We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
367
426
188
76
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
426
188
76
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board mount etna pool area public gardens the dining room staff fantastic views superior room pool attendant sea view large pool lovely hotel beautiful park sister hotel fresh fruit plenty of sunbeds town centre ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2015

The hotel is in a perfect location however it is needing a revamp. We had a lovely bedroom with a beautiful sea view which we thoroughly enjoyed. The bathroom was adequate but we had a shower screen which leaked water everywhere, making the floor rather wet and a slipping hazard. Breakfast was very disappointing and something I dreaded. Tinned, sub standard fruit; when fresh fruit was available it was hard and inedible; the cold meat (if you were lucky enough to get any) was the cheapest of the cheap and only ham or salami was offered. A little bit of imagination would go a long way, ie. A chef cooking up omelettes or frying eggs or pancakes would have been great, fresh fruit salad would have gone down a treat too. Water for cups of tea was served up in little silver jugs and were often lukewarm, as was the waitress when we complained. Phew, tHank goodness we were only there for breakfast. I don't think the hotel deserves 4 stars oh one more thing I would the pianist in a sound proof cupboard and hide the key!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Booked this hotel with high hopes after reading their website.
Even though it is a hotel well situated with fantastic views and some great old features sadly there were parts that let it down.
We arrived late due to a delayed flight and unfortunately the welcome was cold from the night staff. We were taken to the depths of the hotel to what they class as a Villa room 11 (known as the dungeon) . The room as soon as we walked in had a strong damp mould smell and even though a large room the lights didn't work, nor did the TV and was more like a 2 star than a 4 star.
We complained first thing and give them their dues moved us fairly swiftly to a proper room on the first floor, however still not the type of room we had booked but 100% improvement on the room we were put in.
I will praise the staff in the breakfast room and those around the pool, however some of the reception staff could use a course in customer service.
The hotel itself just needs a little T&C and maybe some thought into the breakfast and availability of an iron in the room would help.
It states an international hotel with satellite TV however not one English Channel not even BBC news , there was of course Italian, French, German but no English.
With a few slight improvements this would be a great hotel with fantastic views.
At the moment if you do go expect that you would be stay in a 3 start dressed up as a 4 star.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room from floor 0 to 4, stay away from room 11
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsassock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Villa Diodoro has lots going for it, most notably the view which is simply stunning. The rooms do exactly what they say on the tin, clean with great views. Some of the staff are exceptional, with particular mention to the Breakfast team and poolside staff, they really made us smile.
In terms of improvements, I would expect fresh juice at breakfast in a 4 star hotel without having to pay a supplement, same goes for boiled eggs.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jules29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

This is beautiful peaceful romantic hotel with a breathtaking view.
Very close to town yet away from the crowds.
The piano playing each evening added so much to the total ambiance.
The staff is helpful and friendly and Antonio in particular was so very nice and went out of his way to be helpful.
We had an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We have just stayed here for four days. The views are simply stunning. The hotel grounds are lush and green and the pool deck spectacular. The location is very good without being in the middle of the tourist crush. The hotel has a grand hotel feel with beautiful furniture throughout. The room was a good size with a very good bathroom and large terrace. It is slightly let down by a-c that struggles to cope with the western sun (though it was 32+C), variable quality wifi and some staff who were a little bit grumpy, although most were very welcoming and helpful. Strongly recommended

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews