We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
13
16
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
16
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel itself is rather pleasant place to stay in. It seems to be well renovated and clean, the lobby and rooms have modern design. The hotel doesn't provide any breakfast but all the rooms are equipped with built-in kitchenettes (you'll get a little fridge, an induction hob, tableware, solt, sugar, oil etc.). To be honest, we didn't cook anything there except for morning coffee. The air conditioning in the room is also a great help taking into account boiling summer weather in Sicily.
Our receptionist Carlotta was fluent in English and always ready to help - not only resolved she accommodation issues but also provided some historical and cultural notes as well as tips on getting around. But this hotel doesn't have 24-h reception service and the staff appears to be in the premises only on request.
If you got used to the fact that in European hotels the rooms are cleaned every day it might come as a surprise for you that in Casepicarmo cleaning is provided once per 6 days. In means that neither your linen and towels are changed nor the floor vacuumed till the appointed time. You will also have to empty the bin yourself and to throw the rubbish into the garbage cans nearby.
The hotel is a stone's throw from the sea but the only sandy beach is rather small and usually packed with people. Other beaches are rocky and not very convenient to lie on.
You may hope to relax in spa zone of the hotel but during our stay it was almost always closed.
Life in this little sleepy town has its very specific schedule and you should learn it properly. On Sundays shops and most of restaurants in Augusta are closed, supermarkets work till 12 only, public transport doesn't work too. Dishes in local bars are often cooked on schedule: croissants can be ordered before 11 am and pizza is ready after 5pm.
To sum up, this place will suit travellers who are tired of hustle and bustle of big cities and just want to get away from it all. Good value for money though

Room tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are less spacious because of the ramp shaped ceiling.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna_Tiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrealaferla, Direttore at Casepicarmo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Donna,

Thank you for your review, I think is the most completed review that we had so far, and I totally agree with you about our city. Unfortunately Augusta and Sicily as well are not very tourist friendly about transportation and services as you said. WE are doing our best to change it with our small structure and I think you will be happy to ear that we started to give daily cleaning in the rooms. We hope that something will change as soon as possible to have a city enjoyable for the tourist.
Anyway the choice of not giving daily change of linen and towels is because we are not a actual hotel but a guest house.
Thank you very much again for your very detailed review and we hope to have you again as our guest.


Cheers

Federico La Ferla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Check-in went well after we found some place to park. The hotel advertises free public parking and it is just that. BTW public parking near the beach is a quarter mile away.

We were in four in the room and had two towels issued. We asked for two more and after a hassle they gave them to us, with the understanding that the additional towels would come out of our next towel issue; whatever that means. Come to find out a few days later, the hotel issues/changes linen once a week; so you can rub that dirty hotel logo towel on your body for seven days. If you wish clean towels they cost 15 Euro per person.

They do not offer any sort of breakfast as the other accommodations do just eye sight down the road, but they are quick to point you to any other establishment nearby to get a breakfast pastry.

They do have electronic key cards to get in the front door and the rooms, which is good, as there is only someone present on the hotel property about 4-5 hours a day. If you leave your card in the electrical slot you will not get your room cleaned, which is not a problem, but the older gentleman will let you know that they are recording your electrical consumptions.

The rooms are new and refurbished. Our room had a kitchenette, but good luck using it as it is in an Ikea closet cabinet with no lights in it or any way to fold the doors away. Picture yourself cooking a family meal in a closet.

The place has a spa and bar area, but I have yet to see anyone man it and it is closed after 1200 noon.

There are plenty of worse place I have stayed in, so I give it an average.

Room tip: All rooms are similar
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlindeblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrealaferla, Proprietario at Casepicarmo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

In Augusta don't exist a pubblic or private parking, so the only chance it's to find a parking in the street, we can not do anything about that, about the towels in the room there were three towels and not four because the booking was for three person and not four. About our policy about the towels we ask 15 euros for room and not for person. We do have electronic keys but it's not for control the electrical consumptions but how the consumer said, it's because we don't have personal 24/7 and in this way every one are free to get in and out from the structure, we are sorry for the misunderstanding for both of the above cases, about the kitchenet there are lights probably they didn't find the switch and our SPA works just with reservation. We are really sorry for the misunderstandings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: camera 202
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews