We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$334/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$359
US$282
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Torre Guelfa Hotel(Florence)
US$208
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$444
US$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$354/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$349
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,127
US$345
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$251
US$207
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,151)
Filter reviews
2,151 results
Traveller rating
1,286
630
150
55
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,286
630
150
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolpiazza santa maria novellatrain stationwithin walking distanceoverlooking the squarefamily suitebeautiful piazzafree mini barlovely hotelperfect locationbreakfast was excellentsuperior roomfew minutes walkmajor attractionsour honeymooncentral florencepastries
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 2,151 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I stayed in the Grand Hotel Minerva for about a week and truly enjoyed my stay. Front desk was very accommodating and helpful with all needs and requests (a blowdryer). The location is absolutely ideal and would stay here again simply for that. Located in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, it is about 5 minutes from the shops of Florence and 10 minutes walking to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Museum. Rooms are comfortable and each unique. Excellent breakfast daily with attentive staff that accommodated all of my party's needs (we were 8 women!). Truly a delight and will be back!

Room Tip: 5th floor is quieter and has views of the piazza.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We stayed in this hotel recently for 6 nights as a family of four in one of the family suites. This was an excellent hotel in a prime location and we definitely enjoyed our time here.

A few thoughts
1. The hotel is being renovated and they are aware of this. To make up for it they had a "free mini bar", namely the small fridge in the room was stocked with a mixture of wine, beer, Italian soft drinks and water. This was a very nice little perk and was most appreciated

2. We stayed in 2 rooms, one for the first 6 nights and a second for one night when they staff was kind enough to re-accommodate us when our flight was delayed a day. Both rooms were reasonably spacious for a family, but were on the high end of the price range of other suites we had seen. They were modern and renovated well with plugs and outlets in all the right places and a very modern key system we appreciated. The bathroom and showers were lovely. The first floor family suite- our main one was a bit small for a full family. It was an excellent bed and two very nice twin "sofa" cots for the kids which were perfect for our tall 12 and 9 year olds. The logistics were more a problem with the door separating the "master" and the kids area being flimsy folding style doors which were not sound proof and the bathroom located in the bedroom so the kids had to walk through at night. In our second room, the layout was much better with a separate master and a bathroom closer to the front of the suite which made more sense. The first floor view was terrible, into a closed off "garden" of artificial grass. The 5th floor suite had a stunning view onto the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. I which I could have looked out onto that the whole first 6 days.
3. The location is beyond perfect. Santa Maria Novella is a gorgeous church to wake up to every day and the square was a 5 minute walk to the train station. The longest walk we had to anywhere in the city was about 15 minutes. This is a great place to set up a base to see anywhere else in the city.
4. Breakfast was included. It was a beautiful room and the food was excellent as was the service with a nice and very filling array of great and local food and especially cheeses.
5. The staff were all excellent, very polite and helpful and accommodating in all requests and advice. They were helpful in all respects and bent over backwards to help us when our flight was delayed and made switching rooms effortless.
6. The lobby is stunning, set up almost like a small museum with several different areas just to sit and be comfortable. It seems to celebrate the best of the majesty of Florentine art while still keeping a sense of the modern. My kids loved reading the huge display of giant "coffee table" books with photographs from around the world on a table in the central lobby whenever we came in.

In short, this was an excellent hotel, with a great location on the upper end of the price range compared to what other friends who were in town that week experienced. I would have preferred a bigger room and a better view for this price point (as we had the last day) but otherwise would happily stay here again.

(Note: we were here in March just before the tourist season. We were blessed with superb weather but it was too early for the pool to be opened for the season. The bit I saw of it made me think it will be an amazing pool/bar in the summer)

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor with view of Piazza Santa Maria Novella
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This hotel is conveniently located to all the Florence attractions. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. We traveled with our family in February and had a lovely stay. We arrived to Florence by train and had an easy walk to the hotel from the train station. We loved the beautifully appointed and modern suites we stayed in. The hotel is finishing up their renovations and we were not inconvenienced at all. I highly recommend this property because of its location, atmosphere and the warm and friendly reception our family received. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make our visit a memorable stay. Our travel agent recommended this property. We have friends and neighbors heading to Florence this summer and already told them to make reservations. Happy Travels.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank weblakefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Burroni, General Manager at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017


Dear weblakefun,
we’re truly happy me contributed to enjoy Florence. By the way, renovation works will be over in max 10 day, when we will open the last rooms.
We look forward to your next visit, maybe during the late spring or summer time, when temperatures allow our guests also to enjoy our pool.
Filippo Burroni – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel with a good central location and within walking distance of the train station and the city centre! Only had breakfast however there was a good choice! Nice clean bedroom with ensuite and the staff were very helpful and friendly!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Brilliant, super friendly staff, fantastic location - 3 minutes from the station and no more than a 15 minute walk for the furthest main attraction (five for Duomo). Lovely, newly refurbished rooms. Top breakfast. We booked this hotel for its terrace and city view, so were massively disappointed that it was shut for refurbishment - we wished that they had pre-warned us. When you go though - the views will be amazing!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Burroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Colewell,
thank you for having chosen our hotel and for sharing your experience on the web. I’m sorry that during this period one cannot enjoy the entirety of the terrace. Actually its bigger portion is currently not accessible because we are working on the pool itself that will be operating as usual from May onwards.

We look forward to your next visit.

With my kindest regards,
Filippo Burroni – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews