We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
149
136
34
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
136
34
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station steep hill great base for exploring bircher muesli triple room this family run hotel nice hotel hotel wifi balcony overlooking nice bathroom italian style stayed one night the hotel staff big balcony few minutes walk spent two nights booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This family run hotel and it feels exactly like that. Charming, a bit old fashioned , excellent staff, really tip-top. Good breakfast. We booked the comfy rooms at 254 Swiss francs , rather than the standard rooms, so it was a bit of a shock to find two single beds pushed together- not even zipped together just pushed together. When I went back to the website, I see that was indeed stated. I must have missed it because I thought those days were long long gone. IMHO the family should invest in a few double beds. The bathroom towels were pretty average and also need upgrading.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikefrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear mikefrance1
Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Lugano.
We appreciate your suggestions here on Tripadvisor and it is to us a little shocking to still find guests who do not feel the need to have things changed during their stay and and then feel the compelling need complain after departure.
Almost all our rooms do have twin beds and the longer the more taking into account aging of population and changing sleeping habits of each single guest, it looks like we are rather on the right path.
With all reservations in all hotels there is the possibility to state some requests which are important to each guest, and each hotel around the world will try to fulfill guest's request. We would have done the same if we would have known, even at your check-in time.
We hope we could be of help for your future trips and hotel visits, and maybe we will be able to welcoming you back one day in Lugano.
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Very nice room with a balcony overlooking the lake with lovely views. Even though the Federale is close to the train station, it's quiet and relaxing. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The rooms are individually air conditioned so you have the choice to run it or not. The staff are very kind and helpful and it is a welcome treat to sit outside for breakfast. The choice at breakfast is very good and of excellent quality. I've noticed other reviews complain about the steep hill--yes, after a day's walking around the town, it is a steep walk, but Lugano is built on hills. This remains our first choice hotel for Lugano.

Room tip: We prefer a room with a balcony (5th floor). Rooms facing the lake are probably quieter but it's not noisy in the first place.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smctarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear smctarheel,
Thank you very much for your continued trust in our services are it is always a pleasure welcoming you back to Lugano and Hotel Federale.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcoming you again while on your next trip to this region.
Thank you again and kindest regards
Family Galliker and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed there 1 night with family in their family styled room option. Worked it very nicely with the kids getting their own twin beds with Mom and Dad adjacent in a private room.

Staff was very cordial and helpful.

Very close to the train station, better than average breakfast with quaint outdoor seating for the summer. Location was surprisingly quiet given its location. Short walk to center of town with some great shopping.

Would certainly stay here again unless I was looking for a longer stay - in which case I might try for something a bit lighter on the wallet.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CD181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear CD181
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and we are pleased to read that you were satisfied with our services and with the better than average breakfast on the terrace.
The hotel is centrally located indeed, and quiet (not absolutely because we are in the center).
We hope to be able to welcoming you back to our Hotel if you visit the region of Lake Lugano again and we would be pleased to offer you a personalized price if you stay more than one night. Just contact us by mail or phone.
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Federale is very convenient to everything you'd want to do in Lugano. Breakfast is fabulous, which is a treat. I had a room with a wrap around balcony, which provided very nice views of the mountains and the lake. Every afternoon I'd walk down the hill to get a gelato. I stayed her while visiting Franklin University. It's not a luxury hotel, but it is very comfortable.

Room tip: I don't think you can get a bad room. It's a quiet location near the train station.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear RMA626
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and thank you for taking time in writing a review of your experience here on Tripadvisor.
We are indeed centrally located at the beginning of the old town, and most activities are within walking distance.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will be able to welcoming you back at Federale on your next visit of Lugano it Franklin University.
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Amazing hotel! Stayed here 3 nights and it was amazing. We ate in the hotel restaurant all 3 nights and the service and food was great. The front desk gave us tons of information and tips when we checked in which really helped. Great location. Great rooms very clean and we had a balcony. LOVED IT!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hijhgguhhjjjhgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear hijhgguhhjjjhgew
Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Federale in Lugano and thank you for taking time to write a review here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that we could meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in Lugano.
With the new Ticino Ticket it is easy and almost free to go around and visit all corners of the Italian part of Switzerland and we are happy we could help you with information.
Looking forward to be able to welcoming you back some day in Lugano, we remain,
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews