We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner ever (so far)?”

Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl
Ranked #1 of 770 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and dinner at Cheval Blanc. An intimate venue with just 10 tables, it would be wise to book well in advance.
The experience is likely the best ever. A pre fixe menu with 8 courses each perfectly prepared and presented. We chose a wine pairing of all Swiss wines and the sommelier did it perfectly. The courses we're a flavor explosion in small bites. My wife and I totally enjoyed the evening. A true *** experience, we equate it with The Herb Farm in Woodinville, WA., but we're in Switzerland!
Wunderbar!

1  Thank jhase6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing our 3* Michelin awarded Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl and for taking the time of reviewing your experience. Your feedback is very important for us and highly appreciated as we continuously strive to meet guest’s needs and expectations

It is a great pleasure to read that we entirely met your expectations with our service and culinary staff’s high attention to detail, their outstanding service and especially Chef Peter Knogl’s creativity in providing you with a symphony of aromas, colors and harmonious tastes.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and the Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl very soon. In the meantime, we are sending you our very best regards.


Yours sincerely

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Impressive. Really top of its class for execution of each dishes. Flavours were well balance too. Really good service team. Needless to say more when things were just excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KwinAun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

wonderfull location. the service impecable. we arrived a bit late with no reservation, but there was no problem. it was a great meal , excelent bread, the wine list was very good. we all enjoyed very much.

Thank paulus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Paulus

Thank you very much for your lovely words regarding your visit at our fine dining restaurant Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl.

We are delighted to receive such a great compliment about our location on the banks of the Rhine river, our outstanding service provided, as well as the harmony between the different menus and the selected wines. We feel honoured to learn that you enjoyed your culinary experience of Chef Knogl’s inventiveness and hope that you have had a memorable dining highlight.

Rest assured that we will share your positive remarks with our culinary team as it will be the best motivation to convince you again during your next visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and the Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl we remain with our best wishes from Basel.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

It simply exceeded our high expectations. If you want to have an amazing dinner, this is for you. The food was exquisite and the lobster was the best we’ve ever had – it was to die for. The service was very thoughtful, the ambiance charming, the wine excellent, and I could go on... This restaurant does everything right.

This is a truly exceptional establishment with clearly well deserved Michelin stars!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joëlle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Joëlle

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback with regards to your recent experience at our 3* Michelin restaurant Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl.

It is a great pleasure to read that we entirely met and even exceeded your expectations thanks to our thoughtful service and culinary staff’s high attention to detail surrounded by our classic but charming ambiance.

We hope that Chef Peter Knogl’s creativity in providing you with a symphony of aromas, colors and harmonious tastes ingeniously prepared from the best nature has to offer will be a long lasting memory for you.

Rest assured that we pass on your motivational words to our team and look forward to making your next visit at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois just as special.

Best regards

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Nothing much to say everything is EXCELLENT , the combination of each ingredient from appearance, aroma, taste and texture was excellent. Velvety look to round and smooth mouth feel touched my heart. Every single detail in each dish show Chef Peter’s passion to delivering best each and every ingredient.
Service is on the top notch, very attentive, pleasant and always helpful. Last but not least, Thank you so much for delivering a wonderful dining experience

Thank Ni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Ni W

We would like to thank you for choosing our 3* Michelin stars rated Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl and for taking the time of reviewing your experience. Your feedback is very important for us and highly appreciated as we continuously strive to meet guest’s needs and expectations

It is a delight to read that with our cuisine, service and ambience we could create a dining highlight and that this experience will be a long lasting memory for you.

Rest assured that we pass on your motivational words to our chef Peter Knogl and his culinary team and look forward to making your next visit at the restaurant just as special.

In the meantime, we remain with kindest regards from the Rhine river and wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing