We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate apartment providing a perfect base...”
other travellers have booked this property
The building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The building
The hallway The bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The building
The hallway
The bedroom
King size bed
The living room
The sofa bed
The kitchen
The dish washer (left)
Selection of coffee-makers
The toilette
The washing machine
The garden
Garden: the dining corner
The herbs
San Peter Church: view from te garden
Piazza IV Novembre: 15 mins on foot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Christine...
New Radnor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Immaculate apartment providing a perfect base from which to explore Perugia.”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Grandma Jenny's apartment is within walking distance of the bus station, the narrow gauge railway at Sant'Anna and the historic city centre. You can catch a bus down to the main railway station at Fontevegge and from there pick up the Minimetro which is worth going on just to admire this wonderful feat of engineering. The cabins will transport you from the suburbs right up to Pincetto where you will get a stunning view across towards Assisi and Spoleto and then a fun-ride up three scala mobile that take you right up to P. Matteotti. Don't forget to get out at Cortoneso and cross the road to Caseificio Ferreti for ice-cream.
The apartment is comfortable and spotlessly clean with a generously stocked larder including wine, oil, eggs, bread, biscuits, jam, coffee, salt, sugar and a selection of herbs. There is also a great collection of cds. Andrea, the owner, is there to help in any way he can. We cannot wait to return to this beautiful apartment in the glorious city of Perugia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being without a car for a week in one of the most beautiful of Italian cities.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2014
Christine and Terry -- thank you so much for staying at Grandma Jenny, I am happy you liked it and enjoyed our town! You'll always be welcome in the future -- Andrea and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itsallgoo...
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfection in Perugia!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We just returned from almost a month in Italy, 3 nights of which were spent in incredibly beautiful Perugia at the Grandma Jenny Apartment. The Umbria Jazz Festival began the day we arrived (I can't say enough about how amazing it was -- but that's another review!). The apartment owner, our host, Andrea, picked the 4 of us up at the train station and whisked us to this wonderful, immaculately clean, apartment. We were so pleased to find it even brighter and better than the posted photos! We were even greeted with a delicious, complimentary bottle of local red wine! Andrea is personable and professional in every way, and could not have been any more helpful or accommodating -- from my first inquiry about availability, to the morning he dropped us back at the train station. The apartment itself is a jewel, with a beautiful, private garden where we spent considerable time. We were 4 adults staying here, and we never felt cramped or crowded, were provided all of the items and amenities we could have needed (I had specifically inquired about the apartment's coffeemaker as we are all big coffee drinkers, so he purchased/provided an american-size, 10-cup coffeemaker for us to use!), had ample hot water for showers, etc. The location of the apartment was away from the old city center, but virtually around the corner from the amazing system of escalators that take you directly up to the old city center. It could hardly have been any easier or more convenient. The apartment is a few minutes walk, all uphill, from a lovely grocery store -- but once you have your groceries, it's downhill all the way back to the apartment! We found our entire experience in Perugia -- and especially Andrea and the Grandma Jenny Apartment -- altogether perfect! Thank you so much for everything, Andrea!! Highly, highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The host's kindness, and the perfect cleanliness of the apartment.
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Dear Susan -- thank you so much for your words: I am very happy that you had good time here. Perugia becomes a completely different town during the Umbria Jazz festival: very lively, crowded, full of music and exciting. And the Grandma Jenny apt is really 'inside the events'! Please, give my greetings to your friends; I do hope to see you all here again in the near future! All the best -- Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboydpt
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the comforts of home close to the center of Perugia.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a very comfortable place to stay in the lovely town of Perugia. Andrea, the owner, picked us up at the train station and made sure that we had everything that we needed. The kitchen was even stocked with coffee, tea, eggs, cereal, milk, crackers, cookies and fresh fruit! The apartment is very quiet as it is not right in the center of town, but there is a short walk with escalators to get to the center. It is obvious that Andrea takes great pride in this apartment and truly wants people to be happy and comfortable there. We really enjoyed our stay here in Perugia and wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Andrea went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed, including food.
Liked least: It was a bit of a walk to the center, but the escalators helped.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Dear Marian and Walter, thank you very much for your kind review. Yes, I love Perugia and I love this apartment, as I was born here and lived at Grandma Jenny for a long time! I am delighted when my guests feel at home and hope that this was your case! Hope to meet you again in the future. Regards Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25GHUk
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful apartment in Perugia.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a delightful apartment with lots of space for two people and a private garden for siesta time. We stayed eleven nights and loved every minute.

Andrea met us at the airport and welcomed us to his home city. His love of Perugia was soon shared by us.

Perugia is a delightful and unusual city full of lovely places to eat. The first of five escalators starts nearby the apartment, and it takes only ten minutes from the apartment to the main square. Assisi, Lake Trasimeno, and Gubbio are all accessible via bus from the bus station which is only five minutes walk from the apartment..

There was no need to rush to the shops as all the essentials, and more, were there. The single rose on the dining table added the final touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We were made to feel at home in Perugia
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2013
Dear Gordon,
thank you very much for your review. It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our town and surroundings. I hope you'll consider coming back at some stage! All the best. Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eberen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place - clean and convenient, too!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My two grown children and I spent only two nights in the apartment but we would have stayed longer if we could. Alessandro met us, showed us this sweet apartment, and then helped us find free parking and made excellent recommendations on where to eat, etc. Since he and his family live in the building, he even invited us to visit if we wanted.

The apartment kitchen was well equipped with all the staples one would need plus coffee, milk, pasta, eggs, etc. The pull out bed in the living room was comfortable and easy enough to handle. The main bedroom was attractive and comfortable. The bathroom was perfectly adequate and more,considering the view of the town from the shower!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a good home base and so convenient to the center by walking or escalators. We love Perugia!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Dear Ellen,
thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed our lovely hometown. All the best
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing