We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house and town”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
drjbob
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful house and town”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were two couples from the United States who travel together sometimes and have experience with vacation rentals in Europe. This house gets an A+ rating for location, the house itself, and the non-obtrusive owner who stiopped by a couple of times. He (Nick) gave us great tips on sites and eating. It is perched on the side of the mountain with excellent views, yard, patio. We did not use the pool area - nor had we planned to - due to the cool (expected) weather the last week in October. It is a very nice pool area. We motored around the area easily. Assisi and Montipulciano are easy day trips. Consider going to the Abbey of San Antimo, about 10 km south of Montalcino, to enjoy Gregorian chanting by the monks. Cortona is a great town to visit with interesting sites, great food and excellent shopping. Consider a dinner at Osteria Teatre - excellent. Our timing of this trip was to have cool weather and no crowds. It all worked out. We walked into the town center several times. It is uphill but going home is sweetly downhill!. The setting of the house is quiet and peaceful. It has a washer and dryer and air conditioning.
All things considered, we all consider this house a real gem and recommend it in the strongest terms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Limited work space in kitchen.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MS
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vanbabes
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“So Wonderful We Didn't Want to Leave"”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Since 2008 we've been travelling to Europe from Canada with our two children, and have rented numerous houses. We always have two criteria; a pool and a house that is within walking distance to a town. Villa Cristina is, by far, the best place we've ever stayed in.

From the moment we walked onto the property, we knew we'd found a special place. The view is to die for. It goes on forever. The grounds are beautiful, and landscaped with rosemary, lavender, and an olive tree right at the poolside with provided a nice shady spot for much of the day. The pool was beautiful, and was situated high on the property, with a commanding view of the entire valley below.

The house was really perfect. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It was spacious yet felt very cozy. Even in the heat of the summer, the main floor remained cool. There is air conditioning but we didn't have to use it that much. A huge plus were the screens on every window and door, meaning we could always have fresh air without having to deal with unwanted flying guests!

The ability to walk to town was a huge plus, and the main reason why we chose the house. It is about a 10 minute walk on basically a country road, to the centre of Cortona. We learned after the first night to bring a flashlight with us as when it's dark, it is really dark, and there are no street lights past a certain point. It is wonderful to be able to enjoy wine with dinner and not have to get into a car to drive down a winding narrow road to get home. That is a major bonus of the house.

The beds were very comfortable, the rooms very pretty, and the shower and water pressure was great. Everything worked perfectly.

The owner, Niccolo, was great and we enjoyed chatting with him about the area.

We would not only recommend Villa Cristina to people , but we hope to return one day ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the house
Liked least: There's nothing not to like
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing