We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”
other travellers have booked this property
This famous historic castle will be your home in Tuscany
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This famous historic castle will be your home in Tuscany
After climbing  the magnificent monumental stairs ... under this breath-taking  frescoes ....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This famous historic castle will be your home in Tuscany
After climbing  the magnificent monumental stairs ...
under this breath-taking  frescoes ....
The Muses will welcome you into the house
you will be admitted to a ravishing trompe-l'oeil parlour ....
with frescoed landscapes on the walls
Now enjoy your stay in your glamorous living room ....
smarlty furnished with precious antiques, ........
while charming  creatures, you couldn't say if human or divine,  .....
dressed in soft creamy colours, .......
keep you company.
Wake up on a bright morning in the cosy alcove .....
choose what to wear from the nice Biedermeier wardrobe, ....
take your morning toilet in the large stilish bathroom, .......
try Italian recipes in the trendy kitchen  .......
..... with a scenic view on the bomboo wood.
A magnificent  hall will lead you  to the garden ...
where you will find beautiful Spring flowers  .....
as well as fantastic Autumn colours ........
and  superb white acanto flowers emerging from their  large sinuous leaves
After relaxing in the garden, you will be ready to explore  the area:
the leaning tower is just a few minutes driving...
as well as pictoresque medieval villages ....
and large beaches. There is everything for a delightful holiday; Just book, pack and go!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pisa, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kimberley...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My mother was so desperate to book this accommodation months in advance for our trip and when we arrived we could see why! The frescoes were phenomenal that I'm surprised I never fell up the stairs! The stairs that Antonio carried our bags up for us after picking us up on the train station platform holding a sign with our name, we felt like royalty!
The apartment has very modern facilities which is cleverly merged that it doesn't take away the historical charm. Including a washing machine where we could do our laundry. WiFi was strong, beds were comfortable, plenty of space throughout the entire apartment. A week and 5 cities later and we are still talking about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfisher7
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

There are many things I could say about this place, however, if I included everything that I loved about this place, I would be writing an entire, full-length novel. I will begin by saying how incredible this place is. The location is perfect. You are located outside of the tourist areas, however, you are able to get to the tourist areas without difficulty. This castle is only a short walk away from a train station that can take you directly to Pisa, Florence, and many other places. Getting anywhere in Italy from this place is simple, even if you do not speak Italian.
The apartment, itself, is very well maintained and gives you the feel of being in Italy while still having updated amenities to carry out your daily life.
Another thing about this place is the owners. Donatella and Antonio are the incredible individuals who made my journey to Italy the best month of my life. I will never forget their kindness.
This place is truly unreal. The location, the apartment, the entire castle, but most of all, the people that live there are what make this place the greatest place I have ever been. I will be coming back to stay next year, and, hopefully, every year after that.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you dear Leah, we are touched by your beautiful review. It was great to have you with us and we really hope to meet you again: you have been not only a guest, you have been and you will always be our young, delicious friend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Activeold...
2 reviews
“A true flavour of Tuscany”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

"The Ladies Retreat" was a delightful appartment, reflecting the history and character of this fine old Tuscan home.
The contemporary bathroom and kitchen did not detract from the atmosphere and were well equipped.
Access to bus and train was a 10 to 15 minutes walk from the house, with good links to Pisa Lucca and Florence.
This trip was a long held wish upon my retirement and I was accompanied by my daughter.
The quality of our holiday was much enhanced by the attention and kindness given to us by ,Donatella,the owner.She picked us up from Pisa airport,on arrival/ departure.She was available and helpful with any queries.It is my hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the opportunity to stay in the wonderful old building
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_s...
1 review
“Amazing apartment...”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

It was our first trip to Italy and we booked this apartment due to the good reviews and its location with easy links to Pisa and Florence...

We were picked up from the airport by Donatella and talked through the history of the building on our way there. It added to the wow factor of a building that is so beautiful inside. It is a real gem.

We are a young couple and found the local area a bit quiet and so a quick cycle on the free bikes meant we were in Cascina, a small town with a choice of some lovely restaurants. We travelled into Florence, Pisa and the beach at Viareggio by train and it was all very easy. There are a few local shops that offer good food and local produce in Navacchio.

We had an amazing 4 nights and would recommend this to anyone. The owners, Donatella and Antonio were so generous and were even on hand to rescue us when missing our last train home!

Thank you so much for a lovely time and we hope to return next year and wish you both all the best.

Michael and Francesca

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness shown to us at all times by the owners
Liked least: If anything the lack of a car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing