We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! (And the VIEWS!!)”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
OGBLaw
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! (And the VIEWS!!)”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in May 2012

If you are reading the review, I assume you have already reviewed the pictures of the vacation owner's website. The pictures give this place NO JUSTICE. These apartments are immensely more breathtaking--no, jaw-dropping--in person, primarily because of the views.

Ofcourse, the apartment (Apartment B) was clean, spacious, decorated with modern comfortable decor. The owners have thought of everything imaginable that you may want/need for a perfect, comfy vacation.

But the views! Wow! I cannot say enough about the views. The apartments sit high above the town of Engelburg nestled in the Swiss Alps. The floor to ceiling doors from every single room provide an uninterrupted, heavenly view of the entire Engelburg town and the Swiss Alps.

I hope to visit Switzerland again soon for no reason other than to stay in John and Ursela's wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mylifemyg...
south hadley
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING! Would come back again to this piece of paradise”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our family of four stayed in apartment B for one week in May 2013. The pictures did not do the experience of the view or the cleanliness and ease of the apartment justice. The simplicity and design of this apartment was a perfect getaway to escape to after a long day of travelling throughout Switzerland. The beds were super comfortable, the kitchen well equipped with everything needed for preparing dinner or simply having a wonderful fondue and a bottle of wine. The bells from the monastery were beautiful and added to the ambiance and the beauty of this paradise. Although the weather was not cooperating the week we were there we still enjoyed our stay immensely and the view from the apartment of the village below was breathtaking with a light snowfall. Candy was wonderful assisting us with suggestions and ideas for travelling and the train depot was close by and the train was our mode of transportation during the week. The people living in the village of Engelberg could not have been nicer and made us feel welcomed into their small community of 4,000. We would absolutely rent this beautiful apartment again from John and Ursula. They were really great to work with to make this rental happen and communicated quickly and openly. Thank you both for sharing your beautiful home with our very lucky family of four!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything - the view, amenities, ease of living, comfort of beds/bedding, privacy
Liked least: the drive up to the house was a little hairy at first but eventually got used to it. :-)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd D
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great way to end a vacation!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at two other aparments during our trip to Europe and Alphaven was, by far, the best overall. It was very relaxing and clean with beautiful views day and night. We would love to come back in the future to hike some more trails!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, cleanliness and hospitality of hosts
Liked least: One bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derivera
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed in Apartment B and were amazed with the view from the panorama windows overlooking the mountains and valley of Engelberg... The hosts were very friendly and did everything possible to make us enjoy our stay. The flat had everything we needed and there was also a shared sauna in the house for the guests to use. The house is a 3 min walk from the bus stop from which you can go to the Titlis main lift in under 10 minutes.
We would definitely recommend Alphaven to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view!
Liked least: all was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charmantr...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous Memories”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in September 2011

Whilst it was some time ago now, the fact that my family & I still talk about our week in Engelberg staying at Alphaven says it all. My sons thought it was the highlight of our month holiday through Switzerland, Italy & England! We had lovely days of hiking - you definitely have to get hold of the Trotti Bikes!!! Great fun even for slow mums! During the week we had some fantastic weather followed but snow followed by fantastic weather - you couldn't ask for more. It was heavenly watching the complete change in the seasons from our balcony with a glass of wine listening to the cow bells. During the bad weather day we went to the indoor sports centre & swam at the pool at the nearby hotel. The apartment was so comfortable & the DVD's were welcomed by the boys. We cooked some nights & enjoyed the fondue restaurant recommended by John in town a couple of times. John was sooo helpful in the leadup to our visit offering suggestions & answering all my queries. We had a car so getting supplies back to the apartment was never a problem, also driving to the various stations for the lifts/cable-cars. Definitely wouldn't hesitate recommending this wonderful apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing