We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
499
120
28
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
120
28
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squash court wood carvings swimming pool tennis courts whirlpool tub train station charming hotel ski room great position the main street swiss hotel half board great room large room lounge area ski resort breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We are with a tour by the Smithsonian so we did not choose this hotel. However, the choice was very special. It is a few steps from the train station in a pedestrian town with a view of the Matterhorn mountain from the room. The town is, of course, Zermatt.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank OldBatGiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely comment.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Zermatt.
Wishing you a safe journey back home, we remain with very best regards

Yours,
Christina Perren
HOTEL ALEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Don't get me wrong about my rating. This place is fabulous and the interior is like a museum. I took photos throughout this facility. It was beautiful! But the sleeping rooms and layouts left a little to be desired. Old can be visually appealing which this was, but sleeping in a museum might be something else. It was one of the nicer facilities around so taking that into consideration could maybe make my rating of this hotel "outstanding". It is well worth touring without a doubt and maybe another room would have altered my rating. Use caution when ordering a drink in the lounge if you are budget minded!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view of the Matterhorn!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The lobby is a series of cozy rooms done up in all sorts of decors, all glowing with warmth colors, burgundy, gold, soft browns, each a homey feeling mixed with cheerfulness, a happy intro to this small complex of buildings housing the accommodations. Ours featured a large bedroom (with leopard headboard), totally modern bathroom with jacuzzi and best of all, a wide balcony overlooking a magnificent view of mountains, right at our fingertips, green on the one side populated with sheep up the slopes and snowy peaks in the distance. We even had a front row seat to the several paragliders descending from on high to the slope in front of us. Food is delicious and varied, served in your choice of dining rooms all quaintly and attractively designed. What a coup! Go and enjoy your stay. (Besides, there's a beautiful pool just off the lobby.) Oh, as an afterthought, but of major import, is a view of the Matterhorn out front!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Elaine,

It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed the cosy interior of the hotel so much.
Thank you for the Wonderful comment. Like this we know that we are on the good way.

Yours truly,
Christina Perren
HOTEL ALEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Spent 2 days at this hotel. The wooden hand carved bar/lounge area is beautiful and with large comfy sofas with lots of cushions when I went in it was a whoo you can imagine in the winter with the fire on having a drink in comfort. There is a huge patio area in front of the hotel again with large comfortable garden seating areas. The food is superb as is the staff who are second to none. The rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms are amazing. the railway station is just round the corner and there are lots of shops to brouse through. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and perhaps if I'm lucky will visit again.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank 2Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Tina,

We are delighted that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we can welcome you in the near future again and wishing you all the best, we remain with sincere regards

Yours,
Christina Perren
HOTEL ALEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We stayed here as part of a tour and was just as you would expect-a charming Swiss hotel in the valley wakening up to cow bells.Breakfast was good as was dinner-The hotel is centrally located in the middle of the village and the room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean
A wonderful charming hotel-can highly recommend it

Room Tip: Any room is good
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews