We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
192
139
38
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
139
38
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor sea view roof garden hop off bus rooftop restaurant spa facilities waters edge greek amphitheatre perfect location modern bathroom rental car close to the hotel recommend this hotel junior suite main sites old city high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

If you plan to visit Siracuse, Ortigia is the place to stay, the hotel is comfortable, staff nice. they recommended their own restaurant (off-site) and it was just ok. There are many other places with great food. We really enjoyed a restaurant just around the corner called Retroscena that was just fantastic , great food and great service!
WE took a walking tour, visited Archimedes museum, archaeologic park and the Jewish baths, really fantastic place !

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Lourdes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Me and my wife had two nights at the hotel, and we were somewhat disappointed. We thought the hotel had it's own beach connection, but we had misunderstood this, and if you want to swim in the sea it's either with the rest of Syracusa (it's packed!) or pay 25 euro per sunbed. But okay - the hotel is not to be blamed for this.

The room was okay, but smelled a bit of old and men's perfume. The hotel in general feel a bit... outdated.

The location was okay, not far from Ortega centre - although if I were to stay in Syracusa again I probably would have opted for something closer to the canal.

The breakfast was the most disappointing unfortunately. We arrived shortly after it opened in the morning, and we thought a lot of the food looked old already - it looked to be at least from the day before if not older. Some of the fruit had actually turned bad and was not edible anymore. The coffee was not very tasty and the warm milk had clots in it. The pastry looked fresh though. The next day we went out for breakfast instead.

We were used to hotel staff being a bit forward-coming so far on our trip in Sicily. Unfortunately we did not feel the same way here.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tarjeieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We stayed for 2 nights and it was well situated for the historic centre of Ortigia and 10 minutes walk to restaurants on the sea front on the opposite side . Room comfortable if a little cluttered and breakfast average . Staff very helpful and friendly . Arriving by car was interesting - needed satnav through the narrow streets . Hotel staff park your car for you if reserved and at no extra cost . Very good for a 2 night stay in the centre of a historic town .

Room Tip: room with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jardinarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

I stayed at the Livingston as part of a tour group. Although the hotel accepted the booking for the group, it did not in fact have enough rooms for all of us. I was given a room in a building next door to the Livingston. It was a separate building with two rooms upstairs that the Livingston uses for its "overflow" guests. It was a large bare room with a few pieces of cheap furniture and a lot of mosquitos. There was no remote to operate the air conditioner. After two requests, the reception did furnish a remote, and something to plug into a socket that was supposed to attract and kill mosquitos. The noise from the street and smell of garbage was constant, even with closed windows. The stairs up from the street were steep and dark. The door to the street looked as though it might have been forced at one time or another. Breakfast was served on the top floor of the hotel, so having breakfast involved navigating the dark stairway, going into the street, then into the Livingston, then getting to the top floor. The breakfast was plentiful, well prepared and well-presented, and the view from the top floor is lovely.The comments about tables cluttered with dirty dishes are accurate. The public spaces in the Livingston are very worn, and little thought seems to have been given to decoration.

There are any number of lovely hotels in Ortigia, so there is no reason, other than being part of a group, to endure the poor accommodations at the Livingston.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Tarquinvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Got to Ortigia late and we couldn't find a suitable accommodation, then we came across this hotel. We went in to ask and the concierge and he was amazing helpful. He listened to our demands and carefully he gave us his parking spot which was very nice of him. The hotel is an old building and refurbished to a high standard and located nicely on the waters edge which makes this hotel quite unique. The rooms are up to date and quite spacious, bathrooms are also large and equipped with everything. Price is also moderate and it includes a good breakfast which includes some hams and cheeses, mozzarella, Italian breads, cornetti and some amazing nutella pie. The overall stay was very pleasant although short, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Great hotel, worth a visit. All is pleasant, if its within your budget go for it, youll enjoy it. Try and get one of the sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mona620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews