We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alle Pietre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Julie B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The house met all our expectations - it is 2 minutes from the centre of Cortona but in a very quiet street and has the added bonus of outside seating with wonderful views. It is well equipped and comfortable- Ester and Giovanni could not have been more helpful despite our delayed arrival so the welcome pack was very much appreciated. We would definitely recommend to friends and family .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Mick e Julie you have been nice and pleasant guests
Thank you for your kind words
You are always welcome in my home
Giovanni e Ester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psaseattl...
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL STAY IN CORTONA AT ALLE PIETRE”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week in Ester's beautiful house in Cortona and cannot say enough about how enchanting, comfortable, quaint, friendly, and delightful our stay was. I traveled with my 12 year old son on a "mommy-son" holiday to Italy and this week was the highlight of a 2 week adventure. Alle Pietre - as other reviewers note - is a beautiful home ideally situated on a quiet street by the wall of Cortona's main historic center. It is well suited for 2 couples with a master bedroom on the top floor and another sleeping room on the bottom floor, with a living room/kitchen floor in between. For 2 people, it is also perfect. The master is charming, a very comfortable king bed, lovely bathroom. Views are wonderful out the back over the valley. A close walk to the main part of Cortona and perfectly peaceful in the night no matter what activities are happening in Piazza Signorelli (we were there during the medieval tournament). All in all, we cannot recommend this lovely jewel of a holiday rental enough....and we are planning to return for a longer stay in the next summer or two! Ester was wonderful to work with in every way. This is a real gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
Dear Pia, thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to know you and your son.
You will always be welcome at home.
Ester and Giovanni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway29...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grazie per una settimana stupenda”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cortona is a lovely and picturesque town perched up on a hill. The Tuscan way, as it were. Alle Pietre is a gem of a house on three levels which could easily accomodate two couples. The house is as cozy as it is old, but perfectly well kept. Although at the edge of the town, you only need five minutes to get to the centre by foot. History is everywhere around, starting with the Museum of Etruscan Art (don't take photos of the "lampadario") and ending with the Cirifalco Fortress which gives you unique views of Lake Trasimeno and the border between Umbria and Tuscany. There is a wide choice of bars and restaurants in Cortona, out of which our favourite was Il Tempero. If you're lucky you can also witness one or two local festivals in the evening, especially over weekends.
If the house is wonderful, so are the owners. Ester and Giovanni are warm and considerate hosts, ready to meet every requirement with a smile and to make useful suggestions. We were privileged to have met them and to have lived in their house for a heavenly week. If you have a car, you can visit a variety of towns and cities: Siena and Arezzo, Firenze and Montepulciano, Orvieto and Assisi, Spello and Gubbio. Should you feel the need for a really nice surprise, give a chance to small but fantastic Pienza. Many have called it "la citta ideale del Rinascimento" and you will see why.

Many thanks, Esther and Giovanni, and expect us back some time.

Irina and Radu, Bucharest, Romania

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
Even if we do not write as well as Radu, we want to say that guests like Irina and Radu were exquisite, precious and respectful and we warmly recommend them. We also hope to meet them again
Ester e Giovanni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim181102...
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect location in stunning Cortona”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Ester and her husband Giovanni welcomed us to their fabulous property in Cortona and gave us a brief tour of the house and its amenities. A lovely fruit bowl was left for us to enjoy. Fabulous location close to the centre, but in a quiet street. We especially enjoyed our lunches at the little table and chairs provided which are right against the old wall, which overlooks the valley below. Easy to visit surrounding countryside with our hire car, but mostly we preferred to relax and enjoy Cortona. The house is beautifully and thoughtfully furnished, and is very comfortable. We stayed for a week and hope to return some day soon !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you for your kind words. You will be always welcome at home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2018
Dear Sally, dear Vernon,
thank you very much for your kind words.
We really hope to meet you again. Please, remember you will be always welcome at home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing