We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
372
430
190
76
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
430
190
76
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board mount etna pool area public gardens the dining room staff pool attendant superior room fantastic views short walk beautiful park lovely hotel large pool pool towels sister hotel fresh fruit overlooking the bay every evening
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We have just spent 11 days in Hotel Villa Diodora. Room 328. The views through our window and from the balcony were amazing. This is a wonderfully grand hotel which is a little jaded in places(the stair carpets) but this doesn't at all detract from the magic of the place. Beautiful pieces of furniture, sculptures and paintings everywhere. It's built on the edge of a cliff, with the swimming pool down a level, reached by walking through lush greenery and lovely paving(there are quite a few steps so maybe not suitable for everyone). We loved it and felt like we were walking through a secret garden each day when we went to the pool.

I'm a bit stunned reading some of the negative reviews. We have travelled extensively and while nowhere is perfect, we found this hotel to be a wonderful place to stay.

We had dinner included in our package and had delicious meals, our complements to the chef. The dining staff, Franco, Angelina, Sylvia and the rest of the staff were friendly and caring. Actually Franco made his signature dessert for us on our last night there....delicious, we felt very special.

The barman Mimo and Natalia(pianoman) were fantastic fun. We had great nights of song and dance.

There are lots of lovely places to sit, both inside and outside, with very comfortable armchairs.

The hotel is perfectly situated at the end(beginning) of Taormina with the public gardens right beside it.

Wifi reception can be a bit sketchy but why not live in the moment, enjoy the views and forget the net.

Room tip: Ask for room with view of Mount Etna and the sea
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank IrelandSmileplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

My, what a gorgeous location. We had rooms in full view of spectacular Mt. Etna. After 2 planned days, we extended our stay a 3rd day with seductive R&R. Wonderful staff. Great food. The park next door is fun to explore, as well as the town (including Roman amphitheater) and hotel property itself.

Room tip: Request view of Mt Etna
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VelhoSorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

The staff are very friendly, the rooms very clean and the views are totally spectacular.
It was let down by a slight air of tattiness - the carpets could do with a thorough clean -, and somewhat difficult of access for pedestrians.
In particular it is not recommended for eating. Taormina has a couple of hundred restauramts etc, most of which seem to serve better food that the Villa Diadoro. I am always disappointed by hotels that dilute the fruit juice - it is so unnecessary.
The gardens next door and very pleasant indeed.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank turnip48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Terrible location
Terrible service
Our last day at this hotel Diodoro you would have expected a wonderful dinner. I ordered the rabbit and I had no idea what I was eating. It was nothing like the rabbit I ordered in Naples. It is very rare when I do not eat everything
on my plate except at Diodoro

Date of stay: August 2015
3  Thank Mikesaccs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

being our first time in scilly I feel this hotel was a server let down rooms 123,122 under the dinning room and next to the conference room nothing but noise from morning till late due the clapping cheering and the foot traffic and the piano bar the hotel its self should be ashamed of charging for water at evening meals when your half board also out of 5 evening meals none was 4star the waste people leave due to the terrible food is unreal cold food left on a table next to you waiting for another waiter to collect it then bring it back to you is totally daft the whole hotel it lifting with grim 5 days to clean a cig end and gum off the stairs is not acceptable in all the foods rank the hotels lifting and the rooms under the dinning room next to the conference room are terrible more like a 2 star hotel charging 6 star prices day light robbery they should wear masks

Room tip: Pick another hotel
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank iveafatsack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews