We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
69
68
66
56
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
68
66
56
84
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2016

To see the beauty of this hotel all you have to do is look at the photos that have been posted on Tripadvisor! The little things that are tired about some of the rooms are easily overlooked when discovering the rest of this special place! (The air conditioning is great!) We have stayed here as a family as well as a couple for many years. We wouldn't even think of staying anyplace else since we found Hotel Calamosca! Oh the views!!! The sea water is so, so blue! The air is wonderful. There are refurbished rooms as well as older rooms that have a nice retro feel. Try to reserve what suits your needs best. A nice Italian breakfast is usually included with SUPERB coffee or hot chocolate made to order the way you like! The Ristorante is always wonderful, with a nice choice of different Italian foods. (Seafood changes each night because it is all local & fresh!) Be sure to make reservations as it can really fill up on any evening/night because the locals like to dine regularly and often have celebrations there. There is a scenic view (Beautiful sunset!!) from the ristorante as well as the cocktail bar up above. To reach it - walk through the tranquil garden grounds below or you can reach it on the hotel level from the front door of the hotel. The side beach does fill up early, yet the garden grounds have a beach and supply lounges with less of a crowd most days. Also a little bar is usually open during early afternoon in the garden area.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms as well as older rooms that have a nice retro feel. Try to reserve what suits your needs best. No elevator. Three levels.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Yes, the Calamosca has clearly seen better days but our room was clean, adequate in every way and had a balcony overlooking the sea. The hotel has a small private beach - shallow for a way but deep water is accessible. We snorkelled near rocks and saw fish. There is a restaurant that seemed to be popular. Hotel has parking and if you want to visit the city - and you should - it's a short drive away. Wifi ok in reception area. It really worked for us - we felt we could not have made a better choice. If you want reasonable prices, you can't expect too much.

Room Tip: Has to beachside.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wikidrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of potential, it is tucked away in a quiet bay with spectacular views.

The hotel is in desperate need of a refresh but it is clean and simple. I had a room on the ground floor which, did have a brand new bathroom but the rest was very old.

Breakfast was very limited but the evening restaurant was lovely including the pizza. I would recommend dining on the balcony.

The beach is lovely but you can't get into the water unless you walk to the public beach which is minutes away. There are a lot of dangerous rocks along the waterfront immediately outside the hotel and whilst it is possible to swim from there, I found it to be a little dangerous getting in and out.

The hotel was a nice place to escape for a couple of days and a decent price. Its unlikely I will return but it made for a pleasant stay for one trip.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R365UBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is in an absolutely stunning location. Few hotels can boast of a private bay and outdoor terrace bar to enjoy it. However, this hotel is very tired and dated and is in need of serious renovation. Our room, and the hotel itself, was clean, but the whole premises seemed as if it had been closed down and abandoned for 25 years and reopened the day we arrived. Walls are crumbling, paint is peeling, the gardens are full of weeds, etc.

The restaurant only served a set menu of two choices and nothing else, so we had to pay between €12-€25 to get a taxi into town and back each night for dinner. The breakfast was limited and so unappetising, we didn't eat anything.

This hotel would be fine if you were on a tight budget and rooms were only €30-€40 per night, but the €82 we paid per night was way off the mark and not at all worth the money. If we were ever to return to Cagliari, we would choose a city-centre hotel that might cost a bit more, but actually looked like it was taken care of and would be worth the cost, without the extras of taxi fares.

Spend your money on another hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mr_Mrs_Smith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We thought it would be nice for a couple of nights to be away from the rush and noise of Cagliari, and be able to take a swim before breakfast. On the basis of TA and the Rough Guide we booked in here. The hotel is on a pretty bay about 20 minutes from downtown, views of the sea and a lighthouse from the balcony of our room. So far so good. The room, and indeed the whole hotel, was never built to a high spec, and is now very run down. Our bath was peeling its coating, the furniture is scuffed and very basic in any case. Much of the woodwork inside and out needs repainting as does much of the concrete, Dinner was served on a terrace overlooking the sea, and was full on Friday night by families from Cagliari. The food was dull, but the Cagliaresi could leave afterwards. We couldn't. A deafening disco started - dum, dum, dum - in the adjacent garden and continued until three in the morning (perhaps later, but by this time I was so exhausted, I fell asleep). Breakfast was minimal and more or less inedible - and uneaten. Not many people were staying, and it's not hard to understand why. We learned that there would be another disco that night, so we had absolutely no hesitation in cancelling our second night and leaving for a place in the centre of town that was sure to be quieter than here. And the swimming had little to recommend it either.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews