We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, charming and very helpful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden view of house and apt
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden view of house and apt
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Garden view of house and apt
Aerial View of La Fonte
Swimming pool
Terrace of apartment
Garden La Fonte
View from apartment
View from apartment
Cypress avenue in front of villa
Villa La Fonte
Plan of apartment Rosmarino
Bathroom / bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
colywolly
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, charming and very helpful hostess, excellent pool and accommodation”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location is stunning with amazing views and very convenient for San Gimignano, Florence and Siena (trains to the last two easily boarded at Certaldo, just 5/10 minutes away. The pool and accommodation are great and the hostess delightful and extremely helpful. We stayed in the Rosemary apartment which has a lovely terrace. We intend to return and highly recommend La Fonte.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review Colin and Marilyn, it was very kind of you.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to La Fonte.
Tante belle cose.
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect Tuscan villa with stunning gardens and views”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at La Fonte for 5 nights at the end of a 3 week trip to Italy. It was the perfect end to our holiday. The accommodation was spacious and well set up for two couples with ensuites for each bedroom. Whilst the kitchen in our apartment was small it was well equipped. The gardens and outdoor living areas of the villa are fantastic, with wonderful views across the stunning English inspired gardens to the rolling hills of tuscany. The large swimming pool and BBQ area on the grounds were also very well set up. Maria is the perfect hostess, who went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed. It was wonderful to learn about the villa's history and understand more about life in Tuscany. We can certainly understand why people return to La Fonte. We have no hesitation in recommending the villa, which is centrally located for day trips to Siena, San Gimignano, and other historic towns. A wonderful Tuscan holiday which included a day at a Tuscan cooking school (a great recommendation from Maria).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous 5 night/4days everything was just great, Maria couldn't have been more obliging or helpful.”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed 5nights/4days, wish it had been longer, beautiful country estate with accessibility by car or train to Florence, Siena, and various other towns. Plenty of scope for walking treks also. Felt like home, wonderful experience, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in fact we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth, hospitality and the feeling of home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidVR84
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location but with some quirks!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong the location is great and the owner is very nice but there was some quirks. I find paying the power separate to the room charge odd, a toasted sandwich maker as a toaster as only Australians ask for toasters (huh?). The rooms were nice but bathrooms are dated, wifi is almost useless and we found some of the dishes in the room dirty. Despite some of these things we did enjoy our stay and would recommend it for a relaxing quiet stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Wifi access was non existant
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you for staying at La Fonte and for taking the trouble to send this review of our apartment Rosmarino.
We go to enormous trouble to try and make sure the apartments are absolutely clean for each guest and it is very unfortunate that you found a dirty plate. To give us time to clean thoroughly and do any repairs needed to the apartments, we ask guests not to arrive before 5 p.m. As you asked if you could come early and arrived at 2 p.m. - you have small children and I quite understand the need to get to your destination as quickly as possibile - it meant that the time we have to check all crockery, glassware, cutlary etc was limited and our usualy check was not possible.
Re the toaster - I did explain that we have a sandwich toaster - by definition a toaster - as in the past guests have thrown the elctrics by putting knives into the toasters to get bread that is stuck out or they put pizzas into the toaster so that the fat drips into the toaster and is a fire hazard-
I am sorry you had problems with the wifi. All our other guests have not had any problems. The house is very old and the walls are thick. Perhaps you were sitting at the far end of the apartment where because of the very thick walls, you did not recieve a good signal.
We charge for electricity - clearly stated on all our advertising - as we pay the obligatory bed tax for our guests and charge for electricity so that they have some autonomy over what they pay for. The cost of electricity is usally less than the total we pay for the bed tax.
I hope this response is helpful and perhaps we will have the pleasure of seeing you and your family again.

Best wishes from La Fonte, San Gimignano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL, USA
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing