We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but the 5D cinema is awful”

Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.97*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Ripley's Believe It or Not...
Ranked #58 of 584 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam is the home of the bizarre and unbelievable yet everything you see at Ripley's Amsterdam is true! 4 Floors of fun, interaction and knowledge, over 500 exhibits from all the corners of the world, with a virtual reality experience, 5D Cinema and a lounge with a panoramic view of the Dam Square. Enjoy a full experience for everyone and all ages! Just a few minutes walking distance from The Central Station.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dropped by here on our last day so we had our backpacks with us. The staff were happy to take them and give us a ticket for them but didn't want to take the jackets and there was no wardrobe. This was quite inconvenient as it was boiling in there so as a word of advice, dress lightly if you can.

The place has a lot of interesting setups for a wide variety of curisities, ranging from a wooden Bugatti to a vampire killing kit. Overall it's quite interesting so I won't spoil it for you any further.

We also got the 5D cinema tickets which we were disappointed with. The effects are fine but the video looks like it was made in the early 2000s. The graphics were so bad that it didn't in any way feel real and completely spoiled the experience.

We ended it with a drink and a portion of nachos at the top, which were overpriced and not too tasty. The staff at the top floor were however great.

Overall a great experience, just dress lightly and don't get the cinema tickets.

Thank Vlad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleysAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vlad,

Thank you for your review, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at our museum/ attraction.

Regarding the 5D cinema, following the feedback we received from customers we closed it yesterday (02/05) for improvement work, so the next time you arrive to Amsterdam we hope you will give it another go!

Hopefully we will see you again,
Thank you,

Ripley's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shrunken heads"
in 7 reviews
"great fun"
in 23 reviews
"interesting stuff"
in 9 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 5 reviews
"few hours"
in 23 reviews
"spinning tunnel"
in 4 reviews
"ripley's museum"
in 4 reviews
"lots of interesting things"
in 4 reviews
"dam square"
in 21 reviews
"amazing things"
in 4 reviews
"top floor"
in 15 reviews
"all ages"
in 14 reviews
"fun museum"
in 4 reviews
"interesting things to see"
in 4 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 18 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 12 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time here tonight.
Visited at 8pm so there was no queuing. Could look at each thing as long as we liked no rushing.
Really unique. Amazing.

Thank pincer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleysAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pincer2015,

Thank you for visiting us and for your review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our museum/attraction.
Next time you visit Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again,

Ripley's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entry price is quite on the higher side, after going in we din't really witness just usual stuff as expected.

Thank prabhavmusaddi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleysAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Prabhavmusaddi89,

Thank you for you review.
We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit/ price and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again in the future and that you will have a better experience in your next visit,

Ripley's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely good for a rainy day, but a few of the exhibits interactive experience was not working. It’s a bit pricey for what it is.

Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleysAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Erin,

Thank you very much for you review.
We appreciate your feedback and will examine your comment about the interactive exhibits.

We hope to see you again in the future and that you will have a better experience in your next visit,

Ripley's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thought it would all be about Ripleys which it is not their is also ancient history and different made models from olden times. Not something I enjoyed and would not even take a child there as it will have no clue about the history.
There is a restaurant on the top floor food is amaing.

Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleysAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paula,

Thank you for review.

We regret to hear you did not enjoy your visit and hope that on your next trip to Amsterdam you will give our attraction another try. We are constantly working on new exhibits and on improving our customer's experience.

However, we were happy to hear you enjoyed our Lounge menu.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future,
Ripley's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing