We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$302
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$384/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$194
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$292
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Porta Faenza(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Fortezza(Florence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel David(Florence)
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$356
US$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence La Contessina(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,868
US$510
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveller rating
1,518
138
23
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,518
138
23
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourusb portscomplimentary mini barcomfort roomrain showerreplenished dailyperfect locationmedici palacefantastic hotelwelcome drinkjacuzzi tubturn down servicemodern hotelfifth floorglass of proseccotrain stationour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I have had the pleasure of staying in many hotels worldwide but I can honestly say the the Hotel Spadai gave my wife and I one of the most memorable experiences yet. Beginning with the location, it certainly can't be beat. Step out of the front door of the hotel, look left and what greets you is the stunning Duomo just a few meters away. It's right door to Italian gourmet heaven: Eataly. Cross the street, walk a a few meters and then there's the Basilica de San Lorenzo with a great Trattoria right beside it. Via Roma and other shopping streets are but a stone's throw away. Location? Check!
The facilities are topnotch. Of course, we can nitpick and say the bathroom sink is too narrow. But that's about it! Otherwise, this 1and 1/2 year old hotel is wonderfully designed with very subtle allusions to the the art of Florence. The designers probably knew we would need a respite from the bombardment of art that Florence has to offer. Great bed, wonderful sheets, wood floors, excellent shower. And did I mention that it has huge windows from which you can look down on the streets?
I saved the best for last: the staff. From the front desk (special shout out to Giorgio who was every helpful with his personal dining recommendations and sense of humor!), to the bellhops to housekeeping, to the breakfast crew that always greeted you with a smile no matter the early hours of operation, Hotel Spadai is 6 stars! I cannot ask for more - and that comes from someone who is very particular about the standard of service.

There's more to like about this gem of a hotel - the generous breakfast spread, the view from its cozy view dome, the welcome prosecco, the free cocktail food in the early evening and many more. It's a pity I have to divulge all these and risk its discovery by other traveler but it would be a sin not to heap praises on it. When in Florence - and I have been there 4 times in the past - there is only one hotel worth considering: Hotel Spadai.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AyiManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We stayed in the Hotel Spadai for 3 nights in November 2016. The location could not be better - just minutes from the Duomo and all of the shops!
The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and very nice bed linen. Spacious bathroom with rain shower (not my bag but some people love them) and plenty of space.
Breakfast covers every possible wish, in a nice room. Happy hour spread of food is also a nice touch!
Virtually nothing to fault so I won't - will be staying there agin next time we go to Florence

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Batonflipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Summary: The hotel has beautiful decor, excellent location, average breakfast and below average guests service/experience.
Being in Florence's historical area means going by car was a problem. We called the hotel on our way to tell them we'll check in late and only then they told us to follow a different route than that on the website for guests with cars. We tried to follow the new route, we couldn't and the receptionist said we might be fined by the city! I don't understand if there's such serious consequences why don't they put the correct route on their website for all guests to plan the car journey well!
Then the same person took a long time checking us in qnd kept blamig her cold for that. We didn't appreciate being for so long with someone coughing and we were so tired And I actually ended up being sick with a cold the next day. It's very insensitive of the hotel management to keep someone who meets guests while she's sick with a contagious cold!
Then we went to the room finally and the king bed was two single beds with 2 mattresses, the windows overlook the main street which was loud and when we asked if the room was quiet at check on she said all the rooms are sound proof. It was a very noisy room and they provide ear plugs in the room (maybe that's the sound proofing)! We complained about the bed, we booked a king room not twin. To have two beds pushed together. They kept us waiting for almost an hour before acting on it, finally we went down in person to get their attention and the
y reluctantly gave us a junior suite that had the king bed. It was very disappointing that they felt they did us a big favor when they should have just done their job properly at check in from the start without wasting our time for an hour. We don't recommend he hotel to travelers into a true luxury experience or service.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spadai, Direttore at Hotel Spadai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear Maymk,

We are really sorry to learn that you considered your stay with us a below average experience.
All guests opinions matter to us but we believe that your dissatisfaction in some cases was due to a misinterpretation of our service. In fact the alternative directions that the receptionist suggested you were meant to help you reach us easily considering the place where you were at the moment of your call. What is stated on our website is correct but if you have an old GPS version, it directs you to streets where now there is a “no entry” signage.
About the room, some king beds have 2 mattresses. It doesn’t constitute an issue for the 99% of our guests who actually use to praise our beds comfort. However since it was a problem for yourself, as soon as you informed us that you wanted to change room we did our best to satisfy your request. As you know on that day we were fully booked and finally we even managed to give you a complimentary upgrade to a Junior suite that actually seemed you appreciated.
All the rooms have a well stocked box that contains a variety of useful amenities in order to satisfy a wide range of guests needs including the ones of the light sleepers who are even sensitive to a little noise. We confirm that our rooms are soundproof. However who books a hotel in the city centre should be fully aware that a so central location is not comparable to the countryside in terms of quietness.
Finally regarding the receptionist, if she had been so sick and contagious you wouldn’t have found her at the desk. However she does apologise if in some way upon check in she conveyed you an exaggerated image of herself.
We hope you will stay with us again in the future and we are sure that you will reconsider your opinion about our hotel.
All the best,
Elena & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Location is great. Literally a minute from the Duomo. Hotel is excellently maintained and staff is very helpful. Be aware that the street can get noisy in the morning with tourists and sleeping late may not be an option.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank irtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is incredible!! Rooms beautiful, bathroom roomy with nice amenities. Location the best, by duomo and all the sights of Florence. Bar intimate and nice. Staff very friendly except for lady at desk of breakfast. She was abrupt and not very accommodating. Breakfast was good. Would stay here for sure if we came to Florence again, can not say enough how wonderful this hotel is!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank nieci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spadai, Direttore at Hotel Spadai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear nieci,
thank you for your very kind review. It’s really rewarding to learn that you so enjoyed your stay with us.
The lady you mentioned was the Breakfast Manager who was very sad to read your comment and apologises if she was not able to convey you her usual friendliness and customer care.
It was a pleasure to host you at the Hotel Spadai and we very much hope to welcome you back in the future.
All best wishes,
Elena & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews