We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
742
336
49
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
336
49
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location river cruise market square pedestrian area mini bar little touches central location restaurants and shops short walk excellent hotel lovely room staff was very friendly and helpful junior suite single room public transportation would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Good reliable WIFI. Comfortable room with good amenities such as fridge and complimentary selection of beverage. Perfect touch , an umbrella is provided for your personal use during your stay . No need to bring one
A nice Hotel for a nice experience

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank treenreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear treenreen
Thank you so much for your nice review.
We really do appreciate that.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed one night at end of a weeks holiday further south in Switzerland, as we had an early morning flight to catch at Basel Airport. Position of Hotel excellent for visiting old town area of Basel on foot. We had a hired car which required to be returned to Airport. Don't be put off by fact hotel is in a pedestrianised area - you are allowed to drive car right up to hotel to unload. The hotel issues you with a free transport pass for buses and trams. After checking in, we took our car back to airport (only 10 minutes drive) and used the free pass to get back to hotel (Number 50 - 15 minutes to Rail Station, then 2 stops on another bus to hotel) - so much more relaxing than rushing to return car early morning - used free transport pass again in morning to airport.
Reception Staff were very welcoming, and helpful with advice on places to visit, and welcoming drink in bar was a nice touch. Rooms were very clean and reasonable size for city hotel. After exploring city we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant at night. Menu was very varied with plenty choice and high standard, helped by friendly staff. Only one small problem - We planned to pay for our meal separately from our hotel bill, however, the Credit Card Machine in the restaurant, would not let us pay in Local Currency and switched to my Home Currency (you should get a choice - in instances like this exchange rates applied are always poor). Restaurant Staff could not do anything about this. We therefore decided to add the restaurant bill to our room, and in the morning when checking out, at reception we were able to pay by same credit card in Local Currency, and on reflection saved about 5CHF by doing this - Just a small point to be careful about.
Overall would thoroughly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al-Mags-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Al-Mags-22
Thank you so much for your detailed comments. That will help us and future guests a lot.
Best regards
Your HOtel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The Hotel Basel is always a consistent experience. Nice staff, the rooms are clean and nicely appointed, albeit small. Breakfast area is a very nice experience. It is in a great location for public transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchthefever22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear catchthefever22
Thank you for your nice review. We really do appreciate that.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

What can i say , awesome staff . very welcoming and helpful where possible. the location couldn't t be better .
as a non tourist the touches of home (uk) are great ie nice selection of English tv in room availability.
the only downside is its on a noisy street and the AC doesn't always do what it says so with the windows open can be woken by delivery trucks .
But dont be put off ,id recommend to all .

enjoy your stay .

STAFF: love you guys keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 360kuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear 360kuppy
Thank you so much for your nice comment. We like!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

I would easily recommend this hotel, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. It was easy to get to on the tram from the train station and was centrally located in the old town for ease of access to all the sites either by foot or on the excellent tram system. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all seemed to speak English. The room was excellent with everything we needed, including a free mini bar. The breakfast was excellent as well and we also dined in the restaurant which we also thought was very good. One other useful touch was that the hotel gave us a free public transport voucher which meant we had free use of the trams (Market platz hub very close) and also the bus to the airport. Stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear 184gary2
Thank you so much for your frindly review. We really do appreciate that.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews