We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
168
223
96
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
223
96
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charge phones within comfortable walking distance comfortable bed front desk staff three nights breakfast room the main shopping street major sights minute walk pastries excellent location central location star hotel old city restaurant recommendations the air conditioning teatro massimo
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

It is a nice little hotel. Nothing fancy but it is cozy and simple. The breakfast with an europian standard is poor, it's mainly pastry. There is no egg apart from not fresh hard boiled. Most of the time there isn't fresh vegetables. We had breakfast 4 times, to times there was fresh tomatoes, to times not.
The receptionists are nice and helpful. The location is central and a good nabourhood.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beacsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Beacsku,
thank you very much for sharing your recent stay experience at our property. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel warm and stylish atmosphere, the central and elegant location and the friendly and professional attitude of all our staff. We would like to thank you for the feedback on our breakfast buffet, as you have highlighted it is mainly based on the Italian traditional breakfast produce, with some choice for international standards, including cold cuts, cheeses, eggs (both hard bolied on the buffet and cooked fresh in all styles served at your table) and tomato. We would like to thank you for your suggestions and use them to improve our breakfast service. We sincerely hope to have you back as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo. With my kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Pros:
- Location: (Walking) Airport Bus Stop (2mins), Teatro Massimo (10mins), Quattro Canti (17mins), San Giuseppe dei Teatini (18mins), San Cataldo (19mins).
- Bathroom amenities: Soap bar, bodywash, shampoo, intimate wash, body lotion, shower cap, hair elastic, nail file, earbuds, shoe sponge, tissues, good quality hairdryer and good quality/size towels.
- Overall the entire hotel is super clean, with wonderful air-conditioning & very friendly, helpful staff.
- Extremely quiet, excellent sound proofing, comfortable bed. Slept well.
- Above average, good variety breakfast (see also ‘cons’). Feel free to order what type of coffee you prefer.

Cons:
- As others have mentioned, unfortunately there is no iron available anywhere in the hotel for “safety” reasons (although, I must say that it’s the only hotel in Italy that I’ve stayed in without an iron or at least a separate ironing room). The hotel will iron your clothes within 4 hours if needed, but at a very expensive cost.
- WiFi is troublesome. Although it is free, in my extensive hotel experience the speeds are quite slow (18Mbps from my room) and the service continually disconnects, having to continually re-enter the login/password, often with an error showing. This becomes annoying compared to hotels with other systems. Also, the WiFi signal in the breakfast room almost never works.
- Breakfast (whilst wonderful and certainly above average for Italian 4-star hotels), as others have previously mentioned on TripAdvisor, it serves cordial mix juices instead of real juice. Sadly they taste like water with sugar and flavouring and really brings down the otherwise high image quality of the hotel.
- There are no “do not disturb” signs in the room. This would be useful, especially if you are in the room having a sleep and don’t wish to be woken up by the cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 52_hotels_in_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for this excellent and detailed review, which was really interesting to read! we would like to thank you for highlighting so many pros, including hotel location, room comfort, helpfulness of staff and variety/quality of breakfast (let me just highlight that juices are real fruit juices and orange squash when fresh seasonal oranges are available).
Let me also reconfirm that it is indeed a safety requirement not to have individual electrical appliances allowed in rooms, including cookers and irons. I am sincerely at a loss on what to say about other properties in our country allowing this! I am sorry you were unhappy with the wifi, let me just highlight a couple of facts : 1) considering the structural technology of the wifi network in Palermo, 18Mbps is almost the full bandwidth allowed 2) the password system is necessary for privacy/security reasons and each time a security issue is detected, the system requires users to log back in. As to signal in the breakfast room, it is genuinely the first time we are notified of such an issue and I will personally transfer this to our tech staff.
Finally, the do-not-disturb sign is electronic and can be actioned using the button in the e-key slot - a red light with a do not enter sign is then visualized outside your room.
I would like to thank you again for this excellent and helpful review and send you my very best regards!
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

This trip was a last minute booking with our travel agent, and there are so many pluses about it. Only a 5-10 minute walk from the airport drop off point, and very close to a nice part of the city. Originally I was worried that we were in a posh shopping area, with nothing else nearby, but there were lots of really good bars/restaurants within 20 minute walk of the hotel.
Lovely reception staff, both day and night, and a lovely air conditioned foyer. We were on the 5th floor with great double glazing, and very happy to find thick black out curtains. Very happy with our room, and all the facilities.
The breakfast was very nice, with a great selection of fruit, cakes and breads, and the waiter knew our particular drinks order by day two. I'm very happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the only negative, is that the hotel was unable to provide an ironing board, due to new laws.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzygoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear ozzygoff,
thank you for your lovely review. We are just so very delighted that your stay experience was a complete success from all viewpoints and that our services and standards matched and exceeded your expectations. Thank you for highlighting our lovely location, the pleasantness and helpfulness of our staff, the comfort of your room and the quality of our breakfast, together with its warm service. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at our property on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and we thank you for recommending our property.
With our kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We stayed here for 5 days recently. The concierges were wonderful. They pointed us to good restaurants, key sites to visit, how to use the bus system, and more. The room was extremely nice and clean. The breakfast was delicious with a very helpful staff. We were asked what kind of coffee we wanted when we walked into the room. I couldn't recommend this hotel more. We enjoyed are stay here so much.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmchastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear kmchastain,
thank you very much for your amazing review.
We are truly happy that our staff really managed to go beyond your expectations with their knowledgeability and helpfulness. We are also delighted that you loved your room and our breakfast service and staff. Thank you for recommending a stay in our property and for conveying how much you loved your stay experience!
We really hope to have soon the opportunity to have you back as our guests on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo!
with our kindest regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile



The location is excellent, close to great restaurants, grocery stores, ATMs, historical sites, and the free trolley.

Beds are comfortable, with choice of pillows(fluffy or flat), the water pressure in the shower is great, free wifi works well, there is only one English TV station. The room is clean and comfortable. Others in our group complained about loud music, but our room was quiet. Try to request a room that doesn't face the street.

Although there is a hair dryer in the bathroom, it is attached to the wall and you have to keep your finger on the button or it shuts off. What a pain. I was glad I brought my own.

Breakfast is adequate. Yogurt, hard boiled eggs, meat and cheese and a whole lot of pastries. Kiwis are the preferred fruit.

This is not a luxury hotel, but it met our needs. We were traveling with a group, so have no idea what our stay cost but I would expect it was reasonable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Shelley M,

thank you very much for this lovely review - we are so delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your recent stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the room comfort and quality of sleep - all rooms have excellent soundproofing so I am quite certain a stay in one of our street view rooms would have been equally enjoyable - and we are also quite happy that you liked our buffet breakfast, that as a matter of fact tries to always strike the best balance between the Italian traditional breakfast which many expect in an Italian hotel and of course the likings and needs of international travelers. Thank you also for highlighting the hotel location! We particularly appreciate your feedback on the hairdryer provided in room, we will keep this into great account.
We really hope to have soon the opportunity to welcome you as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo, and in the meanwhile would like to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews