We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
342
222
43
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
222
43
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinegreat choice of breakfastcontinental buffet stylehoneymoon stayvery nice and helpful stafftrain stationminute walkgreat hotelseven nightstea and coffee making facilitieswelcoming hotelbusy roadmain florencehotel is locatedonly stayed one nighthistoric florencebusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Stayed in the hotel for two nights and cannot fault it. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom were clean and the bed was very comfortable! We had tea and coffee facilities in the room and a fridge, which was very useful to keep drinks cool. The breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast and we especially liked the fresh honey still in the honey comb. The hotel is on the outskirts of Florence and about a 15min walk from the centre and train station. You do need to cross a busy road to get into central Florence, however there is a pedestrian underpass ( would be slightly nervous using this late at night after dark). There are a few restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Diarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFortezzaGuestCare, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Fortezza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Diarygirl,

Thank you for your great score!!!
We are very happy that you apreciated our services and specially the fresh honey still in the honey comb!
About the underpass, at the end of month we will finally have the opening of the Tramway, with a stop at just 100m from us! And in just 5 min we will be at the historical center of our wonderfull Florence!
I hope to welcome you next time!
Best regards, Rosane A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Lovely Hotel, comfortable rooms. Large assortment of various breakfast items to choose from. The staff was attentive, and very helpful and polite. Good value! Centraly located, Comfortable area. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vposton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFortezzaGuestCare, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Fortezza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear VPoston,

Thank you for the wonderfull score! It's a pleasure for us try to provide a good service to make our guest feel at home, when we read review like yours make us proud!
We are waiting you next time in Florence!
Regards, Rosane A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at! We liked the location, the staff and the breakfast. I was sad however to discover that items of my clothing were missing upon leaving the hotel. I do want to believe the clothing was picked up accidentally possibly by housekeeping, however the items of clothing were in the room and were not there when we left. The staff did check and said it was not with housekeeping or the launderette. However there is no other place it could be, therefore regardless if accidental or not it was 100% taken from our room. I believe someone in the hotel knows what happened. I have now contacted the hotel a further couple of times since being home and had no response. I would say if you are going to book this hotel do it with caution and be weary of your personal belongings while staying here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank tlm872004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFortezzaGuestCare, Proprietario at Hotel La Fortezza, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Guest,
I'm really sorry that when you got home you noticed that a pair of trousers were missing, even if you did not say anything at the Reception desk when you checked out.

At the same time, I am also sorry that you write that you have not had any answers from our hotel.
This is not true.

We have written at least 10 emails where we informed you that we had not found your trousers either in our Lost & Found deposit or at our external laundry service.

However I’m glad that you appreciated our hotel services and Staff and I hope to meet you again in Florence.
Kind regards, Claudio Biondi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of three for 3 nights in May. We had a triple room which was adequate as we really only used it as a base from which to visit the various sites of interest. There was no window in the bathroom so the ventilation wasn’t great and the bedroom sometimes felt a little damp especially after we’d all showered!
The breakfast was served in a downstairs room and there was certainly plenty of variety. There was fresh organic yoghurts, fresh fruits, bacon, eggs, cereal, toast etc.
The hotel is situated a little out of the centre of Florence about 15 minutes walk from the train station. There are lots of roadworks going on at the moment so this can cause some delays if taking taxis etc.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MandyAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We like to stay in good conditions, so finding a good hotel in Florence for a good price was quite a challenge, as we are talking of a pretty expensive town.
La Fortezza is rather close to the train station. I have to admit it was a long walk to the city center, but it was our choice to walk, I think we could have taken the bus.
As we are newly wedds, the hotel offered us a complimentary bottle of cold prosecco.
The entrance of the hotel is lovely. The room is small, but clean, cosy, with all the amenities. Bathroom also has a tub. They clean the room and change towels daily.
A nice surprise was breakfast: Excellent! With a selection of local cheeses, prosciutto cotto, lovely pastry, fruits and other options for all tastes. They even had a honeycomb and one could serve as much as they wanted.
Coffee was real Italian coffee, lovely looking and of great taste.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank itimultumesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews