We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveller rating
669
427
121
59
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
427
121
59
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews borgo pinti la giostra quiet street charming hotel within walking distance antique furniture main building old world charm old building pastries breakfast room single room side street main attractions lovely room central location few minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed recently, for four nights, in the Monna Lisa Hotel in Florence, a delightful old residence in the centre of this historic city. Built around a courtyard garden, the reception rooms, tastefully and luxuriously decorated with many antique artefacts, created a delightful, quiet ambience in which to relax and unwind after days of sightseeing.Our classic bedroom was comfortable and spacious and overlooked the garden, although we missed the luxury of coffee making facilities in our room.Staff, on the whole, were relatively friendly and helpful though the distantly polite desk personnel on our arrival could have offered more help. When we arrived by car, after battling through heavy traffic and narrow streets we came to the address given on their website and were told we must go immediately to a different address as we were blocking the traffic … which we were, as the street was only one car wide. We had to set off again with a miniscule map given to us by the hotel to drive through a maze of one-way mediaeval streets, searching for an elusive entrance to the parking area at the back of the hotel. It was a very stressful start and the lowest moment in our holiday. However, all difficulties could have been avoided if, for example, a porter had joined us to guide us through the tiny streets or the hotel had given us the proper address in the first place when we booked the car into the car park (at €20.20 per day). We would strongly recommend that the hotel reviews its procedures for welcoming guests arriving by car.
Still, despite the limitations mentioned above, we would heartily recommend the Monna Lisa Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the heart of mediaeval Florence within easy walking distance of all the galleries, museums, churches and shops in this most magical of cities.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, once a convent and palace, filled with antiques and artwork! Would prefer not to share this little gem with the rest of the world but ...... Perfectly situated in a very quiet area but just 5 minutes from all the major sites, this delightful hotel gives a taste of renaissance Florence. Beautifully decorated rooms with fabulous furniture to complement the huge room (ask for 31) and high carved wooden ceilings are warm and comfortable with a huge bed and quality linen.
Breakfast is good - continental with a vast selection - and warm and friendly service. There is a lovely garden area, solarium and bar. Beside the architecture, the staff make this place very special - they are warm, friendly and happy to recommend restaurants etc in this beautiful city. When I return I wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JXH565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Extraordinary service, great breakfast, fantastic location, as well as comfortable rooms make this a must stay place.
An easy walk to the Duomo and a lot of great restaurants, they also have parking spaces available if arriving by car.
Rooms with a garden view are spectacular but friends stayed in other very comfortable rooms as well. Highly recommended

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pisces025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We enjoyed every minute in this elegant palace. The entrance with the painted ceiling, all sculpturen and paintings, all so overwhelming!! Situated right in the center of town, walking distance to museums and the cathedral. Very pleasant staff! Excellent breakfast.
Beautiful garden. Everything was just great!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleidaWilhelmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The hotel is an old palace so expect historic architecture. Our room was very lovely with a balcony which overlooked the lovely courtyard. We wanted to leave our balcony doors open but there were mosquitos which the hotel warns you about and even provides a plug in mosquito killer. The staff are helpful and the art throughout the hotel is quite extensive and interesting to note. My only complaint about the room was the very weak hairdryer in the bathroom. The breakfast room is very lovely and the food was good.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank ohiotraveler913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews