We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent is an over-used word - but not in this...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa del Giardino

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NickyJ129...
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent is an over-used word - but not in this instance.”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a delightful apartment. It is well-equipped, well though out and sufficient for all your needs. The garden ( and tortoise) make it special too.
The hosts are welcoming and informative. Thanks so much for meeting us in Poggibonsi and then showing us where the supermarket was, telling us about the local Thursday market and giving us suggestions for restaurants. We had a lovely week exploring the streets and alleys of the village - especially in the early morning when it was cool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Cara Niky
Grazie! Per avere attribuito la qualifica di Eccellente, alla nostra casa, questo vale più di qualsiasi pubblicità. Cordiali saluti Mario e Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan V
1 review
“Beautiful appartment”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I stayed almost two weeks in this apartment and loved every day of it. It is in a great location in town. Relax in the beautiful back yard or walk to the main piazza in a couple minutes. Mario and his family are wonderful and helpful people. Stay here!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Per me e la mia famiglia è motivo di grande felicità, avervi fatto vivere una meravigliosa vacanza nella nostra casa.
Grazie di tutto!!! Mario Donella e Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenIan1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the heart of San Gimignano”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in many properties advertised on Trip Advisor, but none as beautiful as this delightful house. The owner, Mario, met us on arrival, with his daughter Christina, who has excellent English. They could not have been more helpful. The house is clearly Mario's pride and joy and so it should be. The house is quirky, with its arches and the additional cool underground rooms. Mario has thoughtfully added extras such as wine, cakes, maps and a lovely set of books about Tuscan art. The well finished bathroom came with toiletries and the kitchen is well equipped. The garden is gorgeous - a riot of colour and a lovely place to sit out, with both sun traps and shade. Sadly we were visiting too early in the year to meet the resident tortoise. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden is a delight
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Hai descritto la nostra casa in modo esemplare. Grazie!!! Mario e Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Movaround
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just spent 9 nights in this fabulous garden house. Everything you read is true. The location is superb, the house is lovely and the garden is beautiful. We were able to use San Gimignano as our base to explore the neighbouring towns and stunning countryside. We rented a car from a local car rental company where we can just walk there and pick up the car whenever we feel like driving around. This was great as we didn't have to rent a car for the whole 9 days. Finally, a huge thank you to our lovely host Mario and his daughter Cristina. They were kind, helpful and delightful people. I totally recommend everyone to stay in there gorgeous cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Cara Siena
Siamo molto felici per le vostre bellissime parole che avete speso per me e mia figlia Cristina, spero che ci rivedremo in futuro. Grazie!! Mario e Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sOnnyday1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say about this stunning apartment. Located within the walls of the gorgeous San gimignano just metres always from the centre and yet so so peaceful. This apartment has everything you could need for a relaxing retreat! Stunning apartment, stunning garden and a very friendly little tortoise!!! Tuscany as a whole is such a wonderful place but this little gem just tops it all off. I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Ciao Sonny
Ti ringrazio per avere apprezzato così calorosamente la mia casa.
Quando un simpatico ospite come te rimane così soddisfatto,per noi è motivo di grande felicità, speriamo di rivederti in un prossimo futuro. Mario Donella e Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing