We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$344
View deal
Expedia.com
US$362
View deal
Agoda.com
US$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$362
PricelineUS$362
eDreamsUS$344
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
386
155
67
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
155
67
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building walk in shower large breakfast buffet train station large lobby beautiful hotel turn down service lovely spa swimming pool jungfrau joch the hotel staff sitting area junior suite traditional swiss hotel mountain hotel course meal fantastic stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful few days there. We can recommend the restaurant in the evening. The lunch menu is just a shortened evening menu so after a day you need to walk into town for variety. Excellent position in the nicer end of town - literally 2 minutes walk from the station. Impressive - incredible - spectacular views of the Eiger. We left early not because of the hotel but the weather was miserable. Rain continual and you need summer “ski” kit rather than the shorts & t shorts we packed. Our own fault. Recommend you take or hire e bikes. The activities behind the hotel on first - accessed from the other end of the village. Overall highly recommend.

Room tip: It is the mountains so even in summer you need waterproofs and summer ski kit.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JaneST123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, Guest Services / Front Office at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your great review. Please visit us again in Grindelwald.

Kind regards

Your Schweizerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2021

The food was delicious and we were really were full after the 4 courses for dinner. The Breakfast was great too - the capucchino was the best!
The rooms were tidy and clean. We had a stunning view from our balcony! It was really beautiful just to sit there and watch everything.
It is a good location for several smaller or bigger trips/hikes.
There was a supermarket close & a few small shops.
The parking in the garage was a bit tight and all spaces were occupied incl. us.
We were there with our dog. They had prepared 2 bowls and were friendly. He enjoyed it as well. In the main restaurants dogs are not allowed.
The spa and private spa were relaxing and very calming. Bathrobes and slippers are available in the room.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 400free4style
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, Guest Services / Front Office at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your great review. Please visit us again in Grindelwald.

Kind regards

Your Schweizerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

I booked the weekend package with the helicopter flight included. Therefore, my review will be based on this package.

Briefly to the hotel, I can only repeat what the rest has already said. It is a really beautiful and cute traditional hotel. Also, I would say it's worth it to pay a bit more and have the room with a view, it is really spectacular. Just a very small point, which I find a bit dissapointing for a 5 star hotel, they have only one type of pillows, so if you are someone that likes rather thick pillows and not soft one where you have the feeling you actually don't have a pillow, you better take yours with you. We both did not sleep so welll and woke up with neckpain as the pillows are very very soft and the receptionist could not provide us with a different type.

Concerning the helicopter package, unfortunately, I felt a bit cheated by the hotel, as they have sent me an offer by email, which in general had the same points included as the offer which was advertised online. However, several points were not offered the way it was advertised:
There was a 6 course dinner included in the restaurant "Schmitte" and a 4 course dinner (half-board), in the standard restaurant. However, we had both dinners at the exact same table in the breakfastroom. This was a bit dissapointing, as we saw only on the second evening the nice "Schmitte" restaurant and I would've loved to first have a bit of diversity for our dinners and moreover to have the beautiful ambiente of the restaurant "Schmitte" for the 6 course "candelight" dinner as in the end I reserved this package for my husband as a birthday surprise gift. In the end we ended up on the same table for all dinners and breakfasts...

Second, on the hotel website, it was clearly indicated that the helicopter ride was with a stop on the mountain including an aperitiv. Once we arrived on the mountain the pilot told us that the hotel has not provided him with any aperitiv. When I mentioned that to the hotel staff upon our return, they first referred me to the offer they have sent me via email, that this was not specified there, which made me very upset as it was clearly indicated on the website of the hotel for this specific offer. Once we clarified that, the hotel was so kind to offer us an aperitiv on the hotel terrace (which of course is not the same as on topf of a glacier, as I have planned it) but we appreciated the gesture.

Therefore, if you book this package, be sure first to read the offer the hotel is sending you via email, as they are omitting to include some details, which are clearly indicated on the offer advertised on their hotel website. Small "details" which I was very much looking forward to surprise my husband with...

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

We went for the weekend not sure what to expect. There were so many negative reviews on TripAdvisor. When we arrived I was told we would not be staying at the old, historic and fairytale like part of the hotel but instead we would be accommodated in one of the hotels adjacent chalets. I was unhappy but in the end it turned out the rooms in the chalets are better options if you are looking for things like modern bathrooms and nice large terraces. The room was decent size, the bathroom was huge, the terrace was enormous. Everything was clean and comfortable. The service throughout the hotel is super, the food is simple but delicious. At the price there is nothing to complain about, perfect service, perfect place. The location is amazing. All the possible alpine attractions can be reached on foot, you can forget about your car and truly relax. It was actually the best weekend away we have had this year. Both the hotel and the location are definitely worth recommending.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pavel_from_poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, Guest Services / Front Office at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your positive evaluation. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us to the full. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Your Schweizerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

We had a magical, relaxing and fun long weekend at the super-friendly Schweizerhof. The food was absolutely terrific, we were very happy with our room - which had a marvelous view - and the staff was extremely friendly, thoughtful and caring.
Our two very hungry teenaged boys were grateful for the full extra bread baskets the staff kept bringing and the kind words letting them know that it was ok to ask for more. The breakfast was terrific - varied, fresh, lots of nice fruit, eggs and pancakes made to order. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice, light and airy - in a pretty, Alpine style.
The hotel is in a super-quiet location, yet just a short walk from town. When we walked down the mountain, we were able to go right to the hotel via a direct path down. The garage was very practical to get our luggage in and out easily and quickly. In short - everything was terrific. The one thing I would mention is that the pool is fairly small, there is no water to drink down in the spa area ... and because of COVID I was never able to get a spot in the sauna. For people who are really into a nice spa experience, this may not be the best place.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CBV_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, Guest Services / Front Office at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice and pleasant time with us. We have now been allowed to repeal the covid rules in the SPA, so that water and fruit can now be offered again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best regards from Grindelwald

Your Schweizerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews