We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$228
US$200
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
US$205
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$177
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$528
US$486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
570
309
108
38
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
309
108
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationgreat locationthe red light districtwalking distancelovely hotelsuperior roomrooms are spaciousbars and restaurantscoffee machineexcellent breakfastmini barcomfy bedeasy accesslong weekendcity breakdam squareconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days. Staff was friendly but that was the only positive thing except for the location close to the main station and city centre.
The rooms were not cleaned properly, finger-thick dust on the floor that was still there when we left, no cotton swabs and pads in the bathroom, the toilet bowl had cracks. Breakfast was okay but service very poor. Slow to non-existent refilling of empty food bowls. Not worth the money, would not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank trip_traveller212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly appreciate this. Only with your feedback we can improve our service to a higher level.

We deeply regret the fact that your room was not cleaned properly. This is not regarding our high standards. Your review has been shared with our housekeepingmanager so we can avoid this kind of situations in the near future. If it is possible we would like to ask you to share your reservation number with us. With that kind of information we can discuss the situation with the responsible colleague. You can contact my assistant Judith via j.diederen@nh-hotels.com

Your comments about the friendly staff will be shared internally. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work and they will defenitely appreciate this.

We hope you will give us a second change so we can give you the extra ordinary feeling and we can show you our high standards of the cleanliness.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

THE hotel is across from central station so easy from AirPort Expensive but worth the extra cost to be located to everything rooms are large spacious with modern baths with rain showers dozens of restaurants within two steps from entrance

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank bossy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other travelers. We highly appreciate this.

Indeed we are located very central in the city centre. All the touristic attractions and Central Station is easy to reach. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you back soon, to give you the extra ordinary feeling again.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing comfort, amazing service. Was in Amsterdam on a layover but enjoyed every minute of the 72 hrs there. Great food, bedding was comfortable, clean rooms. Street outside a bit busy, we traveled by taxi.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank letherbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, that you enjoyed the comfort of the hotel and the service we gave you.

Your comments about the food, bedding and cleanliness will be shared internally. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent three nights, four days. This hotel has a fantastic location. It is close to the main train station, trams, buses and canal transport. It is close to the starting pickup for bus and canal tours as well as numerous restaurants, nightclubs and street entertainment. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly from the minute we entered the hotel, walking around, getting local information etc; staff could not do enough for guests. We were in room 149 overlooking a stretch of the canal. We were also fortunate enough to be there for “King’s Day” which was celebrated throughout the Netherlands and was fantastic to be part of. Highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simmsdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Simmsdavis,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful review! We highly appreciate this.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always want to give our guests the extra ordinary feeling during their stay, we are glad to read we gave you this feeling.

Indeed we are very fortuante with the location of the hotel. All the touristic attractions and the nightclubs are easy to reach by public transport or within a few footsteps.

It is great to read that you have enjoyed Kingsday in the Netherlands. It is always nice to see how orange the city can be at one day. The Dutch people defenitely enjoy Kingsday.

Your comments about your stay will be shared internally. The staff will defenitely appreciate this.

We hope we can welcome you back soon in our hotel, to give you the extra ordinary feeling again.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was stunning, the staff were so very helpful and friendly. They even left balloons and a card in our room for our Anniversary.

The hotel is perfectly placed to be in the centre of the city, with great transport links. We didn’t eat in the restaurant but the room service breakfast and late night snacks were very good.

The hotel has a quirky older section with sloping floors and wooden beams which only added to the charm.

Would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Rooms in the old section have a real local charm, rooms at the front have better views
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sugarface68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other travelers. We highly appreciate this.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always want to give our guests the extra ordinary feeling during their, we are glad to read that we gave you this feeling with balloons a card and off course our helpfull staff. Your comments will be shared internally. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work.

Indeed we are very fortunate with the location of the hotel. All the touristic attractions are easy to reach by public transport or within a few footsteps.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon in our hotel to give you the extra ordinary feeling again.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews