We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
125
186
62
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
186
62
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a quiet residential area hotel facilities some great restaurants stayed here for nights rooms are comfortable guest rooms historical center double room rental car excellent stay cakes quiet room nice breakfast old city neighborhood shelving receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We were there as a couple and really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca. Although the trip there dates a year back, me and my wife still have very good memories of our stay in Palermo, because the hotel staff was very helpful and provided us with a lot of useful information how to make most of our stay.
Furthermore they put a lot of effort in serving a nice breakfast.
Rooms very very clean and comfortable and the other hotel facilities were very well designed. Indeed the design of this hotel is very well thought, minimalistic but stylish but still keeping the overall ambient very cosy and relaxing.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Marc S,
thank you very much for sharing this excellent review of your stay at Principe di Villafranca.
We are really grateful that in spite of time that has passed you have not forgotten about your positive experience and still wish to share it with this review!
We are particularly happy to read that the helpfulness of our staff and our care in serving a fresh, lovely breakfast really made the difference. We also thank you for highlighting the confort and beautiful design of hotel rooms and common areas, conveying a sense of relaxation and elegance.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on the occasion of a future stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile we send you our very kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area within walking distance of tourist attractions. The rooms are simply appointed, large and comfortable. The bathroom was basic and spacious. The property is well staffed (lots of people working) and everyone was helpful and attentive. The breakfast was basic and included in the room rate. This is not a fancy property but it is clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GETAGRIPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Principe di Villafranca for your recent stay in Palermo and for sharing your stay experience at our property. We are truly delighted that the overall experience was very positive, thanks to the very convenient location of the hotel, the clean, large and comfortable guest rooms and bathrooms, the helpful and dedicated approach of all the hotel staff, and the good quality of the buffet breakfast. We really hope to have the possibility to welcome you back to our hotel on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile would like to share our best regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I usually write only good reviews, but this time I need to write about the bad experience we had with this place .

The only good thing about this hotel is its location!
The service was poor, food is only o.k. and the accomodations are outdated and austere.
If you have a choice to sleep in Taormina, do so instead, since the whole town of Palermo is dirty and chaotic!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tutuy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Tutuy e,
thank you for sharing your experience.

I must admit that reading such a harsh online review is always very sad for a property.
Especially when a hotel records very high occupancy levels and also very high satisfaction levels, through different online reviews, comments at check-out, emails from travel agents, all complimenting about the friendly attitude of our staff, the loveliness and elegance of the property and of the rooms and the very good level of service.

Then I always think that behind such a review there must have been a huge gap between expectations and experience, that may also involve the city as a whole: your note about Taormina makes me think that booking a art and culture city stay in Palermo, in a boutique hotel, might not have been the most appropriate solution, as you maybe would have preferred just the views and sea of Taormina, from a resort.

I am really sorry if Hotel Principe di Villafranca was not appreciated by you - that makes it nonetheless an elegant and well-appointed hotel, where the dedication of the staff and the care of all details contribute to very unique stays.

With my kindest regards,

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

The rooms were great, the staff were incredibly helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
Our only negative was that we would have like to be closer to the old city (not the hotel's fault!).
There are some lovely restaurants nearby (e.g. Trattoria Biondo) which made for lovely evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Steve F,

thank you for choosing Hotel Principe di Villafranca for your recent stay in Palermo and for sharing your experience in this review.
We are delighted in reading we have managed to meet and exceed your expectations thanks to the comfort of the property and its rooms, the friendliess of all our staff and the great quality and taste of our buffet breakfast. We are also happy that you have enjoyed the lovely surroundings of the property, nested in Palermo's most elegant shopping and dining area, and a short walk to the old city, and hope that maybe these good memories will bring you back as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
In the meanwhile, we send you our kindest regards!

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Firstly, the neighborhood is fine. Its away from the bustle of Palermo, which is not a huge town anyway, and the surrounding streets have plenty of reasonable and varied restaurants and coffee shops. This hotel occupies the 1st level of an apartment block, although it has its own entrance. I found it hard to call the hotel refurbished. Whilst certainly not as dated as other traditional Italian hotels, I found the place poorly thought out whenever it last underwent it's "refurbishment". Everything echoes. The walls are paper thin. The floorboards create sound, ie other peoples. The doors on thin wall frames and floorboards make it sound like a bomb going off each time someone lets their door slam. You hear people in the corridor as though they were in your room. The internet connection is dire. Virtually unusable and unreliable. Housekeeping did not replace our toiletries daily., we had to make them last 3 nights. So we felt we paid too much for a quality that was not evident. No coffee machines as was advertised on one of the websites. Just did not feel this place. Breakfast was sufficient with all the basics except hot food.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VTK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear VTK8,

thank you very much for sharing this review about your stay, which according to some of the facts related, must have occurred at lest a couple of months ago. We are really sorry that your stay experience did not match your expectations and have dedicated thorough consideration to your opinion, especially as it contains some fact that need highlighting.

Our property was indeed carefully redesigned upon refurbishment, trying not to waste its precious heritage, including for example, the ample common areas and original wooden flooring all throughout the property, but at the same time guaranteed the best and continued upkeep of all areas and facilities. With a view to your description of the room confort as to soundproofing and sleep quality, I would just like to highlight that as a matter of fact walls at the property are so thick that we had to multiply wifi access points because they managed to block the signal because of their thickness, and that both external and internal soundrproofing have been carefully designed. Saying that a slamming door - which is extremely rare as it has to be intentional: doors are self-closing at slow speed - echoes like a bombshell is very subjective and might even sound a bit far-fetched.

On the other hand we are pretty glad to share that some of the key aspects you have underlined in your review have already been tackled in the past two months with specific actions, and namely: considering the many deficiencies highlighted by our guests, the internet connection distribution system has been completely changed one month ago in order to provide easier access and stable connection, to the great satisfaction of all our guests. Also, while it is indeed very odd that our housekeeping staff did not replace single-use tolietries during your stay, I hope you will appreciate the fact that in any case this has been changed two months ago to in-room large dispensers from the same brand of the single-use (Ortigia - Orange Blossom) ensuring continuous supply in a more ecologically appropriate way.

I would also like to share that all our deluxe and junior suite rooms feature coffee and tea making facilities, and that only Junior suites feature a Nepresso machine. Also, our breakfast buffet makes available to all guests hot dishes, which are both offered on the buffet or ready to prepare on request, at no additional cost - and this is proposed to guest together with hot beverages.

We are truly sorry that your stay did not match your expectations - and we would love to have you back as our guest on the occasion of a new stay in Palermo to have a second and better experience, and in the meanwhile we send you our very kindest regards.

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews