,
Thank you so much for sending us your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Our central location does indeed make for a convenient stay and we are happy to hear that our hotel provided the perfect base for your city trip. Our Club Lounge does indeed offer a great place for a drink and a snack as well as breakfast, we are glad you found the service to be so great. We are sorry to hear that the reception and guest services team was busy during your stay we strive to ensure that we offer our guests efficient service, however it can be a challenge during the busiest periods. I will personally look into this with our team to see how we can improve on this issue.We are sorry to hear that our housekeeping services fell short of expectations. This is certainly not the service we wish to deliver and rest assured, we have passed your feedback on to our Head of Styling who is in charge of the housekeeping department. She will ensure that this does not happen again.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to make it even more memorable than your recent stay

Warm Regards,
Johanna Siemer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Looking for a European hotel in Amsterdam. Don’t look here as this an oasis of large modern rooms in a sea of small style European hotels. Tried of small cramped places on your European trip don’t pass up the Renaissance. Plus if you belong to Marriott rewards they treat you like royalty. Bags were taken to my room and keys delivered to me when my room was available by the manager. That’s seriously good service. All amenities abound at this hotel and its central to everything. Walk from the train station or short taxi ride. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank paulstikibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Location is excellent and as the hotel is ideally placed for a trip to Amsterdam.

Location apart premises OK but nothing amazing. Hotel is in need of some TLC but generally of Renaissance / Marriott standard. Clean, comfortable and everything working - just not luxurious.

Some staff seem very keen to assist but some appear to feel that guests are getting in the way of running their hotel.

Lobby and checkin sometimes appear to really struggle. Quite a small area and gets crowded.

Staff not wholly on message, likely due to lack of effective management focussed on the customer. Club lounge employee a good example. Overly keen to impose arbitrary rules that have perhaps been dreamt up by management, More likely it appeared just felt it her job to ensure she somehow restricted guest enjoyment in this lounge as her domain.

If head office have a team to deploy to get senior staff up to speed on leadership and cascading down customer focus mindset I am sure the hotel could lift its game. But maybe no great need if it can do well enough simply trading on its enviable location....

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GT2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna S, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear GT2161,

Thank you for sharing your Renaissance Amsterdam experience with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed very lucky to have such a prime location, in the heart of the city and walking distance from Central Station, yet tucked away down a quiet side street. Thank you for bringing the situation you experienced at the reception and in the club lounge to our attention, this is most certainly not the service we aim to provide for our guests. I will look into how we can avoid similar experiences for all future guests. We look forward to your next visit and hope to make it more memorable than your recent stay.

Kind Regards,
Johanna Siemer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This hotel is smack in the middle of things, which has some good and bad to it. It is great if you are taking the train to/from the airport so you can walk from the station without having to haul your bags very far. It's also close to both tram lines, which I highly recommend for getting around the city. The rooms are small, but that's pretty standard in Europe. The concierge (or Navigator, as they call it) is VERY helpful. There is also some amazing staff in the lounge that always kept my wine glass full during the complimentary happy hours!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amy4773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Book Renaissance when you are looking to stay at a luxury hotel in Amsterdam that is both comfortable and conveniently located from all the attractions. For us, the highlights would be hospitable staff, cool Koepel Dutch cafe, and clean rooms. We had an enjoyable time staying at the property and of course visited wonderful Amsterdam attractions without any fuss!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wanderershub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannaS3821, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Prerna M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well taken care of by our wonderful staff. We also pride ourselves in our traditional "brown café", het Koepelcafe and are happy to learn you have enjoyed our delicious Dutch treats. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Johanna Siemer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews