We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
178
125
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
125
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom ceilingcompact hoteltrain stationsmall poolsteam roommountain railwayfirst morningfour star hotelnice balconymini barwellness areaswiss stylebreakfast buffetmatterhorn viewgreat viewsingle roomshower
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

What a week there. We have been to many ski resorts and this hotel was the best ever!!
It started with a great welcome from the train station by Cedric who collected us and then checked us in and he was very informative about the hotel and area.
The food was really good both breakfast and dinner with a great variety!
We had prosecco with our breaky on the first morning! What a start to a day!
Michael was fab, he let us know about the Fondu/sledding night at a stunning mountain restaurant that the hotel organise and take you to. We had a fab night there!
I have not met anyone from Finland before but Cat was an incredible lady. Her knowledge about the mountain was great and advice on where to go for quality and reasonable mountain huts with loads of character were second to none! Great showjumping lady to!
The room was lovely, a separate wardrobe each which was luxury for a ski hotel, a fab shower and waking up to stunning views of the Matterhorn was really special!
The spa facilities were a real treat at the end of the day to!
Would highly recommend this absolute gem in the really incredible Zermatt!!
Lucy and Pauly

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucypauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InesR2, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Lucy and Pauly
Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. The whole team do their utmost to make every single guest feeling at home, we are glad to hear that we reached you with our hospitality. We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regard from Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The room looked to mount Matterhorn. Good and friendly service. Comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. Central location and can be reached by walking every where. extend the vacation we got a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johanna-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InesR2, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Johanna-joe
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be pleased to welcome you at your next visit in Zermatt again in our Hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Not far from the bahnhof, the hotel has a nice location next to the local bus stop and is also a short (3 min) walk from the Sunnega funicular. However, if you are close to the Sunnegga, you are on the other side of the village from the Furg/Furi lift - choices must be made! The room had a water closet, but the sink and shower were in the room. The staff was quite nice (others commented on that) and even repaired my laptop charger.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SkiBumBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InesR2, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear SkiBumBob

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The good thing in Zermatt is, even we are located "at the end of the village" all the ski areas are connected with each other. So even if you start your skiday at the Sunnega/Rothorn area, you can go all the on your skis to the "Matterhorn Glacier Paradise" are. Pretty convenient :-)
Dear SkiBumBo, we would be pleased to welcome you at your next visit in Zermatt again in our Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Hotel good quality, very friendly staff, clean and great views on the Matterhorn. We were disappointed that the restaurant is closed in November, this wasn't mentioned to us in the welcome email. Because the restaurant was closed, the bar and sitting area by the fire was unfortunately also closed. The spa area was disappointing, it has so much more potential, it was generally cold in the pool room, there are insufficient loungers and the steam room had a moldy smell, no water/tea or fruit which are often offered, just very minimal.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InesR2, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Tessa

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do apologize that we did not mentioned to closed restaurant in our welcoming letter. Regarding the SPA area, we are happy to inform you that we did some maintenance down there. Unfortunately we do not have any swimming pool anymore but now a large relax area. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards from Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Chalet style Hotel is well located with short walk to town centre and train. Wonderful view of Matterhorn through large windows in light and bright room. Good breakfast buffet in restaurant. Happy, helpful staff with good advice on activites, points of interest and cafes. Free shuttle to station not available so we were given voucher for taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Matterhorn
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lynwb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InesR2, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Lynwb1

thank you for your positive Feedback. We would be pleased to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews