We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
784
28
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
28
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog runa owners mario and elisabetta wonderful hosts our honeymoon every morning tuscan countryside minute drive infinity pool helped us plan rolling hills restaurant reservations overlooking siena explore tuscany highlight of our trip grazie mille bed and breakfast cakes
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful visit to this serene picturesque Tuscan countryside inn. Great helpful staff - and dog to befriend. If you'd like a nice quiet place about 10 minutes out of Siena you'll love this inn and spa. Thx Mario and Elisibetta! We highly recommend the memorable Ais Mattonata Relais.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maxwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Aia Mattonata and it’s so wonderful to hear that you appreciated the view, the staff and our "princess" Runa!!
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit in Siena.
Kind regards,
Mario, Elisabetta & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My husband and I stayed here after being on a group tour for a week and it was absolutely perfectly relaxing! The views were stunning and the entire place was beautiful. The owners were such a delight and were so incredibly helpful. They suggested and arranged for us to take a private tour of the Brunello wine region and it was amazing. They also suggested and made dinner reservations for us. All our meals were fabulous including the breakfast which is included with your stay. The room and bathroom were large, bed was comfortable and there were extra touches throughout our stay. We can not wait to go back and stay with them again. They feel like long-time friends. Mario even gave us a Tuscan cookbook when we were leaving. We miss them! I would recommend not passing up the opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor and didn't have to bring our luggage up the stairs which was nice.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Christy,
thank you for taking time to post your lovely feedback and we are really grateful for these wonderful words. It’s our great pleasure to take care of you, our guests 'comfort is our priority and we would like that every guest goes away with the feeling that he wants to return one day...so, we are waiting you!!
Warm regards,
Mario, Elisabetta & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

It's really difficult to find fault with the Aia Mattonata Relais. It's a small, intimate hotel just a short taxi ride from Siena (15 euros) - so you really get the best of both worlds. It's situated with stunning views and has been renovated to the highest standard with real attention to detail to give its' guest the best experience possible. It has really large bedrooms and ensuite, swimming pool and complimentary drinks and cakes from 2pm. But what truly sets it apart is the friendliness and energy of the owners Elisabetta and Mario (and sara) who are SO friendly and keen to help and advise - it really is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesQ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Dear James,
what a wonderful feedback!! Thank you so much for these beautiful words about Aia Mattonata and about us.
Our goal is to give our guest the best experience possible, so you could remember Siena and Aia Mattonata forever!!
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Warm regards,
Mario, Elisabetta & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Aia Mattonata whilst visiting Tuscany and could not recommend it more highly. The hotel is beautiful with incredible views of the countryside and Siena. There are so many personal touches which made it both incredibly relaxing but also homely. Mario and Elisabetta are brilliant hosts and very helpful with advice and suggestions. I could not recommend this place higher.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Dear Gemma,
thank you for your wonderful feedback and thank you for recommending Aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the view and our suggestions; and for us it's important that you liked our personal touches!
Kind regards,
Mario, Elisabetta & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Aia Mattonata for three nights for some rest and relaxation while mountain biking through Tuscany. Only one mistake - we should've booked a longer stay. Mario and Elizabetta will take your Tuscany experience to another level. Too many wonderful personal touches to mention. Tranquility with oodles of personality. Just Perfect!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Traceycroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Tracey,
thank you for your wonderful words!!
We are happy that you enjoyed the tranquility of Aia Mattonata. For us it was a pleasure taking care of guests so nice like you!!
So..we are waiting for a longer stay!
Warm regards,
Mario, Elisabetta & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews