We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
66
20
16
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
20
16
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

In a monastery on over 2 hectares that dates from 1314, this elegant, rural hotel is 2.7 km from the Duomo di Siena cathedral and 4.2 km from Siena train station.

One of the most spectacular properties you can stay at. Amazing level of detail from the property as well as from the staff. I especially loved how everything was well kept, but still felt authentic. It is close to town (less than a 10 minute drive to the Porta Romana), this is definitely the place to be!
The bed and bathroom very small.
Breakfast is very good!

Room tip: garden view
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Claudia G, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Madame ,
you are very kind and we are all very happy we had the pleasure to welcome you at the Certosa di Maggiano; many thanks for your kind words, we hope your stay has been the first of many!
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon, Kindest regards from all of us!

Anna Claudia Grossi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

recommended by friends. I'm staying at this hotel right now. very quiet. beautiful place. people are nice and lovely. just that they don't have access to wifi in rooms. will join friends in siena tomorrow to look around the town.

Date of stay: May 2016
Thank Kubert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Claudia G, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for dedicating to the Certosa di Maggiano your nice words and sharing your experience with the broad audience of Tripadvisor.
Wishing you an enjoyable stay please accept my best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

During this trip to Italy we stayed at 8 hotels and only this one made us upset.
OK this hotel is surrounded by some farmland/garden so you have better view compared with hotels in the center of towns. The staff is polite, like other hotels. But this is the end of good things.
First we couldn't find slippers in our room (well they forgot).
To make the room look gracious, a potted flower was put in the room. Yet they didn't bother to remove the withered leaves. The flowers look miserable.
There is no scrambled egg for breakfast. Come on... We paid 300 US dollars for one night!
I guess this property cannot generate sufficient cash flow, therefore under-staffed. So it is not well-maintained.
We definitely don't feel comfortable staying in this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank z4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Claudia G, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review as we always look forward improving our service and your feedback is very important to us. We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and very surprised you felt the CERTOSA DI MAGGIANO as a very tacky place, being the feeling of our Guests, usually the exact opposite. In fact the hotel is world known because of its understatement from the rooms to the service which is professional but friendly.
I confirm that we don’t put scrambled eggs on the buffet for obvious reasons of hygiene and quality.
Our prices are determined by the complexity of the structure which dates back to the fourteenth century.
We really would love you to come back to visit us in order to feel our genuine sense of hospitality and eventually change your opinion and become a fan of the CERTOSA DI MAGGIANO !
Best regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our 10-day Italy trip. The hotel is wonderful. It is so comfortable. My husband and I loved sitting in the common rooms on the main floor which are exquisitely decorated. The staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome. Every need was met. We had dinner there and it was delicious. The breakfast buffet the next morning had many choices. It, too, was excellent. I hope I have an opportunity to return and enjoy this wonderful hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TravelMom0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Thank you for the review about the Certosa di Maggiano ! We appreciate taking a bit of time to write us your feelings! We try to fully satisfy each single guest by making their stay unique and personalized.
We look forward to have the chanche to welcome you back at the Certosa di Maggiano soon!
Warm regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

The rooms are small and expensive, the internet only works in the small lounge. You have to use the stairs no elevator available and we were on the top floor. The staff was polite but clearly there to only do their job and they don't accommodate requests. There isn't a view from the pool or lounge even though they said there was. At one third the price I would say it's adequate but certainly not at the price they request....
They do have breakfast included but don ask for an egg they are 15 Euros additional

Room tip: Only wifi is in the small lounge area
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfretz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear Guest,
I do not think you've ever stayed with us.
You say "the internet only works in the small lounge".
What do you mean with "small lounge" the 800 square meters of common areas available for our Guests and with free wi-fi access ?!
"There isn't a view from the pool or lounge even though they said there was".Sorry , the view from the pool is just on the three-hectare garden and from the lounge is just on a cloister of the fourteenth century.
We don't have any extra breakfast at the cost of Euro 15,00.
There are two possibilities: either you've never stayed with us or someone has commissioned this review and I'm pretty sure I know who it is.
With my best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews