We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
27
58
80
50
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
58
80
50
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fourth floor big room fantastic location lake como europe promenade mountains
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

All over the place was a weird smell. Super old style with old furniture and has no sound isolation. But surprisingly the bed was very comfortable and we had a very good sleep. Breakfast was typical with no bad or good things to admit.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank serhiienkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We stayed in a triple occupancy room, so room was big. Bathroom was also clean and had all toiletteries required. Breakfast OK. But dining room was very good with a view of lake. Location is good as lake is just across the road. You get a ferry just 5 minutes walking from hotel. Local bus stop also just outside the hotel, bus takes 10 minutes to railway station. Hotel itself is old looking, but clean and no unpleasant smell etc.

Room tip: No need to pay extra for a room with a view. Just go out of the hotel for great views
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaushalv27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Definitelly the worst experience ever. The hotel is not the greatest when seen from the outside but the location is great and the view stunning. Probably the only factors that justify the shocking cost of a room.

The entrance is unconfortable: a few narrow steps and a dangerous slipway which should be for luggage? Certainly not for wheelchairs. So please, get rid of it. Very slippery in rain.

The staff is rude and poorly trained. Very poorly. They have no idea of the meaning of "customer service". No "please" nor "thank you".
Not a single smile. They will not make any effort to make you feel like you are in the right place.

The reception is arranged in a riddicolous manner, when you enter the hotel and approach the desk, the Receptionist will move to the left hand side of the desk, beyond the annoying pillar in the middle of the room, without giving any sign to follow him. He will keep talking and you will struggle to understand whether or not you should folllow him or rather stay there. We were given the wrong password for wi-fi at the desk. Also, I would rather pay for my wi-fi as long as you can provide a good connection. Refrain from advertising "free wi-fi" if you are unable to ensure a decent connetion even to open my mail.

We get into the room to realise that the remote for the AC is dead. Same for the one of the TV. We managed to make the remote working by shakig the batteries. We switch the AC on but no warm air comes out. Perhpas it would be good to check the gas out? We surely know how AC works, so no doubt we did the right procedure. We did not want to call the Reception because that meant to change room.

The bed has soft pillows, not sure what they are there for, given you can't use them as pillow. We requested a double room and we get a double bed with two single duvets ???? Small enough not to be sufficient even for a single bed. What? Are you serious? They were cheap plastic winter duvet. So... sweating when put on and freezing cold when put off. No half way through!

Definitely the worst service ever for breakfast. We get onto the first floor, we enter the breakfast room, no staff around. We waited to be seated and the lady rudely said "seat whereever you want". In Italian though as she has no idea of how even to say numbers in English! We could not figure out what we were supposed to do until my wife decided to stand up, go around the room and eventually find a buffet which looked as riddicolous as the Reception. Probably more. They have no concept of what vegetarian or vegan means given they mix together ham and cheese on the same tray. Disgusting scrumbled eggs and pale and sick sausages. Nevertheless, no vegetarian nor vegan options.

Only one lady on the floor trying to serve everyone. I'm saying "trying" because she rather looked floating from table to table. It would be better to welcome a new table rather than clearing an old one. That should be part of the basic training.

The coffe is like poison. A cheap (South American?) blend. Too roasted and acidic, we could not finish our Espresso. The ham was oxidised, which means not fresh! We left the room starving. We paid 24chf for nothing.

Overall experience: Never again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The hotel is in dire need of some basic repair - everywhere you look there ais damage to walls, windows, carpets... It looks not just tired but neglected. Breakfast is ok to the extent that you can eat something, but it looks outrIght mran with not even some basic fresh fruit avalable. In my travels I have rarely felt so cheated.

Room tip: Don't go the hotel
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silketipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We booked this hotel about a month ago for the last night of our tour of the Alps. Lugano is an absolutely beautiful city with very friendly people, but you won't find a friendly staff here! The decor is deceiving, as you walk into a beautifully decorated lobby, and even the floors are all in Victorian classic style. But once in the rooms, you're thrown forward into the 70s/80s, the bathrooms are really old! And the walls are paper thin...The hotel is reasonably clean. When we booked our hotel we requested gluten free breakfast. But when we went for breakfast the girl said they have nothing gluten free. Breakfast is rather poor. Parking in the garage has extra cost while other hotels are free.

Room tip: Terrible view of construction site!!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zaira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews