We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
32
32
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
32
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift third floor angelo hoist hairdryer bridge luggage duomo ortigia
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

The b&b has a very good location. It is very close to Ortigia. A nice walk takes one to the city center. There is a public parking place nearby which is very convenient if one is driving in a city with a lot of traffic and not so many parkings near the city center.
The room was fine, a little small but ok. The breakfast was good. The signore Angelo was very nice and friendly and it was a pleasure to speak with him.
They change the linens and towels every two days as in many accommodations of this kind.
What was surprising for me if that they did not even made the bed or clean a bit the bathroom every day, just as I said every two days, but we were in many others b&b and even if they did not change the linens every day, they made some small cleaning every day in the room. It would have been nice. It is just my opinion of course.
Anyway our stay was fine.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Princebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We booked this property for one night through Booking.com
The web advert stated parking available. When we arrived in a thunder storm and torrential rain, traffic in the city had mainly come to a halt. We found the accommodation but could not park near the B&B. I stayed with the car in a no parking zone, whilst my wife went to the property. The accommodation was on the third floor of an old apartment block. We had three suitcases and were not offered help in bring these to the room. The advert was incorrect, there was no parking, with available on some streets on a first come first served basis. Being retired we could not face carrying the cases up to the room, with no help offered. We then parked in a municipal area by the harbour, walked around Syracuse, went to 2 tourist offices to seek accommodation, both of which were closed, left the city and drove around 50km to find another accommodation.
Of course.....Booking.com have taken our money......

Room tip: Find another accommodation
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bobgoodsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights as part of our tour in Sicily. The bus from Catania (either central or the airport) takes one hour 20 minutes and leaves every hour for just under 6 euro. Less than 10 minutes walk from the bus station and you will arrive to meet Angelo, a superb host. A hoist lift will take your luggage up the flights of stairs so don't worry about that!
The location of this b&b is superb literally three minutes walk from the bridge that leads to the tourist island of Ortygia. The rooms are immaculately clean and spacious with the bedding changed every three days and plenty of fresh towels, a fridge and hairdryer etc. The breakfast is lovely with a good selection of local meat, cheeses and a range of coffees.
Hour long boat trips are readily available to enjoy for around 15 euro. It is also worth visiting the duomo (2 euro) which is beautiful and still has the original Greek columns holding up the building inside. Castello Maniace (2 euro) and Parco Neapolis with its Greek and Roman architecture (10 euro) is also definitely worth a visit. There aren't many excursions to take directly from Syracuse and those that are available are quite expensive. You could take a local train though to the Baroque town of Noto (7 euro return). This takes around 30 minutes and you can buy tickets from the station using the self service machines which can be selected in English. The station is less than ten minutes walk from the b&b and just around the corner from the bus station. Remember to validate the ticket at the station platform and be sure to visit the many beautiful buildings in Noto along with the tower climb in Santa Chiara.
There are no real beaches as such in Ortygia but there is a free platform to enjoy the sunshine and take a swim and if you want more luxury then for 30 euro you can hire two comfortable sun loungers and an umbrella for the whole day in a private area.
A wonderful place I'd recommend for lunch is Al Sud on Via Cavour which has the most amazing focaccia I've ever tasted and lovely salads, sandwiches and fruit etc. The market place (Via E.De Benedictis) is also really popular for lunches and street food. For an evening meal try Arrusti & Mangia on Ronco Cristina 3 (try the boar ragu or seafood around 10 euro) or Carnezzeria on Via E.De Benedictis 29 where they served the most amazing pasta dish with swordfish, fresh tomatoes and mint (12 euro) We have travelled in Italy for years and that was the best and most unique pasta dish I've ever eaten! . Both of these places especially in August are essential to book as they are really popular with the locals and tourists alike.
Book this b&b for a perfect stay in Sicily and enjoy the hospitality of Angelo.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast It is three stories up but the use of a hoist saves lugging suitcases up the stairs. The location is between the two major tourist attractions. The Fort/castle one direction the Greek theater in the other. Angelo was very helpful with advice and manipulation of luggage. We would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirrklunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The B&B is located just outside of the centre of the tourist district, i.e. the island of Ortygia. However, this can be a positive as it is in a quiet area, but still within walking distance of all the main attractions and facilities.
- A easy 10 minutes to centre of Ortygia.
- Bus station is 10 minute in opposite direction
- Archaeological park is 20-25 minutes.
Our host was a friendly genial individual and we were delighted to be offered coffee on arrival. The breakfast was good, all the basic elements but not special.
The apartment is decorated in a nice combination of old world furniture & new elements. Bedroom was good and spacious, beds comfortable and the bathroom fine.
We didn't go into Ortygia all the time and found plenty of good restaurants, coffee shops and bars in close proximity to B&B Nike. Better value in most cases.
A few negative points; Like most old apartment buildings the bedroom walls are very thin! The bedroom had a nice small balcony but it looked onto a not very attractive communal courtyard. And lastly, while not a problem for us, the B&B is on the 3rd flood, with no lift.

Room tip: Try for a room away from front door
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IrelandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews