We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
245
235
126
70
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
235
126
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large pool taxi downtown service and food were excellent alfredo reception staff were excellent superb stay charged euros warm feeling free shuttle smart hotel la playa return flight up to date lovely hotel town centre junior suite mt etna
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Romano Palace, a convenient base for exploring Catania, and very handy for the airport. We particularly enjoyed the garden/terrace area (in fact, having driven from the south coast to catch our return flight from Catania airport at the end of our trip, we dropped in here for tea in the lovely garden before proceeding to the airport to catch our flight). Dinner at the restaurant was pleasant, and the staff welcoming. Our room was comfortable and it was quietly located, with a terrace overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romano P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Tim,
thank you for your review. We would like to thank you for your expectations.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure
we offer an exceptional experience for our guest in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel at 11:00 after travelling all morning and were happy to be checked in early,the restaurant doesn’t open till 1 pm and there are no other food options unless you take a taxi to the city 20 Euro
One way ,we waited till 1 and went to the restaurant and ordered as soon as they would take our order, there was
Our table and another table of 2 yet we waited 1 hour for our pastas, the maitre seemed totally oblivious or just didn’t care,
After finishing our pasta at 2:30 pm we were offered our salads which I sent back as our baby had had enough by this time,
we wanted to have a spa only to find it didn’t work , went down to reception only to be told I didn’t know how to use it , after refilling the spa waited for a technician to come only to be told it didn’t work after all,
Our room had no kettle or jug or milk and a coffee machine that also didn’t work, the safe also didn’t work, we changed to a new room which was better , breakfast on the 2nd morning was totally empty no bread no eggs no pastries pretty much no food ,
We were told they were very sorry but it had been busier than expected, the general manager did do his best to apologise but it was all to little to late .also the beach is disgusting , filthy and so is the park behind the hotel. Immaculately dressed staff which all seemed to good for any customers not also wearing a suit .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ieatalot458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romano P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Mark P,

firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your most recent stay at Romano Palace Hotel.

On the other hand, we are very sorry to learn that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations at the fullest and we would like to express our apologies. We truly regret you didn't enjoy your stay at our Hotel, since our main goal is making our Guests feel comfort, like at home. We're sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. It is our strong point. As for the park behind the hotel, we are arranging for the summer season.

We are looking forward to a second opportunity, so we can make you feel more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We booked this hotel as we had an early flight the following day from Catania.
The grounds are well tended with pleasing seating areas. Rooms ok but not of the calibre I would expect for 5 stars. Staff we encountered were not interested in their guests. Breakfast was fine but do not waste money having an evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Very expensive- 15 euros for a chickpea soup!!!! and a service charge.
My husband found his meal of fish inedible and my pasta dish was very mundane.
Mosquitos prevalent due to proximity of lake at rear of hotel. Poor value for money

Room Tip: If you need to stay here rooms ok
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank hopefulSouthHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

This is our first trip advisor review. We are sorry that it could not be more favourable. Romano Palace may have offered luxury accommodation and quality service a while ago but not now. The rooms are tired and do not look at all like those in the photos. The floors are filthy. The minuscule bathrooms are very dated with rough and threadbare towels and low water pressure. The toilet seat had someone else’s blood on it and the bath had clumps of someone else’s hair in it, both of which completely freaked my daughter. The room temperature is set at 24C which is too hot for sleeping and we were told there is no air conditioning available at this time of year. We have numerous bug bites even though we could not sleep with the balcony door open because
of the noise from the nearby airport. The hotel details on trip advisor indicates there is a complimentary shuttle service into the centre of town however we were never offered this and had to take cabs. The breakfasts were nothing special with only precooked eggs and bacon on offer with the regular self serve cold options with apples and pineapple as the only fruit. Not what one would expect from a 5 Star hotel! Although the orange juice was delicious, the machine with which it is made however worked 1 out of every 10 times.
All that said, the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank ColinGrantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights after a bad experience elsewhere. We went into the hotel to book it and the staff, who all speak good English, were lovely and very helpful. They gave us a free upgrade and the room came with a large balcony and very good double bed. Room service is excellent.

Breakfast is a buffet on the roof terrace and had a huge variety of fresh foods and cooked - the fresh Sicilian blood oranges were very good. Staff are happy to help you and very attentive; they booked us a taxi to the airport which came promptly.

The restaurant has some great food at reasonable prices, I recommend the steak and pistachio ice cream. The drinks in the bar are a little pricey but the snacks they come with are well worth it.

The pool is not heated, but warms up throughout the day and extremely relaxing to lie by. The beach in only a two minute walk away and you can get the D bus into town (I suggest looking at 'moovit' website for bus times).

There is a park out of the back of the hotel which makes for a lovely walk, and behind that a supermarket.

Thanks for a brilliant stay, we will definitely be back.

The photo is from the breakfast terrace with a fab view of Etna.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romano P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Andrew,
thank you for your review. We would like to thank you for your expectations.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure
we offer an exceptional experience for our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews