We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
177
246
92
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
246
92
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road sea view old town pool area salad buffet evening meal at breakfast maria pia beach stayed on a half board basis streaky bacon cleaned every morning beach opposite the hotel sea front lovely hotel minute stroll pasta tiramisu kept spotlessly clean
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Overall this hotel made a very pleasant stay. I enjoyed the food and slept well in the bed. Staff in the dining room and bar area clearly worked hard and were both friendly and professional. The pool area never got too busy and the location was fine for leisurely walks to the old town and beaches.

I had a rear facing room with an uninspiring view of parked lorries which I understand is not the hotel's fault. Balconies vary in depth across the building and mine had limited leg room. For me, the hotel interior decor is evocative of the early 90s with plenty of unconvincing fake plants that seemed to add an unintentional kitsch feel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Westwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The hotel is ideally situated, looking out across the bay but only 10 minutes' walk from the walled town of Alghero and 5 minutes from 3 supermarkets and many restaurants. Staff were very friendly and ran the place superbly. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The dining room has a 180 degree view over the bay and featured the most stunning sunsets - guests were getting up to take photos! Food was plentiful and there was a wide range to choose from. Those who have complained about the food must be used to 5-star accommodation - you have to remember that this is a small 3-star hotel and as such it is excellent. The room had the biggest balcony we have ever had and the beds were very comfortable. The air-con was effective and quiet. The pool was spotlessly maintained and there were always sunbeds available. We could not fault this hotel and would happily recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank juliebM3303ZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I have chance to visit several hotels.
And I am definitely not a professional in this field.
PROs: position just in front of the city beaches and close enough to city centre by feet. Room (garden side) was well cleaned and well furnished. View was, well, nothing truly to see. Silent rooms.
CONs: breakfast inadequate for raw materials (I’d refocus less choice and more quality). Personnel very different in behaving, from super helpful ones to others which couldn’t even suggest for a place for dinner!!!! Air conditioner is just above the bed (It’s Daikin so it’s silent and easy to use).

Did not try the pool that closes at 7pm.

In the very end our experience wasn’t exciting at all. And we won’t return should we pick Alghero again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Florida in August for 2 weeks with our 2 teenagers. We had rooms 203 and 204- both with sea views. We booked through Tui on a half board basis as there was no alternative. The rooms were nicely appointed with a TV but no stations in English so pointless for us really. If you wanted to watch something you could downstairs but why bother going to Sardinia to watch TV.
The rooms had air conditioning which was totally was essential as it was extremely hot which worked as long as the balcony door was closed.
The rooms were cleaned daily and beds made by 2 very hardworking staff. The shower was great too.
All staff in the hotel were polite and friendly.
The breakfast buffet had lots of options including continental meats and cheeses, scrambled eggs, streaky bacon and small frankfurter type sausages, ricotta, yogurts, jams, bread to toast, bread rolls, fruit and croissants and slices of plum cake. They also had 2 machines which made pretty much any type of coffee you could ask for, with tea bags and grapefruit,orange juice or bottle mineral water.
The evening meal was not as good because there was a limited selection and if you didn't like it there was no alternative. There was a salad buffet to begin, great if you're keen on aubergine. Then it was a pasta or soup course. Next the choices were vegetarian omelette or something with aubergine, a fish dish or a meat dish. Great if you like meat with a sauce not something plainer. Then dessert which was the best part- tiramisu, panna cotta, ice cream, homemade dessert with a cake or profiteroles. Out of 14 meals we stayed for 4 because we did not like the choices. Not great for children at all.
I would have much preferred to stayed here on a B and B basis because we ended up spending a lot on food but with exception to the evening meal this hotel is lovely. It has a great pool, 2 jacuzzis, lots of sun beds which tend to be available in the morning. There was a bit of sunbed hogging going on in our second week. There is a games room but I thought €2.50 was a bit steep to play pool although we did make use of it.
The bar also does fabulous cocktails which you could have sitting by the pool which was great.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank patriciacC4720JI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

This is our second time to stay here. The hotel is excellent with superb staff. From check in to check out everything was just perfect. The hotel is located on the Lido, about 2k to the town centre. There’s a small beach right across the road from hotel which is ideal for a swim. The pool is lovely too with plenty of sun beds too. We had breakfast in the hotel everyday which is typical continental and plenty of choices. The lunches at the pool bar are excellent too and very good value.
Hotel Florida is a great place to stay to experience Alghero.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank C9270AIjoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews