We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
277
101
19
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
101
19
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus fixed menu overlooking florence family run operation charming family old world charm olive groves glass of wine modern hotel interesting history ceiling fan a wonderful place to stay watch the sunset wonderful view air conditioning quiet place small town
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We loved this place . Traditional and some would say old fashioned rooms but perfectly adequate - but do take insect repellant . A verdant area with an amazing view of Florence . Make sure you take supper or at least drinks on the terrace - this is a romantic place to relax and watch the sun set over the city and the food was good value and tasty too.
Walk up the drive in the morning to get the No 7 bus down to Piazza San Marco (6€ return for 3 of us) and every 20 mins
A perfect place to dip in and out of this fascinating but busy city

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Florence
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 65janeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Paid extra for the view and A/C and worth every penny. The view is better than what you might expect from the website photos. No TV in the room which I think is right in this case - why do you need it here?

Food is excellent - we had the fixed menu which differs each day. And the breakfast, on the balcony overlooking the city, is something special.

Transport to Florence was fine - you can buy tickets which give you 4 trips for a few quid and the bus is a short walk (uphill) from the hotel.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: City view with A/C
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0merjays1mps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatricesimoni, Front Office Manager at Pensione Bencista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review
which is very important for us.
I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bencistà
and I hope to see again in your next occasion.
All the best
Vilma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My partner, toddler and I stayed here for 5 nights in June. The location allows you to be close to the city but feel as if you're in the countryside. The views from the terrace at Bencista are spectacular. The food is delicious - both dinner and breakfast. Given the quality, I found the price of dinner to be extremely reasonable. It was lovely to relax and drink a glass of wine on the terrace while enjoying the wonderful view. The staff are very friendly and helpful; they were especially kind to our child.

We stayed during a heat wave and carried our child in a baby carrier to the bus stop a few times. It's only about a 15 minute walk with the steep driveway our of Bencista being the most difficult part. You can buy bus tickets at the pensione.

The other option is to take a taxi to Florence which can cost anywhere from 20 to 30 euros. Generally, I found taxis in Florence to be more expensive than other Italian cities, such as Rome.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is quaint, family owned and operated, pensione with an early nineteenth century feel and an amazing view. It seems that many of the guests return regularly. We stayed only one night prior to flying home from the Florence airport. Our room in the older section was small and overlooked the parking lot. Dinner on the terrace was relaxed, romantic, and accompanied by a spectacular view. The meal is a fixed menu of local foods and served nicely. Breakfast was also on the terrace, self-serve, and standard breakfast fare.
If arriving by auto, I would recommend approaching from the West; the road from the East is extremely narrow and bounded by stone walls for several miles. It frequently requires backing some distance into a wider area or private drive in order that two cars might squeeze past one another.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a beautiful view of Florence.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry14534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Stayed one night here in Fiesole before heading to the airport. Was definitely worthwhile in order to relax on the terraces and at dinner looking out over Florence. The gardens are lovely, with the most amazing wisteria, and the view is gorgeous. The villa is very interesting to wander about in - looks as if it would be cozy in the sitting rooms in winter. Our room was spacious with a nice big bathroom. The dinner was good, but not special relative to many meals we had in Italy. Oddly, there was no information about the cost of the meal in the booklet in the room or at the restaurant. The views were wonderful! Breakfast outside on another terrace was very good, with lots of choice (only the coffee was bad - seriously bad!) - and it supplied one last wonderful sight of Florence and its surrounding hills before driving down to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PatKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews