We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
190
224
107
41
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
224
107
41
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroadway travelcookery lessongreat fungnocchicar hiredining roomcooking classbeautiful townnights half boardwine tastingrecommend this hotelhotel receptionhotel is spotlessly cleanbars of soapitalian cookeryminute strollcakes and pastries
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Stayed for 7 nights early May with a Broadway deal from Perugia with hire car and half board. We arrived on a Tuesday which coincided with rainy weather and a Saints festival in Gubbio (well worth seeing and on TV too) which meant the hotel was full. We were welcomed and given a ground floor room (a bit gloomy) but reception promised a move next day, Asked for a kettle and cups as arranged and were offered our complimentary bottle of fizz, The staff were amazing particularly Andrea, and Tiziana (the manager) remembered us from a previous stay at Monti Castello de Vibio 2 years earlier. She also promised us a better room the next day. Dinners were very good Italian rustic fare. Wine - house wine was ok and reasonably priced. After a short walk into Gubbio on our 2nd day we returned to find the staff had moved all our belongings to a lovely room with a view of Gubbio on top floor, with everything back in place. (Excellent service). Rooms were tired, but comfortable beds and enough storage space good lighting etc. There was some noise from a funfair until about midnight on 4 or 5 nights but it did not detract from our holiday. On sunny days we ended our daily travels with a beer sitting outside the hotel. Plenty of car parking available. Definitely needs a refurb but as a base for travel a good value holiday and only 10 mins stroll into Gubbio,

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with a view of Gubbio. Can be warm though in rooms A/C not on early May.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Booked with Broadway travel, we flew into Pisa then had a car rental for the 3.5 hour drive. Not the best start.
The trip included a free glass of fizz(could not drink it) a cookery lesson which was good fun and a wine tasting which turned out to be a local produce tasting with a glass of wine.
Food in the hotel was good, breakfast above average. We stayed on a half board basis, the pick three from four evening meals were simple dishes, cooked really well.
The house red wine was dreadful, the bottle red alternative was also sent back and we ended up drinking beer with dinner. The house white wine was bearable depending on your palate.
The rooms are poor which when we checked the price afterwards is reflected in this.
We were first offered a twin bed room with a view of the bins which smelled of heavy smoking.
When asked to move the reception was reluctant to help.
This was the exception as the staff were really helpful otherwise.
We moved to another room which again was ‘tired’ to be kind.
I would guess the four stars above the hotel sign were awarded a long time ago.
Definitely not as we expected mainly due to using Broadway Travel. There are reasons why this is the cheapest hotel in Gubbio.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mdayelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very well located within walking distance of Gubbio, which is a lovely town and well worth a visit if you are in the area.
The hotel is medium sized and probably due for a refurbishment but we couldn’t fault the place really. The staff were really friendly and so helpful, always willing to help out. The rooms have the basics and are clean and tidy. We had a package with dinner and the food was good although relatively simple with a reasonable house red available with it. We enjoyed our trip and would recommend this place for a short break

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dianne364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We spent five nights here and were sorry to leave. The reception staff were wonderfully helpful and the waiters in the restaurant really looked after us, quickly learning our tastes and preferences. We looked forward to the evening meal after a day’s sightseeing and the food was varied and well prepared. The room was fine with a good view of the hills around Gubbio, which is an interesting town with lots of history to it and easy to explore on foot. One of the highlights of our stay was a cookery lesson. We would certainly like to go back!

Room Tip: Top floor for views
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 33Maurice29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Our room was a good size, the bed was enormous - and very comfortable! There were two chairs, and ample storage space. I am always pleased when I find not only hooks in the bedroom but also a good mirror - often I have to wait to use the one in the bathroom!
The shower was simple to use and very effective. The Wi-Fi worked well in our bedroom - though not so well downstairs.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - especially Gianluca and Daniela on reception and Massimo and Antonio in the dining room. I would have preferred more variety for breakfast - scrambled egg and sausage EVERY day! Also more variety for the fruit - perhaps tinned grapefruit? The cookery class was great fun! It would have been good to have a proper lounge rather than just a few seats in Reception. Thank you, we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: The noise probem was because the hotel was close to a football ground!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews