We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location with amazing views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Geleng

VIEW OF ETNA
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIEW OF ETNA
LIVING ROOM LIVING ROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
VIEW OF ETNA
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
DINING ROOM
BEDROOM 1
BEDROOM 2
BEDROOM 3
BEDROOM 3
KITCHEN
KITCHEN
BATHROOM 1
BATHROOM 2
Terrace out door furniture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Kfgoxford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with amazing views.”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We would go back there again, any time. The apartment was really well equipped and only a short walk from the town centre. The views of the coast and Mount Etna were superb. The owner was helpful and welcoming. Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie N
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect View of Mt Etna”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed in Casa Geleng for 3 nights. The apartment has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathroom. The apartment only has one air conditioner in the dining room. Luckily for us it wasn't too hot, I can't imagine staying in the apartment during the summertime. The air conditioner in the dining room will not cool down the bedrooms. This is a no frills apartment, a bit dated but it gives you the basic essentials for the price you are paying. My only issue was the water from the shower, it was either extremely hot or cold. Giampero was a wonderful host, he showed us how to walk to town from the apartment. He also lives on the first floor so it is easy to contact him for any needs. The best thing about the apartment was the balcony, it provided a perfect view of Mt Etna.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leovander...
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place, stunning view at active vulcano”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented this apartment for five days, being five adults (myself, my wife, my 2 children and my girls boyfriend). We will remember this holiday. The apartment is spacious and beautiful, the text and pictures at the flipkey site tell the full truth about interior and view. The comfort is rather good, the view is stunning and we were so lucky to be there while the Etna was active. Especially at night, a view to remember. What we also did like, was that the owner appeared to be very kind and helpful, extremely alert when we had a small problem to solve that. I can hardly imagine to find a prettier place in the are for an affordable rate.

Are there downsides? Yes there are, to be honest. The apartment overseas the highway far below, you will here the traffic always. The site is hones about not offering a parking place at the apartment itself, mentioning a parking garage a 5 minutes walking time. I celebrated my 60th birthday there, and indeed I managed to get there in 5 minutes, and being in a hurry I even got back in another 5 minutes. But it should be mentioned that there are 146 staircases and some pretty steep parts of the rod between the house and the parking garage, which is paid and costing €13,- per day.
And one advice: prepare your way through Taormina well, even with my navi on I managed to get lost and had to circle around the place as all roads are allowed only in one direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view
Liked least: The parking garage, 5 minutes walk with 146 staircases and steap roads
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theorigin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good base in Taormina with fine view of Etna.”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spacious flat near the Catania Gate. It has a big balcony with uninterrupted views to Etna and the bay of Naxos. Not luxurious but we found it more than adequate. It would be hard to find anywhere better. And there is free wifi which was very fast. The aircon only really works for the living area, it doesn't do much for the bedrooms, but there are fans. The owner is helpful and lives in the building so is on hand for any problems. We would be very happy to go back here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Taormina
Liked least: Insect bites
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMarin...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large unit in taormina”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Geleng was a nice apartment close to the centre of Taormina
The owner was very helpful in helping with booking, parking and general advice
The view from the balcony was exceptional
The rooms were large and tidy . Air conditioning was a great plus although it did struggle on very hot days
All in all a very nice place to stay especially for a family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great position
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing