We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Swiss covid QR code is required

CERN was the only place we visited that required the Swiss QR code. You can apply online by... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
978timd
,
Denver, Colorado
Nothing beats science!

We visited during covid/ Aug 2021. Not everything was open but nevertheless a tour that we manage... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
GoPlaces06815803121
Read all 1,547 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Geneva
from US$120.66
More Info
from US$109.58
More Info
from US$97.41
More Info
Geneva City Tour
169 Reviews
from US$60.88
More Info
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveller rating
980
397
115
41
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
980
397
115
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews particle physics guided tour days in advance world wide web big bang waiting list hadron collider science geek cutting edge interactive displays scientists lhc universe particles globe physical experiment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Sadly the actual collider tour was fully booked (check before travelling!) so we could only explore the visitor centre but even that was interesting. My personal highlight was the interactive cloud chamber which allowed you to produce photons, muons and alpha particles in real time and view the effects.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Matthew_Bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

we combined this with a short trip to chamonix and the town of geneva. we had a guided tour in a small group. our guide was a scientist working on one of the large hadron collider experiments. you get the chance to see lhc's controll room, a retired accelerator, two exhibitions and get tons of information. our guide was also open for our questions and answered every detail in depth. cern is very easy to reach by means of public transport. when the accelerator is down for maintenance, you might even get the chance to visit the accelerator tunnel an one of the large experiment (alice, atlas, cms and lhcb). i recommend this to everyone who has even only a tiny interest in particle physics or the origin of the universe.

Date of experience: October 2018
3  Thank thpropst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Tried for weeks to get tickets (free) and managed to get 2 the day before. Train stop right ouside which is a bonus. We had a 2 hour tour which was...interesting but totally over my head. It was basically 3 presentations with a lot of Q&A and we saw the original particle machine.
I was glad I went and did learn some interesting stuff so I would recommend it if you are interested in that kind of thing.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank shaerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Great tour. Very informative.
We Opted for a guided tour which is free. You got to book for it though. We did book online on their website. There are options to call and book i believe.
The tour is for around 2hrs.
After and before tour you can basically go around allowed spots and read for yourself and get selfies.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank robcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

If you go to Geneva plan your visit there. It is a must see place of interest. A huge scientific centre of technological progress and a glimpse to the future. They provide very interesting information even for tourists like us who are not relevant to physics. They answer to all your questions. The tour is being held by professors, so it is like taking a class in what they do there. It is a unique experience and I highly recommend it. Do not take food with you or luggages. Just a small backpack or a woman's purse are permitted.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank sandymc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews