We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveller rating
418
498
288
130
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
498
288
130
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant sea view fifth floor indoor pool sicilian specialities hotel has a great location turn down service room was large breakfast room luxury hotel per day hire car narrow streets breakfast was excellent pastries island ortigia
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the first two nights of our tour of Sicily. The tour information made a lot of the fact that it was a 5 star hotel and that our room would have a sea view. We got the sea view but the rest of the hotel was a great disappointment. It may have been worth 5 stars some time ago, but sadly it has faded now. Our room was adequate but dowdy, the bathroom had seen many better days with discoloured grouting and precarious looking fittings. The rooftop bar was barely welcoming and throughout the staff seemed uninterested in their guests. I understand it is about to close for a major refurbishment. It needs it. It is in a lovely position and could be wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candgcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a week
Great central location with lovely views, really beautiful rooftop terrace, although very expensive compared to drinking out in local bars. I really feel this hotel used to be amazing but just needs some tlc to bring it back to glory again.
On the 2nd day our car was scratched by the valet company so we had the worry of wondering if we were going to be charged for it (thankfully not).
Room was lovely and big, and cleaned thoroughly every day. Did not like toiletries and the shower was not hot ever.
After 5 days the electricity went off, and the air conditioning did not work properly from then on. No hot water for 2 days and management response was very poor.
Sadly would not go back and stay again.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don’t get me started!!!! Surley manager with attitude upon checkin, room dirty, musty smell, even the shampoo, conditioner, and hand lotion was odious. Best part! 4 Euro for a infant size bag of chips!!!! SHOULD NOT BE OFFERED AS A PLACE TO STAY PERIOD.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WallysworldCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

The architecture and location are great... that’s about it !!! All the rest does not deserve one star whatever the local standards are. This is true for the rooms, the prémices and the personnel !This is probably the worse hotel l have been in in years!!!
Only one advice: run away from it, you will be so deceived !

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jgtestut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Sadly not a happy stay .
1 )we came to pay the bill to find we had only prepaid for one night and were charged the standard rate for the 2nd night
So if you book double check your reservation.
2)The city of Syracuse had allowed a concert in the square opposite the hotel so our room was very noisy . ( The hotel took no responsibility )Check nothing is happening before you book.
3) I had the worst gin and tonic of my life
In the bar. (12 Euro )We paid as we were rushing out to dinner. I mentioned it in the morning when we checked out and was told I had to pay for it and send a written formal complaint if I wanted a refund.
The plus (was nothing to do with the management )was very kind helpful friendly staff, beautiful building great location

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews