We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveller rating
883
319
156
69
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
319
156
69
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandy beach pool area on the rocks sea view free shuttle service hotel shuttle poolside restaurant mount etna beautiful resort cost euros star resort sun loungers restaurant staff our honeymoon breakfast buffet is hire car minutes by car
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I suspect that our experience would have been different had we stayed in the middle of summer, as the position of this hotel means it is possible to sightsee and have a beach holiday at the same time. But out of season it is difficult to ignore the many shortcomings of this hotel.
The layout of the hotel is awkward, with the rooms the other side of the road to the reception bar and restaurant. The rooms are rather small and dark, and the fixtures and bathrooms in need of updating. There was a slightly funny smell, disguised by over enthusiastic air freshener. The restaurant is soulless - more of a conference venue than a restaurant. Breakfast was a scrum, food trays was not refilled regularly enough. The pool is great and the beach and cliff areas good too.
We had a number of problems. One night there were a series of powercuts - each time the power came back on the lights turned on in our room - waking us up each time. Eventually my husband took the bulb out!
Another night we booked a table for dinner only to discover that there was a marketing conference dinner being held in the restaurant at the same time. being told to be quiet for 20 minutes of speeches (presenting prizes for best business deveolpment initiative etc) when we were paying nearly 200 euros for dinner was a bit gaulling. A good hotel would not have allowed this, or would at least have warned us when we booked. The same evening the conference attendees had a party in a room opposite ours until about 2.30am. I asked reception to speak to them but nothing was done - so we did not get to sleep until they slipped into an alcohol induced stupor.
When we checked out I complained about the conference again and I was told that they would give us a discount for our dinner. Having checked the bill I paid, however, they had not applied any discount at all. When my husband went back and queried this, the reaction was "oops we charged you the wrong amount" - but I am afraid any goodwill that they thought they would gain by throwing us 30 euros off a bill that was over 1700 euros was lost by this "mistake".
We really wanted to like this hotel - it seemed perfect for our needs when we booked - but we came away with a bad taste in our mouth. A "5 star deluxe" hotel cannout expect to get away with this level of service. And the hotel is just very tired.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Guests,

first of all, we would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto.
We attentively read Your feedback and, first of all thanking You for appreciating the location, position and common areas of the resort, we would like to reply properly to the problems You mentioned, since we are really displeased about what You wrote.

We really sorry about the inconvenience occurred during the night : the, almost tropical, cyclone that hits the city of Syracuse on those days caused a lot of damages, included a blackout of our system which it was automatically restarted during the night, because of our UPS. We apologize for the annoyance that this could caused, but these are automatic procedures which we can not control.

As regards the episode happened inside the restaurant, we are very sorry about it, especially because we understood that You felt almost invaded into Your privacy. Unfortunately, we were unaware that someone of the group would have to make a speech, it wasn’t something planned, in fact they had not previously asked for a microphone speaker. Therefore, we are led to believe that it was something improvised which, regrettably, it was particularly intolerable for You.

As an apologize gesture, since we truly understand Your state of mind and the discomfort accused during that dinner, we applied a special discount on the total amount of that evening dinner. Therefore, this discount has not to be related to the total of Your stay, but it is proportionate to the total of the dinner and the unpleasant episode, related to the group, which caused the annoyance.

Concerning the incident related to the final bill, it was a technical error, tied to our system program. Based on what You wrote, we regret to notice that, for the record, You didn’t mention what our staff did later, since we immediately apologize and divert the discounted sum, repaying You back.
Anyway, we are deeply saddened for the forcibly misleading impression You wanted to show about the resort, since for us it is absolutely absurd to describe our resort using the word « tired ».

Best Regards,
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I wanted make a very nice birthday to my children and their family that's why I choice a very nice place like 5 stars De luxe.
But I was very disappointed

*To be sure I reserve in June 2016 to have 2 rooms adjacent because we had 2 small children it was not possible !!!
* all the night the toilet are broken and make noise
* nobody com help us for luggage when you arrive or go back
* during the night a light is always on and get up to stop but ten minutes later the light go on
Have a good night is difficulty
* I am surprised to see so many stones out in the way of room in night is dangereux
......

Anyway In France if you go in hotel 5 stars and De luxe It is the maximum you can have and by experience It is quite different of yours
Perhaps is different in Italy...
So you receive people like a hotel of 4 stars maximum and I am not sure..

In Italy The day before we arrived we was in hotel of 4 stars and it was wonderful
No comparaison with your hotel!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank You for choosing our resort for Your vacation and for this special occasion and for dedicating part of Your time to write this feedback.
As regards the reservation, we are displeased to notice that You didn’t mention the error at the base of Your booking and the help and the total willingness and kindness we offered to explain and resolved the situation, suggesting You to cancel the double reservation You’ve erroneously done, with no penalties.
By this mistake and the mismanagement which has characterized Your act of booking, we create a connection to what You wrote. The rooms we assigned were in the same block but they weren’t internally interconnected, since the only category of rooms which offers this possibility are the villas with private swimming pool, so a different category from the ones You booked.
Anyway, we immediately offered an alternative solution, making a room change into two adjacent, but always not interconnected, rooms.

We really sorry about the inconvenience occurred during the night : the, almost tropical, cyclone that hits the city of Syracuse on those days caused a lot of damages, included a blackout of our system which it was automatically restarted during the night, because of our UPS. We apologize for the annoyance that this could caused, but these are automatic procedures which we can not control.

Concerning the tiles, what You wrote is related with accidental episodes caused by the incessant passage of cars on a delicate paving. The tiles are repeatedly mantained where they have been broken, but the fixing requires specific technical time. Anyway, we can assure You that, being a parquet flooring, these are definitely not dangerous for the guests.

Lastly, we do not want to enter into the merits of the comparison You made between two different countries and different structures: we believe that these kinds of comparisons, within an experiential comment, are tactless.
Thank You once again for Your contributions.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived late but the reception already knew we were coming. We were taken to our room with a golf cart. Rooms quite small but clean and with a huge comfy bed. Every room has their own terrace.

Breakfast buffet is big with variety of breads, fruit, salads, juices and hot food. Attentive staff.

The resort has a pool area with a snack bar, beach with staff- possible to get refreshments to your lounger. The cliff side area has no staff but has probably the best view, a bit calmer than the beach side. Although the swimming is easier at the beachside I preferred the cliffs.

We never had dinner at Nesos restaurant as trip advisor reviews were not great. There are a few restaurants down the street.

We really enjoyed staying at this resort, we stayed at other 5 star resorts during our stay in Sicily, but Minareto was by far the best!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sltravel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto as destination for Your holiday and for writing this pleasant feedback: the last words You wrote are our greatest satisfaction.
Thank You also for mentioning a series of amenities and services we offer to our Guests, surrounded by a unique relaxing atmosphere and location. We regret to read You didn’t have dinner at Nesos Restaurant: maybe in the future You will give us the pleasure to try our culinary offer.
Therefore, we really hope You will decide to come back also for the next season, in order to fully enjoy the Minareto experience.

Best Regards
Simona - Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The only 5 star element about this hotel is its location - two beaches, one rocky, the other one wonderful sandy lagoon, stunning, mind blowing views of Ortigia and on a crisp clear day of Mount Etna - this is something undoubtedly unique and treasured. The rest is shambles - staff in untrained, restaurant food is below average (which is a shame considering the amazing culinary culture in Syracuse), and the rooms are falling apart. Our shower was sprouting either hot or cold water, and they managed to fix it on the last day of our stay, the toilet seat fell off, the tiles on the pavements kept breaking off, and the decor of the rooms was gaudy and overbearing. On top of this, every weekend they have weddings, so they blast music until 1 or 2am without any consideration to the other guests. So, if you are looking for a quiet weekend this is not the place to go. It is such a shame because the location is really one of a kind

Room tip: The seaside villa is the best property but isolated through what looks like a construction site road
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Evstafieva,

We would like to thank You for the amazing words You dedicated to our resort but, unfortunately, we can only be deeply saddened and actually really grieved about what You wrote, since these are all issues of which You had already discuss with the manager and that we thought they would never become the subject of a belated revenge.
Since You mentioned part of these issues on this comment, it will be our care to give the proper response.

Regarding the shower, we would like to highlight that, actually, there was a complication on the first days of Your stay, linked not so much with the lack of hot water, but with a not stable temperature of the water of the shower, while the bathtub inside the room did not have any problems. In order to check and resolve the problem, we immediately proposed a change into a room of the same category, but this alternative was refused by You.
In the following days, we offered an additional solution which allows You to use the shower and then we fixed and repaired the malfunction. In order to apologize for the annoyance caused and to show our sincere displeasure, we apply a special and considerable discount on the total amount of Your bill.

Concerning the toilet seat, we would like to clarify that its break and the following fall it has been caused by an improper use. Indeed, the forniture inside the newest villa with private swimming pool, which was realized last year, are all brand new pieces of furniture of great value, that can not have been damaged by wear.
So, we regret to see that the message which one can deduce reading Your words about it, is that the room and its pieces and parts are of poor quality. There is nothing further from reality.

Regarding the pavement, the break of the tiles is related with the incessant passage of cars on a delicate paving. The tiles are repeatedly mantained where they have been broken, but the fixing requires specific technical time.
However, despite it is absolutely important to provide the appropriate explanation, we are not able to understand how this aspect may have concretely contributed to damage in some ways Your stay, since the wrecked tiles are absolutely not dangerous for the guests.

At the end of this reply, we would like to underline once again our massive sorrow on reading Your feedback, especially in light of the fact that a real relationship of trust had been created since Your first stay in our resort, which was absolutely fine for You.
So, You can understand that Your comment was a real cold shower for us. We can only hope that, in someway, You kept some positive memories of Your stay.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Hotel quite remote in a beautiful setting with views over the bay to Ortigia.
Taxi into town very expensive for 15 minute trip-- 20/30 E.
Excellent, if somewhat small,luxury bedroom in a villa block.
Wonderful large pool / diner and good recliners.
Evening meals well cooked and served in comfortable large dining room by very friendly staff.
Food and wine very expensive and menu choice quite small.
The two beaches were very mediocre.
The main sandy beach strip was quite small with beds / brollies etc.but the sea was absolutely dreadful. It was choked with masses of sea weed and quite unclean with all sorts of rubbish floating about in the murky water.
Furthermore the access tunnel had a very very steep lethal slope with no steps, the staff helped us to get back up the slope with an SUV!!
The second rocky" beach" was pitiful with many wooden steps down to the sea but no safe means of water entry over the large slippery rocks.
So we spent most of the time around the pool but the main reason for booking was the sandy beach which was badly misrepresented in the website photos!!!

Room tip: sea views are excellent
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aristotle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Guest,

first of all, thank You for choosing our resort for Your vacation and for assigning us such a positive score.
Regarding the first part of Your feedback, we are glad to read You particularly appreciated the beauty, peacefulness and the comfort of the common areas, as well as the quality of the food and the friendliness of the whole staff.

For what it concerns the second part of Your feedback, in all fairness, we admit we are a bit astonished about what You wrote. It’ s clear that, in September or October, the sea conditions and the cleanliness of the water basically depend on the weather conditions and sea currents, which are certainly wilder than the ones in months such as June or July.
If the sea water does not seemed crystal clear, this was probably due to the sea currents and marine streams which reach our bay and, with the undertow, directly drop off on the shoreline any debris or waste.

Regarding the cleanliness of the water, as You can imagine, we do not have the ability to control and guarantee the presence of crystal clear water for the whole season, or to avoid streams not so clean; conversely, what we usually do every morning and every evening is to clean and clear the beach and the shoreline from all the garbage left by some bathers not so polite.
By contrast, we absolutely can not remove the present seaweed, since they belong to a protected species, Posidonia, whose presence is the index of the water health.
Therefore, to write that the beach is “badly represented” on the pictures online compared to reality, it’s a false and, we allow ourselves to highlight, disrespectful statement.
In this cases, it’s always recommended to ask for some information about it, in order to erase all doubts and avoid misleading interpretations based only on a distorted view of reality.

What has been said about the sandy beach and about the prohibition to modify or spoil the landscape of a protected marine reservation by building additional infrastructures, it can be applied also to the rocky beach.
So, hoping we gave You all the useful information so that You can change Your mind about what was stated, we really have faith that, for an eventual future stay, You can give us more esteem.

Best Regards,
Simona – Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews