We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage - Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Quietly situated with views across hills, fields and moors and across to Longnor Woods
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quietly situated with views across hills, fields and moors and across to Longnor Woods
Comfortable lounge with log burning stove, local guides, books, games, music and films Space for entertaining if family or friends are visiting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Quietly situated with views across hills, fields and moors and across to Longnor Woods
Comfortable lounge with log burning stove, local guides, books, games, music and films
Space for entertaining if family or friends are visiting
Free WiFi included
Wine and treats to welcome you on arrival
Well equipped kitchen, so you can relax and leave the kitchen sink at home
All you need including dishwashing tablets, washing powder, tea towels and washing up liquid
Traditional staircase to first floor
Comfortable double bed with king size quilt so you can cosy up and admire the views
Loads of towels!
Walk in shower with underfloor heating
Beautiful views, in all directions
Walk from the cottage through criss cross of nearby lanes and paths.
Cobbled village square, simple church and quirky cottages
Welcome to Ruby Cottage and a peaceful and relaxing stay in this beautiful spot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamesp342...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Great Location”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We recently spent a long weekend at Ruby Cottage, which is a lovely place to stay. The owners were friendly and helpful up on our arrival - we thoroughly enjoyed the complementary wine and mince pies.

The cottage is cosy and has everything you need; towels, kitchen utensils, cleaning bits etc. I'd certainly recommend it to others.

Ideally situated in the Peak District - 15 minutes from Bakewell and Buxton, and 30 minutes from Ashbourne, Leek and Castleton.

I found lots of nice walks in the local area and also within a short drive from the cottage.

There are three pubs in the village and also many other pubs within a short drive.

We'll definitely stay at Ruby Cottage again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holly s
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, immaculate cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for a week. Had a nightmare journey on public transport with train caught in flooding - delayed by nearly 3 hours! Panicked as had ordered an online shopping delivery, so called Rachel (owner) who was so helpful in leaving a note for the delivery driver for us, and we arrived at the cottage to be greeted by some delicious cakes left on the table and a bottle of wine for us, which was extremely well received! The cottage was so well equipped, milk in the fridge, tv, wifi, towels, kitchen stuff, maps, walking guides, everything you could need. It was immaculately clean - the kitchen, the bed, the bathroom - everything was spotless. Very comfy bed, we slept like babies every night, and felt so at home. We were unfortunate that this was supposed to be our summer holiday but it tipped down every single day! So cold and rainy and miserable! But felt very cosy in the cottage, which is ideally located in the village. Can't praise this cottage highly enough - it had everything we wanted for our trip, and was so lovely.

The only slight downside that I would let people know about is that we had researched this area beforehand, and seen that Longnor had about 4 pubs, where we had planned to eat and visit most evenings, but they have all closed down! Only one was open (Cheshire Cheese), which was a bit miserable and not serving food, so there is nowhere to eat in the village at all, and if you don't have a car (whcih we didn't), you can feel a bit cut off. We wandered down to the Pack Horse Inn in Crowdecote, the next village along (approx 1 mile), which was so cosy, great range of beers, and lovely pub grub, so would recommend that for any visitors! But that's not to detract from Ruby Cottage though, which was just perfect, would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review, its very kind of you to take the trouble and very much appreciated. Apologies for the pub situation, it has been less than ideal in recent months. I'm pleased to say there are new owners now in the Cheshire Cheese and it is once more cheery and serving food. Also, its worth noting that The Grapes pub in the village is being renovated and planning to open late summer/early autumn 2016, we have high expectations as the new owners seem lovely and keen to please. There's also the fish and chip shop, where you can get a takeaway or eat in ( a very 1960's experience...). Thanks once again for the review. Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieR20...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and me had a week's break at Ruby Cottage. It was all we expected given the high online ratings. It is snug and has a great feel to it, ideal for a couple. It is very well fitted out and equipped to a high standard. Also Richard and Rachael set it up really well for your arrival, the 2 slices of tray bake left for us were a great suprise and most welcome. Especially after our 6 hour journey! It's a real nice quiet village well placed to explore the Peak District area with some great pubs nearby that serve excellent food, like The Pack Horse Inn and The Royal Oak.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F
1 review
“Perfect Place!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My girlfriend & I had a Wonderful stay at Ruby Cottage!

Richard & Rachel were Great hosts and did everything that they possibly could to make our stay comfortable!

I would not hesitate in booking Ruby Cottage again for future visits to the area and would most definitely recommend the accommodation to friends and family!

Thanks Richard & Rachel - We hope to see you again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Before booking my 40th "get away weekend" I carefully read the reviews for this cottage. My expectations of a memorable weekend away were met perfectly. The cottage is equipped with everything you would need and added extras. We were lucky enough for snow which added to the cosy feel whilst sat in front of the log burner.

We ate at "The Royal Oak" in Hurdlow and the food was amazing.

Bakewell is definitely worth a visit.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone. Many thanks to Rachel and Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing