We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveller rating
1,181
494
48
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,181
494
48
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town city gate great hotel room was spacious river cruise small bar the bus recommend this hotel public transport hotel is located street noise the hotel staff excellent location coffee machine booked this hotel top floor great room
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed only one night in our way from Italy to Belgium by car and it was an excellent option. The check-in was very easy, and the lady at the counter was extremely kind and helpful. We were able to leave our car right at the entrance which was very convenient. The location of the hotal also allowed us for a nice 10 min walk to the city center. Very good choice for a nice hotel in Basel!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank belen346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Spalentor for your stay in lovely Basel and your review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you were satisfied and enjoyed the service of our staff, parking in front of the hotel as well as the location.
We look very much forward to your next visit and wish you a wonderful week.
With warm regards,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Superb hotel in all respects...Amanda welcomed us and made us feel truly valued, the room was spotless, hardwood floors, complimentary robe and slippers, good internet connectivity, the bed was very comfortable (after two days of travel we slept for 10 hours!), the included breakfast was phenomenal---huge variety of breads, juices, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, along with eggs and the wait staff extremely cordial, the two young ladies tasked with cleaning our room were very friendly and again made us feel important and welcome, great central location not far from the center of the old city, #30 bus stops across the street from the hotel, not far from the place where we will meet our river boat, excellent bus service in town, lots of choices on the television, a bit of a step up into the tub/shower---exercise caution, single sink vanity in bathroom. We could live here!!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room (#308) nicely furnished at the end of the hall, very quiet. Nice air conditioning in mid-80's conditions outside.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boomer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your fantastic and detailed review on tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to read it!
Awesome that you were totally satisfied with our Hotel Spalentor, service of our staff as well as your room and the breakfast.
We hope you enjoyed your river cruise, wish you all the best and look very much forward to your next visit in lovely Basel.
With best wishes,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Really good location next to the entrance to the old town but out if the busy streets
Really lovely friendly staff and nothing too much trouble
Great modern rooms with multi language TV channels and lots of added amenities
Highly recommended and will stay again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank garyaA7888SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your fantastic review on tripadvisor as well as the recommendation of our Hotel Spalentor.
Awesome that you were satisfied with the location, service of our staff as well as your room.
We wish you all the best and look very much forward to welcome you again.
With best wishes from Basel,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

It could be three perfect nights but the noise of the road -the room was facing Missionstrasse- and the Spalentor bells were a problem. It was hot and the windows should be closed.
Good breakfast, very kind personnel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank plazam2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your review on tripadvisor.
Awesome that you were satisfied with the breakfast and the service of our staff.
Perhaps the air condition will help for a future stay to close the windows and have a nice and quiet sleep.
We wish you all the best and look very much forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located right across from the Spalentor and multiple tram stops. The hotel is spotless with outstanding customer service. The hotel provides free transportation passes and access codes for city-wide wifi available at multiple hot spots. The room was very comfortable, and the breakfast presented an excellent range of fruits, breads, cheeses and other items. The university botanical garden is next door and the old city is steps away. Highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank um1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Sarah,
than you very much for your stay and your amazing review on tripadvisor.
Awesome that you were totally satisfied and enjoyed your time in Basel so much.
We wish you all the best and look very much forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews