We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
One of two guest patios with small charcoal grill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of two guest patios with small charcoal grill
Guest Flat spans 2 lower floors of our 'casale' West-facing Patio, accessed from Kitchen and Main Bedroom - a shady breakfast spot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
One of two guest patios with small charcoal grill
Guest Flat spans 2 lower floors of our 'casale'
West-facing Patio, accessed from Kitchen and Main Bedroom - a shady breakfast spot
How green was my valley!
Ergonomic kitchen area, with oven, gas top, built in fridge and quality equipment
Comfortable seating by wood-burning stove
Breakfast table near cooking area
Main Bedroom, with quality bed linen, opens to patio
Guest washing machine
Studio (sleeps two) with stair to main flat
Studio: access to sleeping space, bathroom below
2nd double bedroom, on Studio mezzanine
Two kilometres of 'white road' leads to the house
View from house of rolling hills, well marked trails, ideal for walking, biking etc
Just arrived from Camucia station
Canadian Vine in Autumn - a lovely time for walking
Honeymooners welcome!
Lots to see in nearby Cortona: the Medieval Town Hall
Street Life in nearby Cortona
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
philscott...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed for a week in mid-June, and had a wonderful time. Cottage is as described (probably nicer inside than the photos imply) with all amenities you need (wifi a bit slow and no live TV, but plenty of DVDs on offer) and two lovely porch areas to enjoy the sound of silence.

Pool is just spectacular - just a short walk from the cottage - and completely private with stunning views across the valley.

The price you pay for the remoteness/tranquility is it's a bit of a drive from civilisation - approx 25-30mins into Cortona (which is beautiful), with a couple of closer local trattorias in the hills. Andrew and Kate were kind enough to drive us into town on a couple of evenings so we could enjoy the vino without worrying about negotiating the windy mountain roads on the way back!

All in all, thoroughly recommended as a retreat from the modern world and Andrew and Kate couldn't have been more helpful before and during our stay while still granting us plenty of privacy throughout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
777Andrew...
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ultimate relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for one week in August and it wasn't long enough. The sense of calm and peace staying in the hills was second to none and Andrew and Kate simply added to our stay by being the most helpful, kind yet discreet hosts we could have wanted. The apartment is very comfortable with plenty of space and is equipped with everything you could need however the icing on the cake was the pool and grounds, nothing could quite prepare us for the delight of having such a magnificent pool all to ourselves.
Cortona itself is a beautiful town and full of atmosphere as well as some brilliant restaurants. Sienna is within easy driving distance as is the amazing hill top town of Motepulciano. Andrew and Kate are always willing to advise on where to go and what is on in the local area and were kind enough to book a restaurant in advance for our wedding anniversary not to mention organising a superb "taxi" service.
It is fair to say we loved our time in the hills and the main question is not if we shall go back but when.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preneet_B
New Delhi, India
1 review
“It was the most calming, peaceful and beautiful home and was the highlight of our summer holiday”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Kate and Andrew are wonderful and warm hosts. We had the most amazing stay at their home with our two young children in their very spacious and beautiful home. It is set in the most idyllic place with some of the most spectacular views spanning across the horizon right across from their living room! They were very friendly and warm with the kids and were delighted their grand children's toys with them. Their swimming pool, which Andrew has made himself is absolutely out of this world with an infinity effect going right across the hill side in a serene and quiet part of the hill on top of which they have their home. We would go there over and over and this is definitely the place to stay for a lovely peaceful and idyllic summer experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the scenery from their home
Liked least: a little difficult to find the first time - but once you are there the first time - it is easy to get to subsequently
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreacleMu...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Cottage”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We like to holiday in style and this cottage was up with the best. Very well maintained, peaceful, super private pool, and relaxing. The owners were very helpful in many respects yet out of sight. Local food was super and well priced. Our children settled in very easily and enjoyed their independence in this secluded spot. We would like to think we will go back again as you would never get tired of the scenary or privacy that we enjoyed. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful environment at the cottage and pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing