We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$307
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parkhotel Beau Site(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$377
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Holiday(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mirabeau(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Phoenix(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Perren(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$212
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Butterfly(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pollux(Zermatt)
US$389
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
70
23
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
23
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski bootsski roomgreat locationboiled eggsshort walkbalcony viewtrain stationsingle roomeach morningvery nice hotelklein matterhornliftfacilitiescloudyslipperspassesskiing
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Location
Central for access to skiing, just a few metres to the Sunnegga train and to the bus stop for Klein Matterhorn.

Room
Comfortable and well appointed, nice view onto the river.

Public areas
Very attractive and well furnished lounge and breakfast area.

Service
Excellent, attentive and friendly staff.

Breakfast
Well presented, large range of items.

Downside
The hotel does not do evening meals which is a pity as everything else was superb. However, there is a good range of restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whinaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralhotel2017, Inhaber at Admiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear "whinaem"

Thank you for your excellent review here on TripAdvisor.
We are really happy to read that you liked the ideal location - close to Sunnegga lift station and to the centre itself.
Further more, we are also excited that you liked the rooms and the kind hospitality (service in general) as well as the delicious and rich breakfast buffet.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards from Zermatt,
Sandrine Julen and Team Admiral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

great location, spacious room, strong water pressure, fully equipped with bath robes & slippers. breakfast was great (celine took the extra mile to grab some fresh croissants) received Läderach heart shaped chocolates on Valentines morning during breakfast & a compliment chocolate when check out. she even suggesting places to dine for the local and helping out throughout our stay.

Room Tip: room with matterhorn view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralhotel2017, Inhaber at Admiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear "Michelle K",
Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Zermatt with us at hotel Admiral. Thank you for mentioning the ideal location close to Sunnegga lift and Bahnhofstrasse and of course, the cosy & spacious rooms and such as the delicious breakfast buffet.
Kind regards from Zermatt,
Sandrine Julen and Team Admiral, especially Céline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I have visited Zermatt many times and this is my go-to hotel. We are repeat visitors and they acknowledge us as such. This is a small hotel (maybe 24 rooms) in a fantastic location right by the Sunnegga lift station, green line bus stop, and short walk to Gornergrat train station (or you could take the bus one stop). Their ski room lockers include boot dryers/heaters and there is nothing better than putting on warm ski boots each morning!! Great service from the staff who will meet you at the train station and even fetch your luggage from the station if you used the Swiss Rail luggage transfer service. This is a B&B hotel, so you do have to go out for your evening meal. Whether this is good or bad depends on your point of view... it certainly gets you out of the hotel every evening to go walk around Zermatt and that is a good thing. Breakfast is european continental cold buffet. They will do a boiled egg for you but don't prepare eggs any other way (e.g. scrambled, omelette) which is a pity... a simple cheese omelette would be a huge upgrade to their breakfast. Highly recommended and a good value in Zermatt.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralhotel2017, Inhaber at Admiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear "David K",
Thank you so much for your overall positive review.
We are more than happy that you enjoyed your vacation.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards,
Sandrine Julen and team Admiral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

A very nice hotel , great location , nextr to the lift, byt more impressive is the staff, thay make you feel at home, From the GM to the housekeeping staff, very nice folks, a place you will make you feel at home, not stuffy, just plain friendly, very comfortable and any issues, they attend right away. I could not have asked for more

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Khing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralhotel2017, Geschäftsführer at Admiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear "Khing G",
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to know that you liked our hospitality and our cosy hotel in general.
See you soon again hopefully.
Kind regards from snowy Zermatt,
Sandrine Julen and team Admiral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Zermatt was our favourite stop in our Switzerland trip and Hotel Admiral was one of the contributing factors.

It was not difficult to walk to the hotel from the train station. You will see Gornergrat Bahn station when you exit Zermatt train station. Just follow the Gornergrat Bahn railway and make a left U-turn under the Gornergrat Bahn railway flyover, and you can see the hotel. It is an even terrain walk all the way so no issue for my elderlies too. But do be careful of the electric taxis using the same road. You will also pass by a small playground and a bakery on your way to the hotel.

The hotel gives a warm and cosy vibe upon entry. Fast check in. There is a lift so no issues with luggage and for my elderlies. Even though we made the booking more than six months in advance, the hotel's triple room(s) and suite(s) were already taken, so we had to book two twin rooms and one single room. The hotel is thoughtful and allocated us three rooms on the same floor and adjacent to each other. The two twin rooms were corner units facing door to door and have balcony view of the Matterhorn. You can also see the Gornergrat passes by.

The rooms were clean and cosy, and tastefully furnished. There were hooks on the wall behind the door for coats and sufficient hangers for clothes. I like it that the bathroom in the twin room has a window ledge to put toiletries. Like the bathroom tiles too. The twin room is also big enough for me leave my luggage open on the floor

Breakfast is on the ground floor and we were allocated the corner table for two consecutive days. The staff will ask and make coffee/tea and boiled eggs for you. Decent spread of bread and spread, cereals, cold cuts and cheese.

Heavy key chains though. We kept two keys in a room and only bring one room key out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralhotel2017, Geschäftsführer at Admiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you very much for your time making this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would be pleased to welcome you back upon another occasion... and for a longer stay :)

Prix Bienvenu 2017
The friendliest hotels in Switzerland based on guest feedback have been chosen for the fifth time. The Prix Bienvenu was awarded by Switzerland Tourism to the *** Superior Hotel Admiral in Zermatt. A big thank you to our team and the guests for the wonderful feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews