We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
201
455
278
87
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
455
278
87
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelwall papercentral locationairport busbuffet breakfastitalian hotelsmt etnacentre of townrooms are spaciousstayed here for nightstaormina
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Excelsior must be one of the very best hotels in Catania. Stylish building, with my gold card in Accor we had an upgrade to a very nice room. Location is ok, close to the centre. Good bus connection with airport.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 692tomasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Good morning
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Decent hotel but rough around the edges and needs a face-lift. Rooms are great, very comfortable but dated. Saved by fantastic staff and super location. You will be waiting a long time to be served in the bar though!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PetieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Good morning PetieB

Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Very impressioner Hotel. Due to my Accor card, we got a nice upgrade. Very nice and big room. Very nice bar. Central location so rather much noise from cars. Overall a very good place to stay in Catania.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomas597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Good morning Tomas597
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We stayed here for a couple of nights on room only basis and regular users of Accor chain.

The Alibus (airport bus) stops right outside the hotel so it's cheap and convenient to get to and from the airport with the need for a taxi.

Central location although not in the heart of the action, suits us fine for walking and less noise.

Reception staff very pleasant and easy to deal with.

Lobby / Bar area very nice - Bar staff very knowledgeable and helpful

Our room was comfortable enough but needed a bit of TLC to bring up to usual standard - peeling wallpaper in bathroom and partially broken toilet seat.

Not significant for us to raise a complaint but feel obliged to mention here for completeness.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Good morning Shaun B

Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here earlier thisweek, overall it’s a very nice hotel. As others have said the rooms could do with a refurb but they are clean and have everything you need. Beds are comfy and linen fresh.

The Staff on reception very friendly and efficient, we had a problem with our taxi pick up and it was sorted out quickly by Gianlucca and Jennifer.

The barman makes excellent Cocktails, the food in the restaurant is typically Sicilian and served with a smile.

Some reviews have been harsh for The Mercure Catania. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank jennie2799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Good morning jennifer2799
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything. Our staff is always helpfully with hotel guest be like Gianluca and Jennifer

best regards

Francesco Caselli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews